Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Open Monday through Friday 9am - 4pm (except holidays)
Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Open Monday through Friday 9am - 4pm (except holidays)
This subject guide outlines resources available in the Archives & Special Collections on the subjects of politics and government. Since the collecting focus of the department is Mississippi, most of the material relates directly to the Magnolia State. However, several of the manuscript collections also have national and international dimensions. Material dates from the eighteenth century to the present.
Other Library Resources
"Hail to the Chief!: An Exhibit on Presidents and Mississippi in Presidential Elections" is available online with full-text scans for many of the display items.
For assistance with non-archival resources, see the following subject guides for the main library: Political Science, United States History, Mississippi State Government, and U.S. Federal Documents & Resources.
The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings. Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.
Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist and Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu
Selected Digital Collections with Political Content
(Some digital collections can only be viewed on J.D. Williams Library computers because of copyright restrictions. Check individual pages of the digital collection for availability.)
Thomas G. Abernethy Collection
Robert F. Kennedy Speech Collection
League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association Collection
Presidential Debate Collection
Skipwith Revolutionary War Collection