Foodways: Secondary Source Publications

David Adler.  The Life and Cuisine of Elvis Presley (New York:  Crown Trade Paperbacks, 1993).  Call Number:  ML420 P96 A34 1993.

David Beriss and David Sutton.  The Restaurants Book:  Ethnographies of Where We Eat (Oxford, UK:  Berg, 2007).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2853 U5 R47 2007.

Julius Garnett Berry.  Short Lengths, Chicken Dinner, and Prayer Meeting:  The Life and Times of Mr. Memory E. Leake (Tupelo, MS:  Leake & Goodlett, 1959).  Call Number:  HG2153 M7 B4.

Bill Best.  One Hundred Years of Appalachian Visions, 1897-1996 (Berea, KY:  Appalachian Imprints, 2000).  Expanded second edition.  Call Number:  PS554 O66 2000.

Marcelle Bienvenu, Carl A. Brasseaux, and Ryan A. Brasseaux.  Stir the Pot:  The History of Cajun Cuisine (New York:  Hippocrene Books, 2005).  From the John T. Edge Collection.    Call Number:  TX715.2 L68 B544 2005.

Hector Bolitho, ed.  The Glorious Oyster:  His History in Rome and in Britain, His Anatomy and Reproduction, How to Cook Him, and What Various Writers and Poets Have Written in His Praise.  Collected Together as an Acknowledgement of the Supreme Pleasure He Has Given to All Persons of Taste Since Roman Times (New York:  Alfred A. Knopf, 1929).  Call Number:  TX387 B6.

Hector Bolitho, ed..  The Glorious Oyster (London:  Sidgwick and Jackson, 1960).  Call Number:  TX387 G46 1960.

Hector Bolitho, ed.  The Glorious Oyster, Its History in Rome and Britain:  What Various Writers and Poets Have Said in Its Praise, Together with Chapters by Maurice Burton on the Reproduction and Growth of Oysters, Their Enemies, Their Anatomy and Physiology, and Their Culture, and a Chapter on Oysters, Raw and Cooked by W.A. Bentley.  Illustrated with Still Life Paintings from Collections in England, Europe, and America (New York:  Horizon Press, 1961).  Call Number:  TX387 B6 1961.

Carroll Brinson.  A Tradition of Looking Ahead:  The Story of Bryan Foods (Jackson, MS:  Oakdale Press, 1986).  History of a meat company in West Point, Mississippi.  Call Number:  HD9419 B79 B7577.  

Linda Keller Brown and Kay Mussell, eds.  Ethnic and Regional Foodways in the United States:  The Performance of Group Identity (Knoxville, TN:  University of Tennessee Press, 1984).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2853 U5 E86 1984.

George W. Bryan.  The Bryan Foods Story (New York:  Newcomen Society of the United States, 1983).  Address delivered at the 1983 Mississippi meeting of the Newcomen Society on 10 May 1983 on a meat company in West Point, Mississippi.  Call Number:  HD9419 B79 B79 1983.

Marda Burton and Kenneth Holditch.  Galatoire's:  Biography of a Bistro (Athens, GA:  Hill Street Press, 2004).  History of a New Orleans, Louisiana restaurant.  Call Number:  TX945.5 G35 B87 2004.

Brenda Arlene Butler.  Are You Hungry Tonight?:  Elvis' Favorite Recipes (New York:  Gramercy Books, 1992).  Call Number:  TX715.2 S68 B88 1992.

Creighton Lee Calhoun Jr.  Old Southern Apples (Blacksburg, VA:  McDonald & Woodward Publishing Company, 1995).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SB363.2 U6 1995.

Judith A. Carney.  Black Rice:  The African Origins of Rice Cultivation in the Americas (Cambridge, MA:  Harvard University Press, 2001).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SB191 R5 C35 2001.

Jane Carson.  Colonial Virginia Cookery:  Procedures, Equipment, and Ingredients in Colonial Cooking (Williamsburg, VA:  Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 1985).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715 C298 1985.

