F. Glenn Abney. Mississippi Election Statistics, 1900-1967. University, MS: Bureau of Governmental Research, 1968]. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no. 25 OVRS.
George E. Allen. Presidents Who Have Known Me. New York: Simon and Schuster, [1950]. Mississippi author. Call Number: E748 A195 A3.
Henry W. Anderson. A More Perfect Union: An Address by Henry W. Anderson...Before the Southern States Republican League, Atlanta, Georgia, October 27, 1926. Atlanta: 1926. Call Number: JK2357 1926 A7.
James W. Bell. Government and the Voter: An Outline of Study. University of Mississippi, 1920. Call Number: JK38 B4.
Theodore G. Bilbo. Inaugural Address of Governor Theo G. Bilbo, Delivered before the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi, January 17, 1928. Call Number: J87 M72.
Theodore G. Bilbo. Prohibition of Liquor Traffic and Vice Near Military Camps: Speech in the Senate of the United States, March 12, 1942. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1942. Call Number: U22 B55 1942.
Theodore G. Bilbo. Speeches of Hon. Theodore G. Bilbo of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, May 20, 1940. Call Number: E748 B5 A3 1940.
Bilbo-Hobbs Trial: Jury Speeches in Full: Facts in the Case Fully Discussed. Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, [1913]. Case against Theodore G. Bilbo and G.A. Hobbs for bribery as representatives of the J.K. Vardaman political machine. Call Number: JK4695 B54 1913.
Brookings Institution. Institute for Government Research. Report on a Survey of the Organization and Administration of State and County Government in Mississippi, by Institute for Government Research of the Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C. at the Instance of the Research Commission of the State of Mississippi (Created by Act of Legislature May 8, 1930). [Jackson, MS: 1932]. Call Number: JK4625 1932 B7.
J.T. Brown. Before the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. In the Matter of Subsection (F) of the Section 1 of Regulation "Q." Brief for Jackson Clearing House Association (Jackson, Miss.) in Opposition to Subsection (F) of Section 1 of Regulation "Q." Jackson, MS: [1935]. Call Number: HG2560 J3.
Edward R. Burke. Edwin R. Holmes: Speech of Hon. Edward R. Burke of Nebraska in the Senate of the United States, March 19, 1935. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1936. U.S. Senator Theodore G. Bilbo additional author. Call Number: JK1519 H57 B8.
R. Roy Coats. Mississippi, That Grand Old State of Mine. University, MS: 1930. "Written specially for and dedicated to Ex-Governor Dennis Murphree..." Call Number: M1621 C66 M5.
Code of Ordinances of the City of Natchez with Contracts, Franchises, Etc. Natchez, MS: Natchez Printing & Stationary Co., 1905. Call Number: JS1164 A3.
Ross A. Collins. The Acropolis of America: An Address before the House of Representatives, April 4, 1940. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, [1940]. Congressman from Mississippi. Call Number: Z732 D62 C7.
Ross A. Collins. Alaska: Speech of Hon. Ross A. Collins. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1942. In the U.S. House of Representatives on 29 June 1942. Call Number: F909 C54 1942 OVRS.
Ross A. Collins. Congress Has Consistently Favored Increased Appropriations for National Defense: Speech of Hon. Ross A. Collins. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1942. Collins represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives. Call Number: UA23.6 C65 1942.
Ross A. Collins. The Vollbehr Collection of Incunabula: Speech of Ross A. Collins of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Friday, February 7, 1930. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1930. Call Number: Z241 C6 V6.
Martin Sennett Conner. Mississippi's Fiscal Problems: What This Legislature Has Done to Solve Them, and What Remains to Be Done; a General Survey. [Jackson, MS: Hederman, 1917]. Call Number: HJ525 C66 1917.
Martin Sennett Conner. Speech of Hon. Sennett Conner, Speaker, Mississippi House of Representatives, Delivered before the Agricultural High School Principals' Conference, Jackson, Miss., Jan. 11, 1922. [Jackson, MS: 1922]. Call Number: HJ2416 C6.
Convention of Supervisors of Mississippi: at Hattiesburg, Miss., June 18 and 19, 1906. Hattiesburg, MS: 1906. Call Number: JS451 M7 C65 1906.
Charles William Dabney. Treaty of Peace with Germany and Proposed Constitution for a League of Nations: An Article by Charles William Dabney Together with Remarks of Hon. John Sharp Williams of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, Wednesday, September 24, 1919. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1919. Call Number: D644 D33 1919.
Democratic National Committee. The Campaign Book of the Democratic Party, Candidates and Issues in 1928. New York: 1928. Call Number: JK2312 1928.
