This page of the Foodways Subject Guide lists cookbooks dating from the 2000 to the present day. Reflecting the general collecting focus of the Archives and Special Collections, these publications are primarily related to Mississippi or the American South.
Jennie C. Benedict. The Blue Ribbon Cook Book (Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2008). Reprint of 1922 Kentucky cookbook. Call Number: TX715 B474 2008.
Berea Baptist Church. Memories on the Menu: A Collection of Recipes (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2005). McCool, Mississippi cookbook. Call Number: TX715 M46 2005.
Nancy Smythe Bollinger. A Bountiful Spread (Lenexa, KA: Cookbook Publishers, 2004). Call Number: TX715 B655 2004.
Sonny Brewer, ed. Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II (San Francisco: MacAdam/Cage, 2003). Includes "My Heroes Have Always Been Grill Cooks" by Mississippi author John T. Edge. Call Number: PS551 S743 2003.
Jill Conner Browne. The Sweet Potato Queens' Big-Ass Cookbook (And Financial Planner) (New York: Three Rivers Press, 2003). Mississippi author. Call Number: PN6231 C624 B76 2003.
Debra Dottley Brumitt, comp. Miss Mississippi Cooks: First-hand Pageant Stories, Tips, Tidbits and Favorite Recipes from Miss Mississippis (Memphis, TN: Starr Toof, 2003). Call Number: HQ1220 U5 M58 2003.
MaryJane Butters. MaryJane's Ideabook, Cookbook, Lifebook: For the Farmgirl in All of Us (New York: Clarkson Potter/Publishers, 2005). Uncorrected proof. Call Number: TX147 B876 2005b.
CanSurvive GYN Cancer Support Group. A Collection of Favorite Recipes (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2002). Call Number: TX715 C625 2002.
CanSurvive GYN Cancer Support Group. The Fruit of the Spirit: A Collection of Recipes (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2004). Birmingham, Alabama cookbook. Call Number: TX715 F885 2004.
Craig Claiborne. Craig Claiborne’s Southern Cooking (Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2007). Originally published in 1987. Foreward by John T. Edge and Gergeanna Milam. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715 C5747 2007.
Cat Cora with Ann Krueger Spivack. Cat Cora's Kitchen: Favorite Meals for Family and Friends (San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 2004). Mississippi chef. Call Number: TX723.5 G8 C67 2004.
College Hill Presbyterian Church. A Foundation in Christ: The History and Recipes of College Hill Presbyterian Church, College Hill, Mississippi (University, MS: University Printing Services, 2001). Call Number: BX8949 O94 F68 2001.
John Currence. Pickles, Pigs & Whiskey: Recipes from My Three Favorite Food Groups (And Then Some) (Kansas City: Andrews McMeel Publishing LLC, 2013). Author is an Oxford, Mississippi chef and restaurant owner. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 C87 2013.
Nathalie Dupree. Nathalie Dupree's Southern Memories: Recipes and Reminiscences (Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2004). Reprint of 1993 edition. Author is a chef and television cooking show host. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 D86 2004.
Kathryn Eastburn. A Sacred Feast: Reflections on Sacred Harp Singing and Dinner on the Ground (Lincoln, NB: University of Nebraska Press, 2008). From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715 E1686 2008.
Jeffrey Elliot. Zwilling J.A. Henckels Complete Book of Knife Skills: The Essential Guide to Use, Techniques & Care (Toronto, Canada: R. Rose, 2010). Knife skills in cooking. Call Number: TX657 K54 E45 2010.
Minnie C. Fox, comp. The Blue Grass Cook Book (Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky, 2005). Originally published by African American Kentucky author in 1904. Blurb from John T. Edge on back of dust jacket. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 F69 2005.
Mary Gunderson. The Food Journal of Lewis & Clark: Recipes for an Expedition (Yankton, South Dakota: History Cooks, 2003). From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715.2 W47 G875 2003.
Elsa Hahne. You Are Where You Eat: Stories and Recipes from the Neighborhoods of New Orleans (Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2008). From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715.2 L68 H327 2008.
Melissa Booth Hall, ed. Pimento Cheese Invitational (University, MS: Southern Foodways Alliance, [2003]). Call Number: TX759.5 C48 P56 2003.
Marcia Fleming Hammett. Timeless Delights: A Legacy of Cooking for Loved Ones (Collierville, TN: Fundcraft Publishing, 2010). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 H36.
Sylvia Higginbotham. Grits 'n Greens and Mississippi Things: People and Places Fabulous Foods (Columbus, MS: Parlance Publishing, 2002). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 H55 2002.
Katy Houston. Sweetness Follows: The Story of Sam and the Treat of the Week (Nashville, TN: Southwestern Publishing Group, 2012). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 H68 2012.
Elizabeth Hubbell and Macklyn Hubbell. Eating Up & Down the Delta (MacBet, 2006). Mississippi Delta restaurants. Call Number: TX907.3 M72 H83 2006.
