Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Language Subject Guide: Home

Subject Guide provides information on French language books and manuscripts dating from the sixteenth century through the end of the Napoleonic era in 1815 .

Subject Guide Directory

The Archives & Special Collections material identified in this subject guide features books and other items dating from the sixteenth century through 1815.
The subject guide is organized in the following manner:

 

John Latham

The vast majority of the French language books in Special Collections dating from the 15th through the 19th centuries were the gift of John Latham.  Latham attended the University of Mississippi for a year prior to entering the Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland.  He later became a foreign representative of the American Telephone and Telegraph company.  Latham began making donations to the library in 1974, and many more volumes arrived in a bequest following Latham's death in 1983.  The collection reflects Latham's interest in French history and French books printed prior to the revolution as represented by a large number of almanacs, official military reports, city and artist guides, and the satirical fiction of the Philosophes.

Contact Information

Archives & Special Collections

Located on the third floor of the J.D. Williams Library and open Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm (except during holidays).

Email:  archivesdept@olemiss.edu

Phone:  (662) 915-1595