Democratic National Committee. Democratic Campaign Book 1924. New York: Isaac Goldmann Co., Printers, 1924. Call Number: JK2317 1924 A5.
Democratic National Committee. Official Souvenir Program of the National Democratic Convention, Held at Houston, Texas, June 26 1928. Houston, TX: Standard Print. and Lithographing Co., 1928. Call Number: JK2314 1928 D460 1928.
A Directory of Mississippi Municipalities. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration. Special Collections has 1949, 1951, 1953, 1957, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974. Call Number: JS451 M7 D57.
Wall Doxey. A.A.A. Substitute: Temporary Farm Program 1936-1937: Permanent Proposed State Farm Plan 1938: Speech of Hon. Wall Doxey of Mississippi. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1936. In the U.S. House of Representatives. Call Number: K3870 D69 1936.
Wall Doxey. Results -- Not Promises: Speech of Hon. Wall Doxey of Mississippi. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1934. Speech on agriculture in U.S. House of Representatives. Call Number: E748 D694 D69 1934.
Hugh Manson Dorsey. A Statement from Governor Hugh M. Dorsey as to the Negro in Georgia. [Atlanta: 1921]. Call Number: E185.93 G4 D67 1921.
James O. Eastland. The Barter of Our Heritage: Speech of Hon. James O. Eastland of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, February 9, 1948. Segregation and states' rights. Call Number: E185.61 E22 1948.
James O. Eastland, et al. Can America's Armies of Occupation Secure the Peace? Washington, DC: Ransdell, 1946. Transcript of radio program American Forum of the Air. Call Number: JZ6377 U6 C36 1946.
James O. Eastland. Germany Is Our Problem: Extension of Remarks by James O. Eastland. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1946. U.S. Senator James O. Eastland of Mississippi. Call Number: D829 G3 G47 1946.
James O. Eastland. World Cotton: Speech of Hon. James O. Eastland of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, September 15, 1941. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1941. Call Number: HD9075 E37 1941.
James O. Eastland et al. Can America's Armies of Occupation Secure the Peace? Washington, DC: Ransdell, 1946. Transcript of the radio program "The American Forum of the Air" from 30 April 1946. U.S. Senator James O. Eastland of Mississippi. Call Number: JZ6377 U6 C36 1946.
A.H. Ellett. The Federal Union and Mississippi: A Civil Government for Use in the Grammar Grades of Public Schools. Richmond: B.F. Johnson Pub. Co., [1910]. Call Number: JK4625 1910 E6.
Equal Rights: Official Weekly Organ of the National Woman's Party. Washington, DC. Special Collections has scattered issues from July 1929 to September 1935. Call Number: HQ1101 E7.
John William Farley. Statistics and Politics. Memphis, TN: Memphis Linotype Print. Co., 1919. African American suffrage and Republican Party in Tennessee. Call Number: JK2295 T35 F3 1919.
John William Farley. Statistics and Politics. Memphis, TN: Saxland, 1920. African American suffrage and Republican Party in Tennessee. Call Number: JK2295 T35 F3 1920.
Andrew F. Fox. The Right of Suffrage and Representation in Mississippi: Speech of Hon. Andrew F. Fox of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Thursday, April 24, 1902. Call Number: JK1936 M7 F6.
Harry Pollard Gamble. Federal Suffrage, A Racial Question in the South: Address Delivered before the New Orleans Press Club, March 11th, 1918. [New Orleans: 1918]. Call Number: PS664 L8 L68 1918.
General Election Held in the State of Mississippi Tuesday November 2, 1948: Presidential Elections, United States Senator, United States Congressmen, Supreme Court Judges, Amendments to the State Constitution, House Concurrent Resolution no. 16, and House Concurrent Resolution no. 56, Laws of 1948. [1948]. Call Number: JK4692 G46 1948.
James Gordon. Farewell Speech of Hon. James Gordon of Mississippi on His Retirement from the Senate. Delivered in the Senate of the United States, February 24, 1910. Washington, DC: 1910. Call Number: PS1757 G45 F3.
Governor's Mansion, Jackson, Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: circa 1946]. Call Number: F349 J13 G68.
Governor's Mansion, Jackson, Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: circa 1945]. Call Number: F349 J13 G679 1945.
The Governor's Mansion, Jackson, Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: circa 1945]. Call Number: F349 J13 G679 1945.
Richad P. Hallowell. Why the Negro Was Enfranchised: Negro Suffrage Justified. Boston: G.H. Ellis Co., 1903. Call Number: JK1924 H23 1903.
Charles G. Hamilton. Mississippi, Mirror of the 1920s. Aberdeen, MS: Gregg-Hamilton, 1979. Memoir by Mississippi legislator. Call Number: F341 H193.
