American History

The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This historical database offers downloadable PDF's from each issue published between 1851 and 2021.

The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper founded in 1877. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., and has a particular emphasis on national politics.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.

Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.

The Pittsburgh Courier was an African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Searches more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century American newspapers.

Offers searchable digital editions of three U.S. newspapers from 1923-1993. Includes: Press-Register (Mobile, Alabama; 1970-1992), The Seattle Times (Seattle, Washington; 1923-1984), The Times (Trenton, New Jersey; 1923-1993).

Contains articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command?s Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam.

Indexes the published history of the United States and Canada from 1963 to the present. For more specific search results, use the date limiter to control the time frame of the article.

Comprehensive history reference database offering full text reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical video.

Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.

Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. Full text not included; use Interlibrary Loan to request titles.

Features works published between 1860 and 1922 addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. Includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.

This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society's holdings of slavery and abolition materials contains works published over the course of more than 100 years. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.

Features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867 as well as the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Includes items on working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.

Annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes.

The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country.

The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.

This collection contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith?s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

The Fannie Lou Hamer papers contain more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.

Included here are all of the reports and evidence acquired by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, as well as data that was gathered in the campaign activities of the 1972 presidential candidates.

This collection documents the relationship between the FBI and the House Un-American Activities Committee from 1938-1975.