Barbara Ann Casasa.  "Controlled Assessment of Binge Eating in University Females" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1989).  

Rich Cohen.  The Fish that Ate the Whale:  The Life and Times of America's Banana King (New York:  Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2012).  Biography of Samuel Zemurray (1877-1961) the United Fruit Company mogul and Louisiana resident.  Call Number:  HD9259 B2 Z463 2012.

Phillip Collier.  Phillip Collier's Missing New Orleans (New Orleans:  Ogden Museum of Southern Art, University of New Orleans, 2005).  History and photography of New Orleans, Louisiana; includes the section "You'll Linger There:  Eating, Drinking and Sleeping in New Orleans."  Call Number:  F379 N543 C65 2005.

Steve Coomes.  Country Ham:  A Southern Tradition of Hogs, Salt & Smoke (Charleston, SC:  American Palate, 2014).  Note:  Inscribed to John T. Edge by author on inside back cover.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX749.5 H35 C66 2014.

Linda Crawford Culberson.  The Catfish Book (Jackson:  University Press of Mississippi, 1991).  Folklore and cooking of catfish.  Call Number:  QL637.9 S5 C73 1991.

Marvin Davis and Helen Davis.  The Collector's Price Guide to Bottles, Tobacco Tins, and Relics (New York:  Galahad Books, 1975).  Includes sections on condiment bottles, fruit jars, store tins, and lunch box tins.  Call Number:  Blues NK5440 B6 D36.

John T. Edge.  Apple Pie:  An American Story (New York:  Putnam, 2004).  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  TX773 E334 2004.

John T. Edge.  Fried Chicken:  An American Story (New York:  G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2004).  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  TX750.5 C45 E35 2004.

John Egerton.  Southern Food:  At Home, on the Road, in History (New York:  Knopf, 1987).  Call Number:  TX715 E28 1987.

Dan Ellis.  Gold Coast Watering Places:  Grand Hotels (2002).  History of Mississippi Gulf Coast hotels, bed and breakfast accommodations, and resorts.  Call Number:  F347 G9 E447 2002.

Elizabeth S.D. Engelhardt.  A Mess of Greens:  Southern Gender and Southern Food (Athens, GA:  University of Georgia Press, 2011).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2853 U5 E64 2011.   

Marcie Cohen Ferris.  The Edible South:  The Power of Food and the Making of an American Region (Chapel Hill:  University of North Carolina Press, 2014).  Call Number:  GT2853 U5 F47 2014.

Marcie Cohen Ferris.  Matzoh Ball Gumbo:  Culinary Tales of the Jewish South (Chapel Hill:  University of North Carolina Press, 2005).  Call Number:  TX724 F372 2005.

Tom Fitzmorris.  Tom Fitzmorris's Hungry Town:  A Culinary History of New Orleans, The City Where Food Is Almost Everything (New York:  Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2010).  Call Number:  TX907.3 L82 F57 2010.

Jennifer-Jane Fog.  "Eating Restraint, Externality, and Cognitive Meditation in Obesity" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1979).

John D. Folse.  The Evolution of Cajun & Creole Cuisine (Donaldsville, LA:  Chef John Folse and Co., 1989).  Call Number:  TX715.2 L68 F65.

Hosford Latimer Fontaine.  Allison's Wells:  The Last Mississippi Spa, 1889-1963 (Jackson, MS:  Muscadine Press, 1981).  Bars, taverns, and hotels in the health resort of Allison's Well's, Mississippi.  Call Number:  RA807 M72 A44 1981.

Sara B. Franklin, ed.  Edna Lewis:  At the Table with an American Original (Chapel Hill, NC:  University of North Carolina Press, 2018).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX649 L48 E36 2018.

Joe B. Frantz.  Gail Borden:  Dairyman to a Nation (Norman:  University of Oklahoma Press, 1951).  Call Number:  HD9275 U82 B64.

Gail Gilchrist.  Bubbas & Beaus:  From Good Old Boys to Southern Gentlemen, a Close Look at the Customs, Cuisine, and Culture of Southern Men (New York:  Hyperiod, 1995).  Call Number:  F216.2 G55 1995.