Hush Yer Mouth, This Is It: A Collection of Recipes by Deke's Bar-b-que, 107 County Road 207, Oxford, Mississippi 38655, Catering Parties 5-500, Homemade Cakes by Stella (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2001). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 H8 2001.
Pableaux Johnson. Eating New Orleans: From French Quarter Creole Dining to the Perfect Poboy: More than 100 Essential Louisiana Eating & Drinking Experiences (Woodstock, VT: Countryman Press, 2005). Call Number: TX715.2 L68 J62 2005.
Kappa Alpha Theta, Epsilon Zeta Cookbook (2012). University of Mississippi sorority cookbook. Call Number: TX715 K36 2012.
Stella La Violette and Paul Estronza La Violette. Blueberry Peaches, Red Robin Pie: An Annotated Cookbook of Mississippi Gulf Coast Recipes (Waveland, MS: Annabelle Pub., 2001). Call Number: TX714 L385 2001.
Anne Sinkler Whaley LeClercq. An Antebellum Plantation Household: Including the South Carolina Low Country Receipts and Remedies of Emily Wharton Sinkler (Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 2006). Originally published in 1996, with new material added. Note: Includes press release from the University of South Carolina Press. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: F277 S28 L4 2006.
Mailbox Muffins: And Other Recipes from the Gulf Coast Homeless (Changing Lives Press, 2011). Mississippi Gulf Coast cookbook. Call Number: TX715 M35 2011.
Marshall County Historical Museum. Holly Springs, Mississippi: Architectural Treasures of Holly Springs, Mississippi with Suggestions from Her Kitchens (Florence, MS: Stephens Printing, 2002). Call Number: F349 H79 H65 2002.
Marshall County Historical Museum. Windows to Holly Springs History and Her Culinary Delights (Florence, MS: Stephens Printing, 2003). Call Number: F349 H79 W56 2003.
George Mayer. The Ideal Guide to Vicksburg and the River Region: Including Wonderful Recipes from Local Restaurants and Others (Vicksburg, MS: George Mayer Publisher, 2000). Call Number: F349 V6 M37 2000.
Gwen McKee and Barbara Mosley. Beyond Grits and Gravy: The South's All-Time Favorite Recipes (Brandon, MS: Quail Ridge Press, 2004). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 M334 2004.
McComb Junior Auxiliary. The Dinah: A Collection of Recipes (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2003). McComb, Mississippi. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 D565 2003.
Gayden Metcalfe. Somebody Is Going to Die if Lilly Beth Doesn't Catch that Bouquet: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Wedding (New York: Hyperion, 2007). Includes recipes. Call Number: HQ745 M635 2007.
Mississippi Federation of Women's Clubs. From GFWC/MFWC Florentine Clubs, Florence, Mississippi (Lenexa, KA: Cookbook Publishers, [2005]). Call Number: TX715 F859 2005.
Joan Nathan. The New American Cooking: 280 Recipes Full of Delectable New Flavors from Around the World as well as Fresh Ways with Old Favorites (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2005). Inscribed to John T. Edge by author. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715 N28 2005.
Moreton Neal. Remembering Bill Neal: Favorite Recipes from a Life in Cooking (Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2004). Foreword by John T. Edge. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 N43 2004.
Lucy Norris. Pickled Vegetables, Fruits, Roots, More: Preserving a World of Tastes and Traditions (New York: Stewart, Tabroi & Chang, 2003). Call Number: TX805 N67 2003.
Russ Parsons. How to Read a French Fry and Other Stories of Intriguing Kitchen Science, with More than 100 Recipes (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2001). Inscribed by author. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX651 P36 2001.
Alice Randall. Soul Food Love: Healthy Recipes Inspired by One Hundred Years of Cooking in a Black Family (New York: Clarkson Potter/Publishers, [2015]). Exploration of a family's history with food and a compilation of new recipes. Call Number: TX715 R2136 2015.
Recipes from the Heart: A Collection of Recipes Brought to You by Salt Lick Freewill Baptist Ladies Circle, Salt Lick, Kentucky (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2011). Call Number: TX715 R297 2011.
Keetha DePriest Reed. Culinary Kudzu: Recollections and Recipes from Growing Up Southern (Inverness, MS: Pecan Street Press, 2002). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 R44 2002.
Lari Robling. Endangered Recipes: Too Good to Be Forgotten (New York: Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2003). Inscribed to John T. Edge by author. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX715 R6543 2003.
Sandra Simpson, ed. From Soup to Grits, The South's Greatest Hits: A Cookbook for Southerners at Heart, at Home, and in Exile (Birmingham, AL: 2010). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 F76 2010.
Bill Smith. Seasoned in the South: Recipes from Crook's Corner and from Home (Chapel Hill, NC: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2005). Advance uncorrected proof. Author is a North Carolina restaurant chef. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 S58 2005b.
Constance Snow. Gulf Coast Kitchens: Bright Flavors from Key West and the Yucatan (New York: Clarkson Potter, 2003). Call Number: TX714 S598 2003.
