Skip to Main Content

Education (Archives): Home

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections material identified in this subject guide focus primarily on the state of Mississippi educational system.

Researchers interested in the University of Mississippi should consult the University of Mississippi Subject Guide. Those interested in the University of Mississippi Medical School or other medical educational topics should consult the Health Subject Guide. The Business & Accounting Subject Guide includes a list of "Rare Volumes" with a large number of mathematical and accounting textbooks from the fifteenth century to the twentieth.

Related Links:

Digital Collections

Piney Woods School Digital Collection

Mississippi Education Digital Collection

John Elon Phay Digital Collection - Contains images of segregated Mississippi public school systems during the 1940s and 1950.

Mississippi State Textbook Purchasing Board Minutes Digital Collection

Online Exhibits

Segregation through the Lens: African American Schools in Mississippi before Integration

We Cannot Walk Alone: Images and History of the African-American Community in Lafayette County, Mississippi. Includes a section on education.

Selections from "1975-2000: A Silver Anniversary Exhibition." Includes 1859 sheet music with an illustration of Calhoun Female Institute in Macon, Mississippi on the cover.

Other Campus Resources

For assistance with non-archival resources, see the main library's Education and Higher Education guides.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)

Librarian Contact

Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist and Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu

The John Elon Phay Collection