Library Guides: Collection Management: FY23 (2022-2023) Additions

Significant Additions by Year

2023

ProQuest Product Suite

As part of a subscription model that allows University of Mississippi users expanded access to ProQuest products, we have added subscription access to seven additional primary source databases.

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850.
Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time and covers 1881-2014.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 - 2015.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

UM Libraries has access to Collections 1, 4, 7, and 8.
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019 This link opens in a new window
Examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale to highlight and evaluate activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.

Ancestry.com

The library is providing 2-year access to Ancestry.com, and we will evaluate the long-term potential for retaining the resource in June 2024. Please contact Brian Young (bwyoung@olemiss.edu) with any feedback.

Ancestry.com Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry.com Library Edition provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, plus local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s.

Newspapers.com

The library is providing 2-year access to newspapers.com, and we will evaluate the long-term potential for retaining the resource in June 2024. Please contact Brian Young (bwyoung@olemiss.edu) with any feedback.

Newspapers.com Worldwide Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Newsbank Resources

Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Gain multiple perspectives on the people, issues, and events that shaped and continue to influence our understanding of the Hispanic American experience.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes America’s ongoing conversation on race and historic changes; such as Barack Obama’s election, the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
Cannabis NewsHub Research Edition This link opens in a new window
Quick, easy access to industry news, information and archives

Gale Resources

Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

Note: Part II added 4/1/2023

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press Journal Expansion

As part of a new agreement with Oxford University Press, UM gains access to an additional 213 journals. We should now have access to their entire journal list.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

EBSCO Resources

Forbes Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Forbes Magazine Archive is a fully searchable full-text archive providing analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.

Search Guides

Collection Management

Significant Additions by Year

Newsbank Resources

Gale Resources

Oxford University Press

EBSCO Resources