Robert St. John. New South Grilling: Fresh and Exciting Recipes from the Third Coast (New York: Hyperion, 2007). Mississippi Gulf Coast cookbook. Advance uncorrected proof. Call Number: TX840 B3 S245 2007b.
Robert St. John. A Southern Palate: Contemporary Seasonal Southern Cuisine from the Purple Parrot Cafe and Crescent City Grill (Hattiesburg, MS: Different Drummer Press, 2002). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 S82 2002.
Robert St. John. Southern Seasons: Contemporary Regional Cuisine (Hattiesburg: Different Drummer Press, 2007). Call Number: TX715.2 S68 S822 2007 OVRS.
Lois Swaney. History of Byhalia and Southeast Marshall County and Recipes from Dixie Divas Delicious Delights ([Holly Springs, MS: Marshall County Historical Museum, 2006]). Call Number: F349 B94 S93 2006.
Lois Swaney. History of Southeastern Marshall County & Delicious Dishes of Days Gone By ([Holly Springs, MS]: Marshall County Historical Museum, 2004). Call Number: F347 M3 S93 2004.
University of Mississippi. Department of Nutrition and Hospitality Management. Are You Ready?: 100 Years of Family, Friends, and Food ([Memphis, TN]: Wimmer Cookbooks, 2013). Call Number: TX715 A74 2013.
Alexe Van Beuren. The B.T.C. Old-Fashioned Grocery Cookbook (New York: Clarkson Potter/Publishers [2014]). Water Valley, Mississippi restaurant and recipes. Call Number: TX715.2 S68 V35 2014.
William Woys Weaver. Country Scrapple: An American Tradition (Mechanicsburg, PA: Stackpole Books, 2003). Inscribed by the author. From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX749 W36 2003.
Dean Faulkner Wells. The New Great American Writers Cookbook (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2003). Foreword by Mississippi author Julia Reed. Call Number: TX715 N5217 2003.
Windy Wilkinson and Donna Lee. Morgan Freeman & Friends: Caribbean Cooking for a Cause (Emmaus, PA: Hotzbrinck Publishers, 2006). Introduction by Mississippi actor Morgan Freeman. Call Number: TX716 A1 W55 2006.
Nancy Tregre Wilson. Louisiana’s Italians, Food, Recipes, & Folkways (Gretna, LA: Pelican Publishing Company, 2005). From the John T. Edge Collection. Call Number: TX723 W59 2005.
Winona Church of God (Miss.). Women's Ministries. Cooking on the Hill, II: A Collection of Recipes (Kearney, NE: Morris Press Cookbooks, 2010). Call Number: TX715 C66 2010.
Yoknapatawpha Arts Council. Square Table: A Collection of Recipes from Oxford, Mississippi ([Memphis, TN]: Wimmer Cookbooks, 2005). Call Number: TX715 S89 2005.
Archives and Special Collections
J.D. Williams Library
P.O. Box 1848
University MS, 38655
Phone: (662) 915-1595
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Additional cookbooks and individual recipes are also available within the Archives & Special Collections -- check out the Manuscript Collections page of this subject guide. Cookbooks specifically related to Blues music will appear in the Publications box on the Blues and Other Music page of this subject guide.
The main stacks of the J.D. Williams Library will also contain cookbooks. Explore the volumes found in the "TX" call number area or conduct an advanced search of the library catalog. Limit the location to "Main Library," and use keyword terms such as "cooking," "recipes," and "cookbook."
Departments and agencies of the federal government have published numerous cookbooks throughout the years. Conduct an advanced search of the library catalog by limiting the location to "Government Documents" and using keyword terms such as "cooking," "cook book," "recipes," and "cookbook."
Departments and agencies within the Mississippi government have created a few cookbooks. Conduct an advanced search of the library catalog by limiting the location to "State Documents" and using the keyword terms "cooking" and "recipes."
The Archives & Special Collections has obtained most of its holdings through generous gifts. Our collection of cookbooks has benefited greatly from three particular donors:
To fulfill its mission of documenting, studying, and celebrating the diverse food cultures of the changing American South, the Southern Foodways Alliance has collected a number of the region's cookbooks dating largely from the late twentieth and early twenty-first century. The organization has then transferred these volumes to the archives in order to share them with researchers and the general public.
Hubert McCormick owned the legendary McCormick Book Inn in Greenville, Mississippi which opened for business in 1965 and focused on volumes related to the Delta. When the store closed in 2011, McCormick subsequently donated part of its contents and his own personal book collection.
Author of novels, short stories, essays, and television scripts, visiting University of Mississippi professor Chris Offutt has won awards from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. A past contributor of a lighthearted food column in the Oxford American magazine, he donated his personal collection of often off-beat cookbooks to the Archives & Special Collections.
If you wish to see a listing of one of these specific collections, conduct an advanced library catalog search by typing the donor's name into the "Author" field and limit the location to the "Archives and Special Collections."
