Library Guides: Collection Management: Significant Collection Additions

Page Introduction

This page lists all significant additions to the UM Libraries' collection. We may have also added resources (e.g., individual journals, monographs). You can consult with your liaison about any recently subscribed journals and monographs.

There are three ways resources are added to the general library collection:

Subscription - ongoing annual cost in order to maintain access
One-time purchase with annual fee - requires a relatively small fee for annual updates and/or platform maintenance
One-time purchase with no annual fees - no additional costs required by UM Libraries

All three acquisition methods are included, and indicated, on this page.

If you would like to suggest a purchase, please contact your subject librarian or Brian Young (bwyoung@olemiss.edu)

ProQuest Product Suite

As part of a subscription model that allows University of Mississippi users expanded access to ProQuest products, we have added subscription access to three additional primary source databases.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The British Periodicals Collection database provides access to periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO and AFL-CIO This link opens in a new window
Unique, important documentation on the growth and transformation of four major labor organizations takes history, business and other research topics in exciting new directions.
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies is organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and themes, bringing together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, training materials and artistic works.
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933 This link opens in a new window
Contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States.

As part of the same model, UM Libraries has also added perpetual (permanent) access to these databases:

National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Note: perpetual access is only for Collection #1 in PAO.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. * 6-month embargo on new issues.

Gale Primary Source Databases

UM Libraries has initiated an evidence-based acquisition (EBA) model with GALE for 30 databases. Under this model, we will have 2-year access to the databases listed here, and then each year select a small number for perpetual (permanent) access. The program will be re-evaluated at the end of two years to determine whether to renew.

British Library Newspapers, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. The library provides access to titles included in Parts I and II.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of the week's events and has long been a leading magazine for business and political leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, journalists, and other influential people throughout the world. Its back issues are made accessible through The Economist Historical Archive and serve as key witnesses to the economic and political history of the last 170 years. They provide a unique, unbiased analysis of major world events, facilitate the comparison of economic trends across continents and centuries, and offer an ideal historical resource for cutting-edge ideas in an easily digestible form.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. . In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The content in the Nineteenth Century Collections Online is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. The library has access to eight collections:

Asia and the West
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music, and Literature
Europe and Africa, Colonialisms and Cultures
Children's Literature and Childhood
Religion, Reform, and Society
European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840
Women: Transnational Networks
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The nineteenth century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world’s first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. The Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals series covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the nineteenth century world.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The archive contains four collections:

The Age of Emancipation
Debates over Slavery and Abolition
The Institution of Slavery
Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century Government in Britain and Europe, 1714-1782 This link opens in a new window
Published in four parts, State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century Government in Britain and Europe covers seventy years of British and European history. The state papers include one domestic part: Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council. And three foreign parts, including: Low Countries and Germany; Western Europe; and Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe, 1509-1714 This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.
State Papers Online: The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle This link opens in a new window
Brings together two distinct but historically related collections: The Stuart Papers, the papers of the exiled James II, and VII in Scotland, and his heirs; and the Cumberland Papers, the papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, second son of George II and military commander of the British Army.

SAGE Premier (3-year contract)

SAGE Premier is a collection of 1100+ SAGE journals, to which we now have access. This is an upgrade from our previous SAGE journal holdings (around 75).

Click here to access SAGE Premier

Link to Title List

CQ: Voting and Elections Collection (1-year subscription)

"CQ: Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.

The Collection supports course work in campaigns and elections, Congress, and the presidency, including the Advanced Placement course in American Government and Politics and scholarly research in political science and American history."

Note: UM Libraries will evaluate this resource annually to determine whether to retain. If you use this resource and find it useful, please feel free to email Brian Young (bwyoung@olemiss.edu) to indicate your interest in us retaining this resource.

Click here to access CQ: Voting and Elections Collection

Adam Matthew Databases (pre-2017)

UM Libraries gained access to a suite of Adam Matthew databases via a promotional offer provided to ASERL libraries. Through this offer, we now have access to 77 databases (mostly primary source materials).

List of Databases

ProQuest Product Suite

The ProQuest Product Suite is a collection of resources from ProQuest that includes primary source databases, dissertations/theses, e-books, streaming video, and articles databases.

We have added these products to address expressed needs, which include the items above:

primary source databases - frequently requested by faculty
historical newspapers - frequently requested by faculty
streaming video - growing interest among users
dissertations/theses- frequently requested, but unfortunately often unavailable, through interlibrary loan

Due to the number of resources, they are listed beneath this rather than in-line as the other resources on this page.

The library has committed to retaining all of the resources listed below for 2 years, and will strive to continue longer if there is clear, continued interest. We are interested in partnering with stakeholders on campus who can provide funding to help sustain this collection.

For each year we subscribe to this product suite, the library will be able to add approximately 2 databases each year to our permanent collection.

