Almanach des muses (Paris: Chez Delalain, 1769- ). Special Collections has volumes from 1765 and 1795. French poetry. Call Number: PQ1177 A6.
Almanach littéraire, ou Etrennes d'Apollon (Paris: Chez tous les libraires). Special Collections has volumes from 1779, 1785, and 1791. Call Number: PQ1131 A45.
Charles Bordes. Parapilla et autres oeuvres libres et galantes (Florence (i.e. Lyon): 1784). Call Number: PQ1957 B65 P37 1784.
Contes et nouvelles en vers (London: 1778). French poetry. Special Collections has volumes 1, 2, and 4. Call Number: PQ1177 C767 1778.
Nicolas Boileau Despréaux. Oeuvres de Nicolas Boileau Despréaux. Avec des eclaircissemens historiques, donnez par lui-mème (The Hague: I. Vaillant, 1722. New revised edition of this French poet and critic. Four volumes. Call Number: PQ1719 A2 1722.
Teofilo Folengo. Histoire maccaronique de Merlin Coccaie : prototype de Rablais, ou est traicté les ruses de Cingar, les tours de Boccal, les adventures de Leonard, les forces de Fracasse, les enchantemens de Gelfore & Pandrague, & les rencontres heureuses de Balde, &c. : plus l'horrible bataille advenuë entre les mousches & les fourmis (Paris : Chez Toussaincts du Bray, au palais, en la galerie des prisonniers, 1606). French translation of Teofilio Folengo (1491-1544), one of the principal Italian macaronic poets who wrote under the pseudonym Merlinus Cocaius. Macaronic language uses a mixture of languages, particularly bilingual puns or situations. Special Collections has volume 1 of this edition. Call Number: PQ4623 F3 H6 1606.
Antoine Furetiére. Le roman bourgeois (Nancy: Chez Jean-Baptiste Cusson, 1713). Call Number: PQ1797 F9 A7 1713.
Pierre Gringore. Le iev du prince des sotz et mere sotte (Paris: [1801]). Possible reproduction of the1511 publication of this French poem. Call Number: PQ1625 G7 A69 1511.
Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun. Le Rommant de la Rose nouuellement reueu et corrige oultre les precedentes Impressions (Paris: Pierre Vidou, [1538]). Poetry originally written around 1230, this volume is edited by Clément Marot. Call Number: PQ1527 A1 1538.
Laurent Angliviel de La Beaumelle. Les amours de Zeokinizul, roi des Kofirans: ouvrage traduit de l'arabe du voyageur Krinelbol (Amsterdam: Aux dépens de Michel, 1747). Erotic literature about King Louis XV. Call Number: PQ1989 L3 A4 1747.
Restif de La Bretonne. Les nuits de Paris, ou, Le spectateur nocturne (London: 1788-1789). Two volumes. Fictional reportage of Restif walking the streets of Paris at night with descriptions of a multitude of characters and anecdotes that end with the start of the French Revolution ans the September massacres. Call Number: PQ2025 N8 1788.
Restif de La Bretonne. Tableaux de la vie, ou, Les moeurs du dix-huitieme siecle (London: 1791). Two volumes. Restif wrote over 200 books, many printed in his own hand on almost every conceivable subject. He also coined the terms "communism" and "pornographer" (writing several works of erotica). Call Number: PS2025 T5 1791.
Le Cabinet satyrique, ou, Recveil parfaict des vers picquans & gaillards de ce temps: tiré des secrets cabinets des sieurs de Sigognes, Regnier, Motin, Berthelot, Maynard, & autres des plus signaléz poëtes de ce siècle (Paris: louxte la coppie imprimee à Roüen, 1634). Poetry, satire, and erotic literature. Call Number: PQ1193 S3 C33 1634.
Jean de La Fontaine. Fables choisies: mises en vers (Geneva: 1777). Two volumes. The original editions of Fontaine's Fables appeared in 1668 to 1694. Call Number: PQ1808 A1 1777.
