EDSE 636: History and Nature of Science
More Library Resources
-
Interlibrary LoanUse ILL for FREE to request any article or book that UM Libraries does not own. Articles are always in PDF form, sent within 24-48 hours. Books (especially print) may take up to 2 weeks.
-
Library WorkshopsJoin us! Most workshops require registration.
-
UM Graduate Student ResourcesNeed a study carrel? Find out all of the library privileges offered to grad students.
-
IDEALab - Your MakerspaceContact the IDEALab (located on the 1st floor of the library) to set up a 3D print, poster print, borrow a MacBook, use our VR, make buttons, and more.
-
Blackboard Class: Library SkillsLog into Blackboard and enroll in our class: Library Skills. Filled with 7 critical thinking and information literacy self-paced modules and quizzes.
Course Texts
-
Everyday Practice of Science
by
Publication Date: 2008 -
Just a Theory
by
Publication Date: 2005 -
Science Stories
by
Publication Date: 2012
Books on Science Education
To find books relating to science education, try using the following Library of Congress Subject Headings, or a combination of keywords and subject terms, when browsing the library CATALOG for print and electronic books, government information, special collections, and other materials owned by the UM Libraries.
- Science -- Study and teaching [Q181-Q183.4]
- Science -- Study and teaching (Preschool)
- Science -- Study and teaching (Primary)
- Science -- Study and teaching (Early childhood) [LB1139.5.S35]
- Science -- Study and teaching (Elementary) [LB1585-LB1588]
- Science -- Study and teaching (Secondary)
- Science -- Study and teaching -- Research
- Science -- Study and teaching -- Standards
- Science teachers -- Training of
You may also want to browse our curriculum print holdings on the 1st floor of the J.D. Williams Library near the Juvenile Collection: Mississippi Curriculum Textbook Collection
Selected Websites for Science Education
-
Education.com Science ProjectsCreate a free account and download up to 3 grade-specific, detailed, step-by-step, science projects each month
-
EEK! Environmental Education for KidsAn interactive electronic online magazine for kids in grades 4-8.
-
EPA: Learning and Teaching about the EnvironmentSite for teachers. Information on environmental concepts, environmental curriculum, resources and activities, workshops and conferences.
-
Physics Resources for K-12Why Study Physics? Educational resources from the American Physical Society.
-
USGS EducationU.S. Geological Survey resources serving primary and secondary education. Repositories, Reports, publications, and maps.
More Education Guides
-
Educational Resources for K-12How to find print books and eBooks from our collections that include lesson plans, as well as a listing of K-12 databases.
-
Education (Archives)Includes primary sources from our collections for elementary and secondary education, including the Mississippi School Surveys in eGrove.
-
Education LibGuideIncludes information and resources for searching data, statistics, scales and measures.
Supplemental Course Texts
Mississippi Department of Education. (2018). Mississippi College- and Career- Readiness Standards for Science. Available online: https://www.mdek12.org/sites/default/files/documents/Secondary%20Ed/2018-ms_ccrs---sci_k-12_final_20171006.pdf
National Research Council. (2012). Next Generation Science Framework. Washington DC: National Academy Press. Available online: http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=13165
NGSS Lead States. (2013). Next Generation Science Standards: For states, by states. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. Available online: http://www.nextgenscience.org/