Academic Video Online @ Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to more than 63,000 videos. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
African American Police League Records, 1961-1988 This link opens in a new window
Documents how African American policemen in Chicago, beginning in 1968, attempted to fight against discrimination and police brutality by the Chicago Police Department and to improve relations between African Americans and police. Researchers will find a wealth of resources from the African American Police League, including annual reports, court files, meeting minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files, newsletters, police brutality files, and publications and flyers covering the work of the AAPL and its education and action arm, the League to Improve the Community.
African Diaspora, 1860-Present This link opens in a new window
African Diaspora, 1860-present brings African diasporic communities to life through never-before digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The product includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 This link opens in a new window
Consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration.
Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984 This link opens in a new window
As the only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The Atlanta Constitution provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2010 This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Daily World had the first black White House correspondent and was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers, for the first time online, more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
This extraordinary, primary source collection is the first to comprehensively detail the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.
Black Drama: Third Edition This link opens in a new window
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Note: We added two additional modules to this collection: Organizational Records and Personal Papers & Federal Government Records
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Chinese Newspaper Collection, 1832-1953 This link opens in a new window
This collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers, which offers coverage of 1832-1953, provides valuable insight into political and social life of China during this turbulent 120-year period in modern Chinese history. Advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads are also included in the resource, as they illuminate as much history as the articles.
Christian Science Monitor, 1908-2011 This link opens in a new window
The Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
Cleveland Call & Post, 1934-1991 This link opens in a new window
The Cleveland Call & Post promoted participation in politics, urged the establishment of legal aid societies by the African-American community, and encouraged black solidarity and self-reliance.
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army This link opens in a new window
The Confederate Army records consist of Confederate Military Manuscripts sourced from the holdings of Virginia Historical Society; the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University; the Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin; and the University of Virginia. The collections in the Confederate Military Manuscripts cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience, while also offering glimpses of life on the home front. Several previously unpublished collections of records of the Union Army are also integral to this module. Highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton; records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.
Detroit Free Press, 1831-1999 This link opens in a new window
This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition. First U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony. It sent reporters to Civil War battlefields to describe the action, set up a Washington bureau to report on politics, and was the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881.
Digital National Security Archive‎ This link opens in a new window
The Digital National Security Archive consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Complete is a collection of around 150,000 multidisciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972 This link opens in a new window
Under the leadership of J. Edgar Hoover, the FBI vigorously investigated and tracked the activities of Communist groups, Communist-front groups, and other radical organizations in the U.S. This database consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972.
Guardian, 1791-2003 This link opens in a new window
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Some publications may contain explicit content.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 This link opens in a new window
From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans not to “spend your money where you can’t work,” the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community.
Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents This link opens in a new window
Margaret Sanger (1879-1966) was the principal founder and lifelong leader of the American and the international birth control movements. The Margaret Sanger Papers covers every aspect of the birth control movement, including the movement’s changing ideologies, its campaign for legitimacy and its internal conflicts and organizational growth. These papers also provide significant insight on the history of changing attitudes towards women’s roles and sexuality, and have significant research value to the fields of women’s history, social and intellectual history, medicine and public health, religion, and world economic development, among others.
Nashville Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
The Nashville Tennessean(1812-2002) provides unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. This diverse, easily-accessible primary source material is an invaluable tool for effective research by users in almost any field.
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
The New York Amsterdam News captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. Today, the New York Amsterdam News continues to deliver local, national, and international stories of interest to its multicultural readership.
Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1916-2003 This link opens in a new window
The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

UM Libraries has access to Collections 1, 4, 7, and 8.
Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001 This link opens in a new window
The oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the U.S., The Philadelphia Tribune was founded by Christopher James Perry. His paper conveyed ideas and opinions about local and national issues affecting blacks in the post-emancipation period, and today continues to serve the country’s fourth largest African-American community.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War This link opens in a new window
From heart-wrenching personal letters to bills of lading for office supplies, this database offers remarkable insight into the early Reconstruction period in the American South. The correspondence of the U.S. Army’s Office of Civil Affairs reveal efforts to foster democracy and rebuild communities in the divided and war-torn former Confederate states.
Revolutionary War and Early America: Collection from the Massachusetts Historical Society, 1721-1860 This link opens in a new window
This database on one of the most-studied periods in American history consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana.
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries This link opens in a new window
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries presents some of the richest, most valuable, and most complete collections in the entire documentary record of American slavery, focusing on the industrial uses of slave labor. The materials selected include company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income. The work ledgers in these collections record slave earnings and expenditures and provide extraordinary insight into slave life. The collections document slavery in such enterprises as gold, silver, copper, and lead mining; iron manufacturing, machine shop work, lumbering, quarrying, brickmaking, tobacco manufacturing, shipbuilding, and heavy construction; and building of railroads and canals.
Southern Life and African American History: Plantation Records, 1775-1915 This link opens in a new window
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries presents some of the richest, most valuable, and most complete collections in the entire documentary record of American slavery, focusing on the industrial uses of slave labor. The materials selected include company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income. The work ledgers in these collections record slave earnings and expenditures and provide extraordinary insight into slave life.
St. Petersburg Times, 1901-2009 This link opens in a new window
A progressive voice on Florida's conservative west coast, the Tampa Bay Times is one of the top 10 newspapers in the United States. Known as the St. Petersburg Times until 2012, this publication is owned by the Poynter Institute for Media Studies, a non-profit school of journalism. This unique ownership structure ensures the newspaper’s independent voice and makes it an invaluable resource n the study of journal and philanthropy.
Struggle for Women's Rights: Organizational Records, 1880-1990 This link opens in a new window
As the movement for women’s suffrage in America was accelerating, the National Woman’s Party (NWP) brought to the campaign a new militancy and daring. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics.
Times of India, 1838-2011 This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE); an international selection of English-language editions of key authors; and a selection of the papers of Reinhold Niebuhr. This collection is complete with over 170,000 pages of printed works and primary sources.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
U.S. Serial Set and Maps Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Congressional documents and reports from 1789-1969. Formerly LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set and Maps Digital Collection.