Jean de La Fontaine. Fables choisies: mises en vers (London: 1780). Special Collections has volume 1. The original editions of Fontaine's Fables appeared in 1668 to 1694. Call Number: PQ1808 A1 1780.
Jean de La Fontaine. Les amours de Psyché et de Cupidon (London: 1782). Bookseller's slip tipped in book lists this as the Cazin edition printed in Paris. Call Number: PQ1810 A5 1782.
François, duc de La Rouchefaucauld. Reflexions ou sentences et maximes morales (Paris: Suivant la copie imprimée, [1679]). The author made frequent alterations and additions to his Maximes during his life and a few were added after his death. This edition appeared in print one year prior to the author's death. Call Number: PQ1815 A7 1679.
Choderlos de Laclos. Les liaisons dangereuses, ou Lettres recueillies dans une société, et publiées pour l'instruction de quelques autres (Genève: 1792). Two volumes. Original edition published in 1782 to great success with later adaptations on stage and screen. Location: PQ1993 L22 L5 1792.
Longus. Les amours pastorales de Daphnis et Chloé: escrites en grec (London: 1780). French translation of original Greek text. Call Number: PA4229 L8 F8 1780.
Xavier de Maistre. Voyage autour de ma chambre, par M. Le C. X***** (Paris: Dufart, 1797). Written while under arrest in Turin as a result of a duel, this famous work of fiction is a parody of grant travel narratives where the prisoner examines the contents of his cell as if they were destinations in a foreign trip. Original edition published in 1794. Call Number: PQ2342 M3 V6 1797.
Jean Françoise Marmontel. Contes moraux par M. Marmontel, suivis d'une apologie du theatre (Paris: Merlin, 1778). Three volumes. Call Number: PQ2005 C5 1778.
Louis-Sébastien Mercier. L'an deaux mille quatre cent quarante: rêve s'il en fût jamais (London: 1775). Utopian fiction. Call Number: PQ2007 M6 A62 1775.
Ovid. Les metamorphoses d'Ovide : mises en vers françois par T. Corneille de l'Academie françoise (Liège : Chez Jean François Broncart, 1698). French translation of Roman poet (43BC - 17/18AD). Three volumes. Call Number: PA6523 M2 C67 1698.
Jean-Frédéric Phélypeaux, comte de Maurepas et al. Les etrennes de la St. Jean (Troyes: Chez la Veuve Oudot, 1742). Second edition. Saint John the Baptist. Call Number: PQ1961 C4 A65 1742.
Abbé Prévost. Histoire de Manon Lescaut et du chevalier des Grieux (Paris: De l'impre. de P. Didot l'aîné, 1797). Two volumes. Original edition of the novel published in 1731 and became the basis for the Italian-language opera Manon Lescaut composed by Puccini between 1889 and 1892. Call Number: PQ2021 M3 1797.
Armand Henri Regueneau de la Chainaye. Brunetiana, quinzième edition, contenant uniquement les facéties et les bons-mots de m. Brunet dans ses principaux rôles, et tout-à-fait différente des 14 précedentes ... Par Anagrame Dauneur [pseudonym] (Paris: Cavanagh, 1806). Call Number: PQ2347 M358 M5 1806.
Satires du sieur D+++ [Despréaux] (Paris: Chez Louis Billain, Denys Thierry, Frédéric Léonard, 1669). Call Number: PQ1720 A2 1669.
Paul Scarron. Les nouvelles oeuvres tragi-comiques de Monsieur Scarron: tire des plux fameux Autheurs Espagnols (Amsterdam: Chez Abraham Wolfganck, 1675). Call Number: PQ1919 A1 1675.