A Handbook for Technical Service Agencies. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Mississippi executive departments. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no. 7.
A Handbook of Mississippi State Agencies. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no. 5.
Pat Harrison. Stonewall Jackson: Address of Hon. Pat Harrison of Mississippi: Delivered at Charlottesville, Va., Wednesday, October 19, 1921. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1921. Pat Harrison was a U.S. Senator. Call Number: E467.1 J15 H37 1921.
Pat Harrison. Tax Revision: Speech of Hon. Pat Harrison of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, May 28, 1938. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1938. Call Number: HJ4652 H37 1938 OVRS.
William Hemingway. Ordinances of the City of Jackson, Mississippi: Revised 1909. Jackson, MS: Hederman Bros., 1909. Call Number: JS953 J46 A4 1909.
Robert Baker Highsaw. Forms of Municipal Government in Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1947. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no. 3.
Robert Baker Highsaw and Carl Denver Mullican Jr. A Guidebook of the County Sheriff. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JS411 M5 C6 no. 2.
Robert Baker Highsaw and Carl Denver Mullican Jr. The Units of Government in Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no. 8.
Robert Baker Highsaw and Edward McKenna Johnson Jr. Aids for Governing, an Analysis of Technical Assistance in Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no. 6.
Robert Baker Highsaw and Mary Evelyn Blagg. Clarksdale, a Fiscal Picture. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no. 5.
Robert B. Highsaw with Clive F. Dunham and Frank S. Scott. A Survey of Greenville, Mississippi with Especial Reference to Municipal Taxation. University, MS: School of Commerce and Business Administration, [1945]. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no. 1.
Historical Records Survey. Inventory of Federal Archives in the States. Oklahoma City, OK: 1937-. Special Collections has Mississippi volumes. Call Number: CD3020 H5.
Gambrell Austin Hobbs. Bilbo, Brewer, and Bribery in Mississippi Politics. [Memphis, TN: Dixon-Paul Printing Co.], 1917. Call Number: F341 H69.
Gambrell Austin Hobbs. Bilbo, Brewer, and Bribery in Mississippi Politics. 1918. Second edition. Call Number: F341 H69 1918.
Ernest J. Hopkins. Mississippi's BAWI Plan: Balance Agriculture with Industry: An Experiment in Industrial Subsidization. [Atlanta]: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, 1944. Call Number: HC107 M7 H62.
Huey B. Howerton. A Guidebook of the Board of Supervisors. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1949. Call Number: JS411 M5 C6 no. 1.
Huey B. Howerton. A Guidebook of the County Appointive Offices. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1949. Call Number: JS411 M5 C6 no. 4.
Huey B. Howerton. A Guidebook of the County Tax Assessor. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1949. Call Number: JS411 M5 C6 no. 5.
R.O. Hughes. The Government of Mississippi. A Supplement to Hughes' Elementary Community Civics. [New York]: Allyn and Bacon [1925]. Call Number: JK274 H76 M52.
Benjamin G. Humprheys. The Famous Race between the "Lee" and the "Natchez": Extension of Remarks of Hon. Benjamin G. Humphreys of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, October 22, 1914. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1914. Call Number: VM615 H8 F3.
Benjamin G. Humphreys. In Defense of the State of Mississippi Against Charges of Peonage: Speech of Hon. Benjamin G. Humphreys of Mississippi. Washington, DC: 1908. In the U.S. House of Representatives on 2 March 1908. Call Number: F419 S96 H86 1908.
Benjamin G. Humphreys. Politicians: Address of Hon. B.G. Humphreys, Delivered before the Students at the University of Mississippi, October 20, 1915. Call Number: E749 H8.
Jackson Commission Government Record. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has reports from 1912/13, 1915/16, and 1916/17. Call Number: JS13 J26m.
Joseph B. Keenan. The New Deal -- Symbol of Democracy: An Address by Honorable Joseph B. Keenan...at the Annual Meeting of the Mississippi State Bar, Vicksburg, Mississippi, June 10, 1938, 11:15 a.m. [1938]. Call Number: E806 K4.
Edward McKenna Johnson. Grenada, an Administrative Survey: A Report to the Board of Mayor and Alderman of Grenada, Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no. 8.
Edward McKenna Johnson. Improving the Government of Batesville: A Report to the Rotary Club of Batesville, Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no. 7.
Tom Johnson. The Reds in Dixie: Who Are the Communists and What Do They Fight for in the South? New York: Workers Library Publishers, 1935. African Americans and the Communist Party. Call Number: HX91 S65 J640 1935.
Earle Johnston. Politics: Mississippi Style. Forest, MS: Lake Harbor Publishers, 1993. Call Number: F341 J59 1993.
