Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 
Skip to Main Content

Artstor: Find & Save Images

General Tips for Searching in Artstor

There are three ways to find images in Artstor:

1. Keyword and filtered search

2. Advanced search

3. Browse by geography, classification, or collection

Searching: Keyword

Artstor users can perform keyword searches from the front page of the Digital Library or from within the results pages by entering terms in the search box.

A few tips for searching:

1. Consider using Boolean phrases to better retrieve desired search results.

1a. For example, use quotations [" "] around a phrase to return an exact result.

1b. Separate desired phrases by a comma. For example, searching for ["Latin American art", Peru, colonial] will return more results than a simple search.

2. Ask your librarian for help finding images by keyword search or use the advanced search described below.

Searching: Advanced

To conduct more specific searches use the Advanced Search feature. This is available on the front page of the Artstor Digital Library or from the Artstor navigation menu, select Find > Advanced Search. Options include:

  • Keywords: All fields, Title only, Creator [i.e. Artist(s)] only
  • Date ranges
  • Geography: Region or Country (i.e. country of birth or origin)
  • Collection type (i.e. public institutions, private collections, Artstor's digital collections)
  • Classification terms
  • And many more! See below.

Browsing

Browsing is available from the front page of the Artstor Digital Library or from the menu option Advanced Search> Browse Artstor. To access sub-categories, use the selections available from the Advanced Search page in the right-hand search bar.

Browse options include:

1. Browse by Classification

  • Select from Artstor's defined classification terms, such as media type or subject area

2. Browse by Geography

  • Select from the geographic area(s) available in the dropdown menu

3. Browse by Collection, available on the dropdown menu under Browse and in the Advanced Search feature: 

  • Artstor Collections
    • Collections managed by Artstor
  • Institutional Collections
    • Collections available from the University of Mississippi
  • Public Collections
    • Anyone may access these collections even if they do not have an Artstor login
  • Private Collections
    • Private collections from other institutions
  • Image Groups (groups of images created by Artstor, other users at your institution, and you)