Art E-Books
Below are a few examples of available art e-books. E-books are linked through the Library catalog, and will turn up in your general catalog searching.
-
Water and Art
by
ISBN: 9781861897411Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts
by
ISBN: 9780415581691 -
Digital Collage and Painting
by
ISBN: 9780080963693
Locating Books in the Library Catalog
The university's Main Library contains thousands of books on a variety of arts media, making, and art historical research topics. You can perform author, title and subject searches in the Library Catalog. You can also search by keywords. If you know the ISBN/ISSN or call number, you can find books that way as well. To search the library's physical holdings, go here.
If you cannot find what you need in our catalog, you may request the material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Or, it may be available as an e-book or full-text article. If you still cannot locate materials, please contact your librarian for further assistance.
-
WorldCat Local This link opens in a new window
-
Project GutenbergOnline catalog of over 36,000 free electronic books that can be downloaded to various portable devices.
Call Numbers for Art
Library of Congress call numbers for the Fine Arts are Class N (located on the second floor)
- NA: Architecture
- NB: Sculpture
- NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
- ND: Painting
- NE: Print Media
- Printmaking, engraving, serigraphy, lithography, monotype
- NK: Decorative Arts, Ceramics (see below)
- Arts and crafts movement, religious art, interior decoration, furniture, textiles
- NX: Arts in General, Art Theory, History of the Arts
Oversize Books It is not uncommon for art books to be large. Oversize books will be noted in the catalog and are located on the second floor. Occasionally, oversize books are housed in our offsite storage facility and, once requested, are usually delivered to the Main Library within 24-48 hours.
Art Librarian
Artists' Books
The Directory of Artists' Books Collections managed by Carnegie Mellon University and the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLiS-NA). The directory was compiled to increase awareness of artists' books collections. It currently contains collections primarily in the United States and Canada. A number of these collections are available online and may be used for educational or research purposes.