Note: Expanded access
Underground and Independent Comics This link opens in a new window
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels consists of two volumes and is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Women's Studies Manuscripts Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights This link opens in a new window
This valuable collection of materials from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College tells the story of the fight for voting rights for women at the national, regional, and local levels. The papers of key national leaders like Julia Ward Howe, Anna Howard Shaw, and Matilda Gage are included. Equally important are the papers of lesser known state and local leaders like Catharine Waugh McCulloch of Illinois, Olympia Brown of Wisconsin, and Nellie Nugent Somerville of Mississippi. In addition to the Voting Rights papers, this module also includes records on women involved in national politics, like Mary Dewson and Jeannette B. Rankin. Finally, the last piece of this module is records from the Schlesinger Library’s family planning oral history project and records of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. * 6-month embargo on new issues.
Women and Social Movements: International, 1840-Present This link opens in a new window
This digital archive includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps This link opens in a new window
This database contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women’s Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps. Primary sources document a wide range of issues pertinent to women during this time of turbulent change, including studies on the treatment of women by unions in several midwestern industrial centers, and the influx of women to industrial centers during the war. Topics covered in records and correspondence include women’s work in war industries, pivotal issues like equal pay, childcare and race, and extensive documentation on the women who joined and served in the Women’s Army Corps as WACs.
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records This link opens in a new window
This database consists of a wide range of collections documenting the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with a special emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government.

Access World News

Access World News is a subscription resource, which requires UM Libraries to pay annually to retain access.

Description from Newsbank:

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. It also includes newswire, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts, and more.

Click here to access Access World News.

JoVE Unlimited

JoVE Unlimited is a subscription resource, which requires UM Libraries to pay annually to retain access.

Description from JoVE:

A single license that encompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. JoVE Unlimited subscribers gain access to all new content as it is released.

Click here to access JoVE.

MarinLit

MarinLit was acquired via a one-time purchase, which means UM Libraries will have access perpetually with only a small annual fee.

Description from MarinLit:

MarinLit is a database dedicated to marine natural products research. The database was established in the 1970s by Professors John Blunt and Murray Munro at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. It was designed as an in-house system to fulfil the needs of the University of Canterbury Marine Group and has evolved to contain unique searchable features and powerful dereplication tools. The extremely comprehensive range of data contained along with these powerful features makes MarinLit the database of choice for marine natural products researchers.

Click here to access MarinLit.

American Periodical Series

American Periodical Series was acquired via a one-time purchase, which means UM Libraries will have access perpetually with only a small annual fee.

Description from Proquest:

American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Amerian Periodical Series chronicles the development of America across over 150 years (1740 - 1900).

Click here to access American Periodical Series.

Sage Research Methods Core Collection

Sage Research Methods was acquired via a one-time purchase, which means UM Libraries will have access perpetually with only a small annual fee.

Description from Sage:

SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books and reference works by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Click here to access Sage Research Methods.

Note: We will also have 1-year access to all other parts (i.e., videos, datasets, cases, etc.) of the Sage Research Methods Collection. (this was cancelled for FY21)

Annual Reviews Backfile

The Annual Reviews backfile was acquired via a one-time purchase, which means UM Libraries will have access perpetually with no additional costs.

Description from Annual Reviews:

Annual Reviews offers a comprehensive online collection of back volume content spanning the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences dating back to the very first volume of the Annual Review of Biochemistry in 1932.

Click here to access the Annual Reviews Backfile/Archive.

Royal Society of Chemistry Backfile

Description from Annual Reviews:

Our Journals Archive gives researchers access to more than 166 years of chemistry research and contains all articles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (and its forerunner societies) from 1841 to 2007.

Click here to access the Royal Society of Chemistry Backfile.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style is a subscription resource, which requires UM Libraries to pay annually to retain access.

Description from Chicago Manual of Style Online:

The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.

Click here to access the Chicago Manual of Style Online.

Search Guides

Collection Management