Art

Artcyclopedia attempts to collect every publicly available resource related to an artist available on the web, including books, articles, and multimedia titles, and collection holdings publicly listed by galleries, museums and foundations. Scholars should treat the Artcyclopedia as a supplementary or secondary resource as collections often refrain from freely publishing their holdings. Scholars should also make every attempt to cite the original work, and abide by copyright and fair use restrictions.

Art History Pedagogy & Practice is a peer-reviewed open access e-journal devoted to scholarship of teaching and learning in art history.

Founded in 2010, Art Histories Society (ArtHS) is a free, independent, online non-profit, educational, open network; working towards a public understanding of arts and their histories. Primarily concerned with the plurality of manifestations of the term art history, ArtHS promotes, through its website and its e-journal, advances in the science of history of art. Electronic editions from 2011-15 are available open access.

The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies.

Created in 1991, the Contemporary Artists Index is a unique resource developed and maintained by the CIA Library staff. Look here for artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in select publications in the library's collection.

A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public. A review of the recent changes to the dictionary's interface is available here.

Digitized texts and object images in the decorative arts. Hosted and published by the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

A portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource offers access to nearly all books, bulletins, journals, and exhibition catalogues published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. The resource also includes online publications.

The Print Council of America's Index to Print Catalogues Raisonné (IPCR) is for you if you need to know about the prints or photographs that a particular American, European or Japanese artist has made (or that have been made after his or her designs) and want to find out if there is an oeuvre-catalogue of his or her prints or photographs.

Open-access journal publishing peer-reviewed scholarly research exploring design, including selected articles about architecture and aesthetics. Navigate to the "free issue" tab to access the most recently available edition.

The SAAA is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. Search the archive's immense holdings here.

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. All materials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s).