Mississippi State Government

State of Mississippi government websites

Subject Guide

Core Documents Online

Finding State Documents in the Library

The State Documents Collection is located in the Library Annex, the library's offsite storage facility. 

State Documents can be requested from the Annex and are typically delivered within 24 hrs (Monday-Thursday) to the main library for viewing. 

Use the Library Catalog search box to find state documents. Using the Advanced Catalog Search allows you to search for keywords in the agency name or title or subject and to limit your results by location to the State Documents collection. 

State Documents Depository Collection

The J.D. Williams Library has an extensive collection of Mississippi state government publications, dating from 1817, when Mississippi achieved statehood. The "Primary Sources" tab links to significant historical documents such as Department Reports, the Laws, and Senate and House Journals.  The library has been a part of the State Documents Depository Program since its beginning in 1966.  The entire state documents collection is cataloged in the Library of Congress system and is searchable in the library’s online catalog.

The most complete archival collection of Mississippi state documents is located at the Mississippi Department of Archives and History in Jackson. Search their online catalog or plan a visit in person.

 The Mississippi Library Commission administers the State Documents Depository Program and maintains a list of online state documents as well as printed lists of new documents.

Printed Indexes to State Documents

Monthly Checklist of State Publications. (Library of Congress) Covers 1910-1994.

Mississippi State Government Publications. (Mississippi Library Commission) Covers 1966 - date.