Means Johnston. Reference to Laws Affecting Boards of Supervisors and Counties in Mississippi. [Greenwood, MS: 1940]. Call Number: JS261 J66 1940.
Joseph Berry Keenan. The New Deal -- Symbol of Democracy: An Address by Honorable Joseph B. Keenan...at the Annual Meeting of the Mississippi State Bar, Vicksburg, Mississippi, June 20, 1938, 11:15 a.m. [1938]. Call Number: E806 K4.
Rayford Whittingham Logan. The Attitude of the Southern White Press Toward Negro Suffrage. Washington, DC: Foundation Publishers, 1940. Call Number: JK1929 A2 L6.
Robert Lowry. A History of Mississippi: For Use in Schools. New York: University Pub. Co., 1905. Bound with Elements of Civil Government by Robert Lowry. Call Number: F341 L94.
James R. McDowell. Mississippi Laws Made Plain: Laws and Legal Forms Prepared for the Use of Business Men, Farmers, and Mechanics. Kansas City, MO: Bankers Law Pub. Co., 1921. Call Number: HF1275 M7 M3 1921.
Johnson Edward McKenna. Improving the Government of Batesville: A Report to the Rotary Club of Batesville, Mississippi. University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1948. Call Number: JS308 M5 M8 no.7.
Anselm J. McLaurin. Revenue for the Philippine Islands: Speech of Hon. A.J. McLaurin. [1902]. In the U.S. Senate on 22 February 1902. Call Number: KPM3190 M53 1902.
Mississippi. Agricultural and Industrial Board. The Job Before Us: How Can We Achieve Post-War Prosperity? [Jackson, MS: 1944]. Call Number: HC107 M7 M4212.
Mississippi Blue Book. [Jackson, MS: Secretary of State]. Special Collections has 1931 through 1949; title later changed to Mississippi Official and Statistical Register. Call Number: J87 M74a.
Mississippi. Bureau of Vital Statistics. Rules and Regulations Governing the Registration of Births and Deaths and Morbidity Reports. Jackson, MS: 1931. Call Number: HA38 M7 M56 1931.
Mississippi. Democratic Party. Who Is Lander? Defender of Germany, Now a Paid Propagandist. Jackson, MS: Pat Harrison Central Campaign Committee, 1918]. U.S. Senate campaign. Call Number: JK2318 M73 1918.
Mississippi. Governor. (James K. Vardaman). Biennial Message of Gov. Jas. K. Vardaman to the Legislature of the Mississippi, January 3, 1906. Call Number: J87 M72.
Mississippi. Department of Archives and History. The Official and Statistical Register of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has 1904, 1908, 1912, 1917, 1920/24, and 1924/28 editions. Call Number: JK4630 O33.
Mississippi. Governor. Message. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1875 to 1928. Call Number: J87 M72.
Mississippi. Governor. (James K. Vardaman). Inaugural Address, James K. Vardaman, Tuesday, January 19, 1904. Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, 1904. Call Number: J87 M72.
Mississippi. Governor. (Henry L. Whitfield). Know Mississippi. A Syllabus on Present Conditions in Mississippi. Jackson, MS: Jackson Printing Company, [1926]. Call Number: JK4625 1926 A3.
Mississippi Historical Records Survey. Guide to Vital Statistics Records in Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1942. Birth and death registrations. Two volumes. Call Number: CD3321 H5.
Mississippi Historical Records Survey. State and County Boundaries of Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1942. Call Number: F341 B7 H5.
Mississippi. Legislature. House of Representatives. Inquiry into the Charge of Bribery in the Recent Senatorial Contest...1910. Jackson, MS: 1910. Call Number: JK4680 M7 1910.
Mississippi. Legislature. Senate. Investigation by the Senate of the State of Mississippi of the Charges of Bribery in the Election of a United States Senator, Session of 1910. Nashville, TN: Brandon Printing Co., 1910. Charges of bribery made by Theodore G. Bilbo against Senator Leroy Percy for defeating James Kimble Vardaman. Call Number: JK1197 M7 1910.
Mississippi. Legislature. Senate and House Joint Committee. Report of Senate and House Joint Committee to Investigate Expenditures of the Contingent Fund of the Governor's Office for the Past Six Years. Session 1910. Nashville, TN: Press of the Brandon Printing Company, 1910. Call Number: JK4638 1910 M5.
Mississippi. Secretary of State. Mississippi Corrupt Practices Act of 1935: Chapter 19, H.B. no. 9, Extraordinary Session of 1935. Jackson, MS: [1936]. Political corruption. Call Number: KFM7020.85 C6 A3 1936.
