Library Guides: Collection Management: FY22 (2021-2022) Additions

Significant Additions by Year

2022

ProQuest Product Suite

As part of a subscription model that allows University of Mississippi users expanded access to ProQuest products, we have added subscription access to four additional primary source databases.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The British Periodicals Collection database provides access to periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO This link opens in a new window
Unique, important documentation on the growth and transformation of four major labor organizations takes history, business and other research topics in exciting new directions.
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies is organized around a selection of key historical and contemporary events and themes, bringing together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, training materials and artistic works.
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933 This link opens in a new window
Contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States.

As part of the same model, UM Libraries has also added perpetual (permanent) access to these databases:

National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

UM Libraries has access to Collections 1, 4, 7, and 8.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. * 6-month embargo on new issues.

Gale Primary Source Databases

UM Libraries has initiated an evidence-based acquisition (EBA) model with GALE for 30 databases. Under this model, we will have 2-year access to the databases listed here, and then each year select a small number for perpetual (permanent) access. The program will be re-evaluated at the end of two years to determine whether to renew.

British Library Newspapers (1800-1900) This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. The library provides access to titles included in Parts I and II.
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2015), The This link opens in a new window
The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of the week's events and has long been a leading magazine for business and political leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, journalists, and other influential people throughout the world. Its back issues are made accessible through The Economist Historical Archive and serve as key witnesses to the economic and political history of the last 170 years. They provide a unique, unbiased analysis of major world events, facilitate the comparison of economic trends across continents and centuries, and offer an ideal historical resource for cutting-edge ideas in an easily digestible form.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
Listener Historical Archive (1929-1991), The This link opens in a new window
The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. . In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The content in the Nineteenth Century Collections Online is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. The library has access to eight collections:

Asia and the West
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music, and Literature
Europe and Africa, Colonialisms and Cultures
Children's Literature and Childhood
Religion, Reform, and Society
European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840
Women: Transnational Networks
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The nineteenth century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world’s first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. The Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals series covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the nineteenth century world.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The archive contains four collections:

The Age of Emancipation
Debates over Slavery and Abolition
The Institution of Slavery
Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century Government in Britain and Europe (1714-1782) This link opens in a new window
Published in four parts, State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century Government in Britain and Europe covers seventy years of British and European history. The state papers include one domestic part: Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council. And three foreign parts, including: Low Countries and Germany; Western Europe; and Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe (1509-1714) This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.
State Papers Online: The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle This link opens in a new window
Brings together two distinct but historically related collections: The Stuart Papers, the papers of the exiled James II, and VII in Scotland, and his heirs; and the Cumberland Papers, the papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, second son of George II and military commander of the British Army.

Search Guides

Collection Management

Significant Additions by Year