Library Guides: WRIT 102: First Year Writing II: Business

Business Publications via UM Libraries

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window

Wired

Online Business News and Magazines

Websites connected to the influential national business news and business magazine category often include comments on articles, blogs, interactives, and added features. Some web content may be limited to subscribers.

BloombergBusinessweek For the print edition, racks inside the School of Business often hold extra copies.
CNNMoney Site is a collaboration with CNN, Fortune and Money magazines.
Fast Company The Issues tab takes you to past issues.
Forbes Forbes magazine is three years into their reinvention through a mix of long form and short form digital business journalism. Forbes is known for publishing lists and rankings.
Times Topics from The New York Times A topical collection of articles and multimedia. Most useful for coverage of controversies, trends, innovations, and investigations. Products, industries, people, and company names are included.
Business Insider Both original reporting and aggregation from other news sites. Web only with no print equivalent. Sometimes has a tabloid vibe although their original reporting is often cited by the older mainstream business news publications.
Wall Street Journal The website, wsj.com, limits articles available to non-subscribers. If you find an article you can't access, try searching for the same article in the Wall Street Journal on the library database list. .
BizJournals.com Use the Cities menu to select from the 45+ metro areas covered by a BizJournal.
SmartBrief for Industries
more...less...
Three ways to use SmartBrief:
- view today's headlines for each topic
- signup for free, emailed newsletters
- browse the archives for each topic

A few websites from Research Organizations

Pew Research Center
Use the menus to look for report topics and poll questions. The Social Trends and Internet & Tech tabs lead to many business-related reports.
Full Text Reports
Site summarizes and links to categorized documents from academe, corporations, government agencies, interest groups, NGOs, professional societies, research institutes, think tanks, trade associations, and more.

National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Free downloadable PDFs. Wide range of subjects are covered in reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council. To download a PDF as a guest, click on the Download Free PDF button on any book page, then select Continue as Guest.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals. At the top of the list due to size and coverage.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business journals, industry journals, company information, and market research. Full text and citations/abstracts.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Use the Browse Reports tab to see:
- Reports by date
- Pro/Con Reports
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts. In Google Scholar, when UM Libraries has article access, you will see a link to Full text. If a resource is not free or linked to UM Libraries click on More.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
General and business news. International scope. Excellent source for newspapers and news blogs. Full text. At the top of the list due to size and coverage.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes more than forty U.S. and international newspapers. Selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. Tip: when a New York Times article appears in your results, you may prefer to skip FIND IT and go directly to LexisNexis Academic for the same article.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Be sure to check the source for a statistical table. You may be able to go to the website of that source.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Influential daily business newspaper. Full text.

Specialized Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes social media topics.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Social science article database with an emphasis in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window

Complete List of Databases A-Z & by Subject

Framework for starting your research for WRIT 102-Business Theme

Journalists, authors, and researchers (both academic and government) often write about or report on:

companies
brands
products or services
industries

While focusing on:

events
practices
the business environment

Main Library Chat

Citation & Style

Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Research and citation resources

Corporate Social Responsibility & Sustainability

Corporate Responsibility & Sustainability Reports
Corporate Register asks for free signup to search the directory. Related site also publishes company announcements http://www.reportalert.info/
- Standards for inclusion in the directory– no company brochures, sales & marketing publications. No publications lacking a reference year or without quantitative data.
CSRwire
CSRwire Archive is a comprehensive, searchable repository of press releases, reports, event and book announcements on corporate social responsibility and sustainability.
- Content has been issued by member companies through CSRwire

Search Guides

WRIT 102: First Year Writing II