Marie de Rabutin-Chantal, marquise de Sévigné. Recueil des lettres de Madame la marquise de Sévigné a Madame la comtesse de Grignan, sa fille (Paris: Compagnie des Libraires, 1763). By 1673, Mme de Sévigné's clever and amusing letters were being copied and circulated during her lifetime (1626-1696). A clandestine edition of twenty-eight letters and some fragments appeared in 1725. Her granddaughter officially published 614 letters in 1734-1737 and 1772 letters in 1754; these published letters were often rewritten in the style of the day. Special Collections has volumes 1 through 8. Call Number: PQ1925 A8 1763.
Jean Salomon Tabarin. Recveil general des oevvres et fantasies de Tabarin : contenant ses rencontres, questions & demandes facecieuses, auec leurs responses : en ceste edition est adioustèe la deuxiéme partie de ses farces, non encor veües ny imprimees : auec les Rencontres & fantasies du baron de Gratelard ([Rouen]: Chex Loüys du Mesnil, 1664). Call Number: PQ1928 T3 R43 1664.
Voltaire. Candide, ou, L'optimisme / traduit de l'allemand de Mr. le docteur Ralph (1759). Voltaire's most well-known work. Published in the same year as the true first edition (Geneva: Cramers). Call Number: PQ2082 C3 1759.
Voltaire. Oeuvres completes de Voltaire ([Kehl]: De L'imprimerie de la Société Littéraire-Typographique, 1784-1789). Special Collections has volumes 44 and 45. Call Number: PQ2070 1784.
André-François Boureau-Deslandes. L'art de ne point s'ennuyer (Liège : Chez Clement Plomteux, 1771). Author considered an important precursor to the Encyclopédistes. Call Number: BJ1482 D38 1771.
Jean de La Bruyére. Caracteres de la Bruyere (Paris: Chez Jean-François Bastien, 1790). Two volumes. Sarcastic portraiture by the French moralist and philosopher of his contemporaries originally published in 1688 with fresh portraits inserted into later editions. Call Number: PQ1803 A6 1790.
Michel de Montaine. Les essais de Michel, Seigneur de Montaigne (Brussels: F. Foppens, 1659). Originally published in 1580. Three volumes. Call Number: PQ1641 A1 1659.
Charles-Louis de Secondat, baron de Montesquieu. Esprit des loix, ou, Rapport qu'elles doivent avoir avec la constitution de chaque gouvernement, les moeurs, le climat, la religion, & le commerce : avec de nouvelles recherches sur les loix romaines concernant les successions, sur les loix françoises & féodales (Amsterdam : par la Compagnie, 1758). Philosophy of law. Three volumes. Call Number: JC179 M74 1758.
Le morale de Confucius: philosophe de la Chine (Paris: Valade; Reims, Cazin, 1783). Call Number: B128 C8 F68 1783.
Voltaire. Oeuvres completes de Voltaire ([Kehl] : De L'Imprimerie de la Société Littéraire-Typographique, 1784-1789). Special Collections has volumes 45 & 55. Call Number: PQ2070 1784.
Located on the third floor of the J.D. Williams Library and open Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm (except during holidays).
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Phone: (662) 915-1595
Jean Puget de La Serre. Le secretaire a la mode: augmenté d'une instruction d'escrire des lettres, cy devant non imprimée; plus d'un receuil des lettres morales des plus beaux esprits de ce temps; et des complimens de la langue françoise (Amsterdam: Chez Louys & Daniel Elzevier, 1662). Call Number: PC2481 L37 1662.
Monsieur de Prunay. Grammaire des dames, où l'on trouvera des principes fûrs & faciles, pour apprendre 'a ortographier correctement la langue française: avec les moyens de conaître les expressions provinciales, de les éviter, & de prévenir, chez les jeunes demoiselles, l'habitude d'une prononciacion vicieuse: dédiée a son altesse sérénissime Madame la Princesse de Lambale, surintendante de la maison de la reine (Paris: Chez Lottin, l'aîné, 1777). French language grammar textbook for women. Call Number: PC2109. P78 1777.