Mississippi State Democratic Executive Committee. Resolution. [MS: 1948]. Call Number: JK2318 M7 M57 1948.
Mississippi. State Oil and Gas Boad. Biennial Report of the State Oil and Gas Board and the Mineral Lease Commission to the Governor and the Legislature of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has 1946 edition. Call Number: TN872 M7 A3.
Mississippi State Planning Commission. Preliminary Report of State Parks, Group Camps and Recreational Areas on the Natchez Trace Parkway for Mississippi, Submitted to Governor Hugh White, Jackson, Miss., and the National Resources Board Washington, D.C. [Jackson, MS: 1936]. Call Number: GV54 M7 P7.
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Annual Report of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Special Collections has scattered reports from 1897 through 1913. Call Number: JK1911 M7 M57. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Ballots for Both: Thirteenth Annual Convention, Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association...Court House, Starkville, April 13-14, 1917. Greenville, MS: Greenville Times Print, [1912]. Call Number: JK1911 M7 B35 1917. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Constitution and By-Laws of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Greenville, MS: Times Print, [1912]. Call Number: JK1911 M7 C6 1912. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Program, Eighth Annual Meeting of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association: Flora, Miss., April 9-11, 1912. Greenville, MS: Greenville Times Print, [1912]. Call Number: JK1911 M7 P76 1912. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association. Quarterly Report. Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House. Special Collections has 2nd and 3rd quarter reports for 1912/13. Call Number: JK1911 M7 M577. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Mississippi's Senior United States Senator, Theodore G. Bilbo. [1946]. Call Number: E478 B5 M55.
Edgar Misterfeldt. Diary of Edgar Misterfeldt. [19--]. Transcription of diary kept by Mississippi legislator (1912-1914, 1920s). Call Number: F341 M584 1900z.
Hernando DeSoto Money. Moroccan Conference and Relations with Santo Domingo. Speech of Hon. Hernando D. Money, of Mississippi, in the Senate of the United States, Thursday, January 25, 1906. Washington, DC: 1906. Call Number: DT317 M6.
W.E. Morse. Ordinance of the City of Jackson, Mississippi: Revised 1938. Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, 1938. Call Number: KFM7031.5 A3 J25 1938.
Dennis Murphree. Know Mississippi Better Train, 1937: 13th Annual Tour over 7,000 Miles Visiting Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Arizona, New Mexico, California, Grand Canyon. [Jackson, MS: 1937]. Call Number: F341 K66 1937.
Dennis Murphree. Personnel and Important Information Concerning the "Know Mississippi Better Train" 1927: Visiting 30 Cities in the United States: Third Annual Tour, August 25 to September 10, 1927. Jackson, MS: Hederman Bros., [1927]. Call Number: F341 P47 1927.
Dennis Murphree. Personnel and Important Information Concerning the "Know Mississippi Better Train" 1929: Visiting 34 Cities Outside of Mississippi in the United States and Canada: Fifth Annual Tour, August 8th to 20th Inclusive. Jackson, MS: Jackson Printing Co., [1929]. Call Number: F341 P47 1929.
National States' Rights Committee. Constitution and Declaration of Principles. [Jackson, MS]: 1949. Call Number: JK325 C619 1949.
Official Mississippi, 1936-40: A Biographical Directory of Elected Officials. [Biloxi, MS]: Southern Research Bureau and the Biloxi News, [1936]. Call Number: JK4631 O35 1936 OVRS.
The Official and Statistical Register of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: Department of Archives and History]. Special Collections has 1904, 1908, 1912, 1917, 1920/24, and 1924-28. Call Number: JK4630 O33.
Official Ward Map, City of Jackson, Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: 19--]. Election districts. Call Number: F349 J13 O33 1900z.
Pat Harrison Central Campaign Committee, Jackson, Miss. Vardaman's Attitude Toward President Wilson, the Democratic Administration and the American Government. A Record of Opposition and Obstruction. [Jackson, MS: 1918]. Call Number: E766 P3.
Alex L. Peterman. Elements of Civil Government: A Text-Book for Use in Public Schools, High Schools and Normal Schools, and Manual of Reference for Teachers. New York: American Book Company, [1903]. Mississippi edition with supplement by Joe Cook at the end on the state of Mississippi. Call Number: JK251 P47 M7.
Clatyon Rand. Abracadabra...: Or, One Democrat to Another. Newark, DE: Press of Kells, 1936. Author owned the Neshoba Democrat, DeKalb Democrat, and Tunica Times, and wrote a nationally syndicated column. Call Number: HC106.3 R3 A2.
