Library Guides: Pharmacy: Pharmacy Resources

AMA Style Guide

AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed.
Login with your UM id and password to download the book via Ebook Central.

Useful tools for connecting you to library resources

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.

UMissMe
Install this bookmarklet in your browser to instantly create a proxied web page with access to library resources.

SciFinder Help

SciFinderⁿ provides a wealth of training materials.

The most common error message you’ll see when trying to access SciFinder is "Not Authorized from this IP address"

Try logging on using the link from the Libraries website: https://olemiss.edu/cgi-bin/library/scifinderwb.pl

If you’re working from home make sure your VPN is working correctly

If you’re still running into issues try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history. Once they are cleared connect through the Libraries website. If that fails try using a different browser. Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge are all supported.

If you are still unable to access SciFinder please contact libadmin@olemiss.edu and we can help pinpoint the problem.

Still have questions?

Check out our SciFinder LibGuide.

Things To Know

The Science Library is located on the first floor of Thad Cochran Research Center (take a left after entering main entrance, on your right). If you want a quiet space to work, this is a good option. The main J.D. Williams Library is located across from the Lyceum.
UM Libraries' resources are authenticated on UM affiliation. If you are a student, you must be enrolled in credit hours to access content.
Never pay for access to a journal article. If the UM Libraries does not have access to an item, request that item through our free interlibrary loan (ILL) service. The login information for your ILL account is the same as your UM id / password. The first time you log into your ILL account, you will be asked to complete a form (contact information, preferred pickup location for books, etc.)
Librarians available via chat. This service can be good for getting quick answers related to library policies, confirming if a resource is not working for everyone, locating an article or book, etc.
If you use Google Scholar, configure your account to recognize you as a University of Mississippi affiliate. Google Scholar menu --> Settings --> Library Links --> Type University of Mississippi

Search the Pharmacy Research Literature

ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text for all journals produced by the American Chemical Society.
AHD.com : American Hospital Directory This link opens in a new window
The American Hospital Directory provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors. On campus use only.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and results of the worlds best medical research studies. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database is produced by Thomson Reuters and includes information from over 800 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970.
JoVE Unlimited: Video Journal This link opens in a new window
JoVE Unlimited Video Journal is the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal which publishes experimental techniques in a visual format.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Includes AHFS Drug Information and Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference.
MarinLit This link opens in a new window
MarinLit is a database of marine natural products literature. MarinLit allows researchers to search over 32,000 compounds across over 34,000 articles.
MEDLINE (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine.
MEDLINE (via PubMed) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Contains informationon dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Note: Register from on campus to use
Tutorial Videos
Guided Introduction

SciFinder Account Registration for FIRST TIME USERS
First time users must create a login and password.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database from Elsevier that provides abstract and full text access to more than 2500 journals from several publishers. It includes more than 9 million full text articles covering a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.
USP Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The USP Dictionary of United States Adopted Names (USAN) and International Drug Names is the leading reference for nonproprietary drug names and chemical structures. In addition to USANs, the USP Dictionary provides International Nonproprietary Names (INNs), British Approved Names, Japanese Accepted Names, brand names, Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) codes, manufacturers, official USPNF names, molecular weights, graphic formulas, pharmacologic and/or therapeutic categories, and pronunciations.

Individual accounts are required, click here to create your USP Access Point account.
USP-NF Online This link opens in a new window
USPNF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP.

Individual accounts are required, click here to create your USP Access Point account.

Search Guides

Pharmacy

AMA Style Guide

Useful tools for connecting you to library resources

SciFinder Help

Things To Know

Search the Pharmacy Research Literature