Winston Groom.  Vicksburg, 1863 (New York:  Vintage Civil War Library, 2010).  History of Vicksburg, Mississippi during the Civil War and includes section "Martha Says Rats Are Hanging in the Market for Sale with the Mule Meat."  Call Number:  E475.27 G794 2010.

C. Paige Gutierrez.  The Cultural Legacy of Biloxi's Seafood Industry (1984).  Call Number:  HD9458 B55 G88 1984.

Jessica B. Harris.  High on the Hog:  A Culinary Journey from Africa to America (New York:  St. Martins Press, 2012).  Call Number:  TX715 H29972 2012.

Louis Hatchett.  Duncan Hines:  The Man Behind the Cake Mix (Macon, GA:  Mercer University Press, 2001).  Blurb on back of dust jacket by John T. Edge; inscribed by author to Edge; note to Edge about book.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  HC102.5 H56 H38 2001.

Kristin Jean Henke.  "The Effects of Smoking Abstinence and Dieting in Restrained and Unrestrained Eaters" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1992).

Sam Bowers Hilliard.  Hog Meat and Hoecake:  Food Supply in the Old South, 1840-1860 (Carbondale, IL:  Southern University Press, 1972).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  HD9007 A13 H54.

Sam Bowers Hilliard.  Hog Meat and Hoecake:  Food Supply in the Old South, 1840-1860 (Athens, GA:  University of Georgia Press, 2014).  With a foreword from James C. Cobb.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  HD9007 A13 H54 2014.

William Henry Holman.  "Save a Nickel on a Quarter":  The Story of Jitney Jungle Stores in America (New York:  Necomen Society in North America, 1974).  Address at the 1973 Mississippi Dinner of the Newcomen Society.  Jitney Jungle grocery store company.  Call Number:  HF5429.4 S68 H65.

Nancy Isenberg.  White Trash:  The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America (New York:  Penguin Books, 2017).  Includes chapter "Pedigrees and Poor White Trash:  Bad Blood, Half-Breeds and Clay-Eaters."  Call Number:    HN90 S6 I84 2016b.

Larry Jorgensen.  The Coca-Cola Trail:  People and Places in the History of Coca-Cola (Mansura, LA:  GL Management LLC, 2017).  Call Number:  HD9349 S634 J673 2017.

Elizabeth Hoxie Joyner.  The USS Cairo:  History and Artifacts of a Civil War Gunboat (Jefferson, NC:  McFarland & Co., 2006).  Includes section on "Cookware and Eating Utensils."  Call Number:  E595 C3 J69 2006.

Denise Kiernan.  The Girls of Atomic City:  The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II (New York:  Simon & Schuster, 2013).  Women workers in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.  Includes section "Tubealloy:  Pumpkins, Spies, and Chicken Soup, Fall 1944."  Call Number:  F444 O3 K54 2013b.  

James Riley Lane.  "The Effects of Deprivation and Food Cue Valence on the Eating Behavior of Obese and Normal-Weight Subjects" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1975).

John Laudun.  The Amazing Crawfish Boat (Jackson, MS:  University Press of Mississippi, 2016).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SH380.92 U55 L38 2016.

Christina R. Lemmon.  "A Study of Athletics as a Risk Factor for the Eating Disorders" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1991).

Harvey A. Levenstein.  Fear of Food:  A History of Why We Worry about What We Eat (Chicago:  University of Chicago Press, 2012).  Call Number:  TX360 U6 L47 2012.

Morris Lewis.  Wholesaler-Retailer:  The Story of the Lewis Grocer Company and Sunflower Food Stores (New York:  Newcomen Society in North America, 1975).  Address delivered at the 1975 Mississippi dinner of the Newcomen Society on 6 May 1975.  Call Number:  HF6201 G73 L49.

Daniel C. Littlefield.  Rice and the Making of South Carolina (Columbia, SC:  South Carolina Department of Archives & History, 1995).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  E445 S7 L58 1995.