Clayton Rand. The Bilbo Fiasco and Mississippi. Gulfport, MS: Dixie Guide, [1947]. U.S. Senator Theodore G. Bilbo. Call Number: E748 B5 R36 1947.
John E. Rankin. The FEPC in New York -- White Americans Betrayed: Speech of John E. Rankin. [Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1947]. Rankin was a U.S. Representative from Mississippi. Employment discrimination against African Americans. Call Number: HD4903.5 U58 R37 1947 OVRS.
John E. Rankin. Great Victory for Tennessee-Tombigbee Inland Waterway. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1949. Congressman from Mississippi. Call Number: HE630 T4 R36 1949.
John E. Rankin. Memorial Day: Address of John E. Rankin of Mississippi Delivered at the Confederate Memorial Exercises in Arlington Cemetery, Washington, D.C., on Sunday, June 4, 1933. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1933. U.S. Senator John E. Rankin of Mississippi. Call Number: NA9325 R36 1933.
John E. Rankin. Tennessee-Tombigbee Inland Waterway: Remarks of John E. Rankin. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1944. Call Number: TC625 T42 R36 1943. In the U.S. House of Representatives. Call Number: TC625 T43 R36 1943.
Report on a Survey of the Organization and Administration of State and County Government in Mississippi, by Institute for Government Research of the Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C. at the Instance of the Research Commission of the State of Mississippi (Created by Act of the Legislature May 8, 1930). [Jackson, MS: 1932]. Call Number: JK4625 1932 B7.
Republican National Committee. Republican Campaign Text-Book. [New York]: 1928. Call Number: JK2351 R45.
Ross A. Collins, a Respected and Recognized Name in Congress and the Nation: Candidate for United States Senator. [Jackson, MS: 1946]. Campaign against U.S. Senator Theodore G. Bilbo. Call Number: F345 R67 1946.
Dunbar Rowland. The "Dictionary of American Biography" a Partisan, Sectional, Political Publication; a Protest. Jackson, MS: 1931. Call Number: F342 R6.
Dunbar Rowland. The Mississippi Plan for the Preservation of State Archives by Dunbar Rowland: An Address Delivered, by Invitation, before the General Assembly of Tennessee, and the Tennessee Historical Society, January 10, 1905. [Nashville: Brandon Printing Co., 1905]. Call Number: CD3321 R88.
Dunbar Rowland. A Mississippi View of Race Relations in the South...Read before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, June 3rd, 1902. Jackson, MS: Harmon Pub. Co., 1903. Politics and government. Call Number: E185.61 R88.
Dunbar Rowland. Speech of Acceptance. Nashville, TN: Brandon Printing Co., [1905]. On the occasion of the presentation of a portrait of Jefferson Davis to the State of Mississippi by the Mississippi Daughters of the Confederacy. Call Number: E467.1 D26 R6.
Millard Harrison Satterfield. Municipal Government and Administration in Mississippi. [Jackson, MS]: Mississippi State Planning Commission, 1940. Call Number: JS451 M75 S38 1940.
Mabel Shands Saunders. A Daughter's Tribute in Memory of Her Beloved Parents. [New Orleans: circa 1940]. Includes speeches made during 1938 presentation of Garvin Dugas Shands' portrait to the State Capitol Building. Shands served as Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi from 1882 to 1890. Call Number: F341 S45 S3.
Walter Sillers. Address: Before Annual Convention Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation, November 7, 1946, Jackson, Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: 1946]. Walter Sillers was Speaker of the Mississippi House. Call Number: KF1682 S55 1946.
Thomas Upton Sisson. Address of Greeting to United Confederate Veterans: In Behalf of United Sons of Confederate Veterans by Thomas Upton Sisson, Mississippi; Reunion United Sons Confederate Veterans. Memphis, TN: 1909. Congressman from Mississippi. Call Number: E650 S58 1909.
Thomas Upton Sisson. The Army Bill...Speech of Hon. Thomas U. Sisson of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Thursday, April 26, 1917. Washington, DC: 1917. Call Number: UB343 S5.
G.T. Sledger. The National Gospeller. Mt. Pleasant, MS. "Published in the interest of good government and religion." Special Collections has one 1949 issue. Call Number: JK1 N275.
Sydney Smith. The State and the Social Process: An Address. [1936]. Before the Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity at the University of Mississippi. Call Number: K487 P65 S656 1936.
Nellie Nugent Somerville. Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association: Address of President. [1912]. Call Number: JK1911 M7 S66 1912. Available online as part of the Mississippi Woman Suffrage Association digital collection.
Southern Research Bureau. Official Mississippi, 1936-40: A Biographical Directory of Elected Officials. [Biloxi, MS]: Biloxi News, [1936]. Call Number: JK4631 O35 1936 OVRS.
Leland Speed. Building a Better Jackson: A Report of Progress Jackson, Mississippi January 1st, 1945 -- January, 1s, 1949. [Jackson, MS: City of Jackson, 1948]. Call Number: F349 J13 S64 1948.
Thomas Spight. Danger in Teaching the Utterly False Doctrine of the Political and Social Equality of the Black and White Races. Speech of Hon. Thos. Spight, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, Wednesday, March 16, 1904. [1904]. Call Number: E185.61 S74.
Lycurgus Spinks. 16 Years on the Throne and the Death of the New Deal. Jackson, MS: American College of Knowledge, 1948. Politics and civil rights. Call Number: JC571 S76 1948.
Statement and Recommendations of the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History to Governor Sennett Conner and to the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, 1932-1936. [Jackson, MS]. Call Number: CD3321 S83 1936.
Hubert D. Stephens. Radio Address on L.Q.C. Lamar: Remarks of Hon. Hubert D. Stephens of Mississippi. [1936]. In the U.S. Senate on 16 May 1936. Call Number: E664 L2 S74 1930.
Alfred Holt Stone. The Assessing of Public Utilities by the State Tax Commission: An Informal Discussion. Jackson, MS: 1935. Call Number: HD2767 M74 S76 1935.
Alfred Holt Stone. Civil Rights, States Rights, and the Reconstruction Background, by the Late Hon. Alfred H. Stone, Written in 1948. [Church Hill, MS: 1965]. Call Number: E185.61 S8.
Walter J. Suthan Jr. A Defense of the Constitutional Right of the White Democratic Party in Louisiana to Conduct a White Primary. New Orleans: 1947. Call Number: E185.615 S88 1947.
R.H. Thompson. Mississippi Codes: An Address by R.H. Thompson Delivered at the Annual Meeting of the Mississippi State Bar Association, Biloxi, Mississippi, May, 1926. Call Number: JF425 T3.
L.O. Todd. Rural Life in Mississippi, 1944, a Partial Statement, Prepared under the Direction of L.O. Todd for the Governor's Conference on Rural Life in Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1944. Call Number: HT423 G6.
United Klans of America. Here's Proof of the Red Pro-Negro Plot against South & USA. Spartanburg, SC: circa 1947. African Americans and the Communist Party. Call Number: HX86 C73 H4 1940.
United States. Congress. Senate. Special Committee Investigating the National Defense Program. Investigation of the National Defense Program: Hearings... Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1947. U.S. Senator Theodore G. Bilbo of Mississippi. Call Number: UA23 A4 1947 pt. 1 and pt. 2.
United States. Congress. Senate. Special Committee to Investigate Senatorial Campaign Expenditures, 1946. Investigation of Senatorial Campaign Expenditures, 1946: Report... Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1947. Mississippi political campaign funds. Call Number: JK1991.5 M7 U55 1947.
United States. Court of Claims. The Bench and Bar of the United States Court of Claims to Judge Charles B. Howry on His Retirement, March 15, 1915. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1915. Howry was a native of Mississippi. Call Number: HJ8934 A6 1915.
United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Inventory of the Federal Archives in the States. Oklahoma City, OK: Historical Records Survey, 1937-. Special Collections has the following volumes on Mississippi: Series 2, No. 23 Federal Courts; Series 4, No. 23 Department of War; Series 12, Number 23 Veterans Administration; Series 13, No. 23 Civil Works Administration; Series 14, No. 23 Emergency Relief Administration; Series 16, No. 23 Farm Credit Administration; and Series 17, No. 23 Miscellaneous Agencies. Call Number: CD3020 H5.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. An Annotated Bibliography on Mississippi's Economy, Business, Industry, and Government, 1930-1963. Call Number: Z1301 M58.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. A Handbook of Technical Service Agencies. University, MS: 1948. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no.7.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. A Handbook of Mississippi State Agencies. University, MS: 1948. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no.5.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. Inaugural Addresses of the Governors of Mississippi. University, MS: 1980-1981. Volume one contains 1890 to 1980. Volume two contains 1817 to 1890. Call Number: F341 I53.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Public Administration. Aids for Governing, an Analysis of Technical Assistance in Mississippi. University, MS: 1948. Call Number: JK2403 M5 S8 no.6.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Public Administration. A Directory of Mississippi Municipalities. University, MS. Special Collections has editions from 1949, 1951, 1953, 1957, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974. Call Number: JS451 M7 D57.
James Kimble Vardaman. Biennial Message of Gov. Jas. K. Vardaman to the Legislature of Mississippi, January 3, 1906. [1906]. Call Number: J87 M72.