Peter Macinnis.  Bittersweet:  The Story of Sugar (Crows Nest, Australia:  Allen & Unwin, 2002).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX560 S9 M3 2002.

Jane Manaster.  The Pecan Tree (Austin, TX:  University of Texas Press, 1994).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SB401 P4 M36 1994.

Toni Tipton-Martin.  The Jemima Code:  Two Centuries of African American Cookbooks (Austin, TX:  University of Texas Press, 2015).  Call Number:  TX715.2 A47 T57 2015.

James Lorenzo McCorkle.  "The Mississippi Vegetable Industry:  A History" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1966).

Thomas McNamee.  The Man Who Changed the Way We Eat:  Craig Claiborne and the American Food Revolution (New York: Free Press, 2012).  Biography of a Mississippi native who became the food critic at the New York Times.  Call Number:  TX649 C55 M38 2012.

John McQuaid.  Tasty:  The Art and Science of What We Eat (New York:  Scribner, 2015).  Call Number:  TX631 M395 2015.

James E. McWilliams.  A Revolution in Eating:  How the Quest for Food Shaped America (New York:  Columbia University Press, 2005).  Note:  Inscribed to John T. Edge by author; collector’s notations. From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX633 M3 2005.

Sidney Wilfred Mintz.  Sweetness and Power:  The Place of Sugar in Modern History (New York:  Penguin, 1986).  From the John T. Edge Collection. 

Ed Negri with Michael J. Cain.  Herren’s:  An Atlanta Landmark:  Past, Present & Future (Roswell, GA:  Roswell Publishing Company, 2005).  From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number:  TX945.5 H47 N45 2005.  

Frederick Douglass Opie.  Hog and Hominy:  Soul Food from Africa to America (New York:  Columbia University Press, 2008).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715 O548 2008.

Howard Paige.  Aspects of African American Foodways (Southfield, MI:  Aspects Publishing Company, 1999).  Inscribed by author to John T. Edge.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715 P152 1999.

Mary Elizabeth Partridge.  "A Comparison of the Effects of Structured and Incidental Cooking Programs on Achievement and Self Concept of Preschool Children" (Ed.D dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1976).  

David Sax.  Save the Deli:  In Search of the Perfect Pastrami, Crusty Rye, and the Heart of Jewish Delicatessen (Boston:  Houston Mifflin Harcourt, 2009).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX945.4 S393 2009.

Richard Schweid.  Catfish Farming and the Delta:  Confederate Fish Farming in the Mississippi Delta (Berkeley, CA:  Ten Speed Press, 1992).  Call Number:  SH167 C35 S39 1992.

Rebecca Sharpless.  Cooking in Other Women's Kitchens:  Domestic Workers in the South, 1865-1960 (Chapel Hill:  University of North Carolina Press, 2010).  Call Number:  HD6072.2 U52 S574 2010.

Sue Shephard.  Pickled, Potted, Canned:  How the Art and Science of Food Preserving Changed the World (New York:  Simon & Schuster Paperbacks, 2000).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX601 S47 2006.

Margaret Toston Sheridan.  "The Influence of Social Environment on Eating Behaviors of African American and Native American College Students" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1994).  

Davis S. Shields.  Southern Provisions:  The Creation & Revival of a Cuisine (Chicago:  University of Chicago Press, 2015).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX633 S55 2015.

David S. Shields and Kevin Mitchell.  Nat Fuller 1812-1866:  From Slavery to Artistry:  The Life and Work of the “Presiding Genius” of Charleston Cuisine (Institute for Southern Studies and McKissick Museum, University of South Carolina, 2015).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  F279 C453 F85 2015.

Barbara G. Shortridge and James R. Shortridge.  The Taste of American Place:  A Reader on Regional and Ethnic Foods (Lanham, Maryland:  Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1998).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715 T2127 1998.