James Kimble Vardaman. Free Speech: The Sheet Anchor of Our Liberty. Speech of Hon. James K. Vardaman of Mississippi on Proposed Amendment to the Espionage Law in the Senate of the United States, Saturday, April 6, 1918. Washington, DC: 1918. Call Number: JC591 V3.
James Kimble Vardaman. Inaugural Address, James K. Vardaman, Tuesday, January 19, 1904. Jackson: Tucker Printing House, 1904. Governor. Call Number: J87 M72.
James Kimble Vardaman. Woman Suffrage: Speeches of Hon. James K. Vardaman of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1914. Call Number: JK1896 V37 1914.
Wall Doxey: Candidate for United States Senator. [1941]. Call Number: E748 D694 W35 1941.
B.F. Ward. The Unjust Judge and the Government of One Blood. [Winona, MS: 191-]. African American suffrage. Call Number: KF4893 W37 1910z.
R.A. Webb. Man and Woman: Address Delivered Belhaven Christian Workers' School, Jackson, Mississippi, June 1913 by Rev. R.A. Webb, D.D. of Louisville Seminary. Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, [1913]. Women's suffrage. Call Number: JF853 W4.
Hugh L. White. Balancing Agriculture with Industry: The Address of Hugh L. White. [1936]. Speech of Mississippi Governor before the Mississippi Press Association. Call Number: HC107 M7 W46 1936.
Hugh L. White. Land of the Free. [1939]. Speech of Mississippi Governor before the Kansas State Chamber of Commerce at Wichita, June 16, 1939. Call Number: HC107 M7 W46 1939.
Henry L. Whitfield. Know Mississippi. A Syllabus on Present Conditions in Mississippi. Jackson, MS: Jackson Printing Company, [1926]. Mississippi governor. Call Number: JK4625 1926 A3.
Jamie L. Whitten. Writ of Error Coram Nobis: An Unusual Case in the Nation's History/ Honorable Jamie L. Whitten, District Attorney; Honorable John M. Kuykendall, Circuit Judge. [1936]. Call Number: KF224 M48 W55 1936 OVRS.
John Sharp Williams. Chinese Problem on the Pacific -- The Negro Problem in the South -- Race Problems Generally -- Race Feeling a Conclusion of Induction -- Defense of Mississippi Constitution...Speech of Hon. John Sharp Williams of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Monday, March 31, 1902. Washington, DC: 1902. Call Number: E185 W75.
John Sharp Williams. Lincoln Birthplace Farm at Hodgenville, Ky. Address Delivered on the Occasion of the Acceptance of a Deed of Gift to the Nation, by the Lincoln Farm Association, of the Lincoln Birthplace Farm at Hodgenville, Ky., by Hon. John Sharp Williams...September 4, 1916. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1916. Williams was a U.S. Senator from Mississippi. Call Number: E457.32 W72.
John Sharp Williams. Remarks of Hon. John Sharp Williams of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, January 31, February 4 and 6, 1903. Washington, DC: 1903. Trusts and tariffs. Call Number: HD2795 W53 1903.
John Sharp Williams. The Supply Bills: Articles by Hon. John Sharp Williams Concerning the Constitutional Power of the House of Representatives to Originate Supply Bills. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1912. Call Number: HJ2013 U6 1912.
John Sharp Williams. The University of Virginia and the Development of Thomas Jefferson's Educational Ideas: Speech of Hon. John Sharp Williams Delivered at the St. Louis Meeting of the Association of State Universities, June 28, 1904. [Charlottesville, VA: 1904]. Williams was a U.S. Senator from Mississippi. Call Number: LD5673 W5.
Williamson, Henry Cuthbert. Memoirs of a Statesman, Being an Account of the Events in the Career of a Mississippi Journalist-Legislator. Rochester, NY: Press of the Good Mountain, [1964]. Call Number: F341 W5 1964.
T. Webber Wilson. In Opposition to the Ten Million Dollar Gift to Germany: Speech of Hon. T. Webber Wilson, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, Monday, March 24, 1924. Washington DC: Government Printing Office, 1924. Call Number: JK1074 W5.
T. Webber Wilson. The Life and Character of Hon. Benjamin Grubb Humphreys, Late Member of Congress, Third Mississippi District...Eulogy by Hon. T. Webber Wilson of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Sunday, April 6, 1924. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1924. Call Number: CT6950 H8.
Thomas A. Wise and Harrison Rhodes. Wm. A. Brady and Jos. R. Grismer Present "A Gentleman from Mississippi": How President Taft Laughed at the Comedy. [New York: J.S. Ogilvie, circa 1909. Political satire in the theater. Call Number: PS3539 O622 G42 1909.