Peter Slade.  Open Friendship in a Closed Society:  Mission Mississippi and a Theology of Friendship (New York:  Oxford University Press, 2009).  Includes the chapter "Prayer Breakfasts."  Call Number:  BV4468 S53 2009.

Andrew F. Smith.  Starving the South:  How the North Won the Civil War (New York:  St. Martin’s Press, 2011).  From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number:  E468.9 S65 2011.

Jason Sokol.  There Goes My Everything:  White Southerners in the Age of Civil Rights, 1945-1975 (New York:  Alfred A. Knopf, 2006).  Includes chapter "Barbecue, Fried Chicken, and Civil Rights:  The 1964 Civil Rights Act."  Call Number:  F220 A1 S65 2006.

Raymond Sokolov.  Fading Feast:  A Compendium of Disappearing American Regional Foods (New York:  Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 1981).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715 S67812 1981.

Bob Spitz.  Dearie:  The Remarkable Life of Julia Child (New York:  A.A. Knopf, 2012).  Biography of pioneering television cook.  Call Number:  TX649 C47 S65 2012. 

Elizabeth M. Streete.  "An Examination of the Relationship Between Cognitive Patterns and Affective Responsiveness Among Restrained and Unrestrained Eaters" (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Mississippi, 1991). 

Steven H. Stubbs.  Mississippi's Giant Houseparty:  The History of the Neshoba County Fair, 115 Years (and Counting) of Politiking, Pacing, Partaking, and Partying (Philadelphia, MS:  2005).  Part II includes fair facts such as fair foods, favorite recipes, and  grocery lists.  Call Number:  F347 N4 S78 2005.

Judith Sumner.  American Household Botany:  A History of Useful Plants 1620-1900 (Portland, Oregon:  Timber Press, 2004).  Note:  Inscribed by John T. Edge by his wife.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SB108 U5 S85 2004.

Joe Gray Taylor.  Eating, Drinking, and Visiting in the South:  An Informal History (Baton Rouge, LA:  Louisiana State Press, 1982).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2853 U5 T39.

Susan Tucker, ed.  New Orleans Cuisine:  Fourteen Signature Dishes and Their Histories (Jackson:  University Press of Mississippi, 2009).  Note:  Collector’s notations.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  TX715.2 L68 N49 2009.

Jennifer Jensen Wallach, ed.  Dethroning the Deceitful Pork Chop:  Rethinking African American Foodways from Slavery to Obama (Fayetteville, AR:  University of Arkansas Press, 2015).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  E185.89 F66 D48 2015.

Jennifer Jensen Wallach.  Every Nation Has Its Dish:  Black Bodies and Black Food in Twentieth-Century America (Chapel Hill, NC:  University of North Carolina Press, 2019).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2853 U6 W35 2019. 

Andrew Warnes.  Hunger Overcome?:  Food and Resistance in Twentieth-Century African American Literature (Athens, GA:  University of Georgia Press, 2004).  Notes:  Includes press release from the University of Georgia Press.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  PS153 N5 W346 2004.

William Woys Weaver.  Heirloom Vegetable Gardening:  A Master Gardener’s Guide to Planting, Seed Saving, and Cultural History (New York:  Henry Holt and Company, 1997).  Note:  Inscribed to John T. Edge by author.  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  SB324.73 W43 1997.

Psyche A. Williams-Forson.  Building Houses out of Chicken Legs:  Black Women, Food, and Power (Chapel Hill, NC:  University of North Carolina Press, 2006).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  GT2868.5 W55 2006.

Charles Reagan Wilson, ed.  The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture (Chapel Hill:  University of North Carolina Press, 2006-2012).  Volume 7 is "Foodways" edited by John T. Edge.  Call Number:  F209 N47.

Doris Smith Witt.  “What Ever Happened to Aunt Jemima?:  Black Women and Food in American Culture” (Ph.D. dissertation; University of Virginia, 1995).  From the John T. Edge Collection.  Call Number:  E185.86 W586 1995.

Archives and Special Collections
J.D. Williams Library
P.O. Box 1848
University MS, 38655

Phone: (662) 915-1595
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu