Search Guides
EDCI 209: Foundations of American Education
Librarian
Library Resources
Use ILL for FREE to request any article or book that UM Libraries does not own. Articles are always in PDF form, sent within 24-48 hours. Books (especially print) may take up to 2 weeks.
Join us! Most workshops require registration.
Contact the IDEALab (located on the 1st floor of the library) to set up a 3D print, poster print, borrow a MacBook, make buttons, and more.
Browzine
-
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.
Class Texts
-
Education, Society, and the K-12 LearnerCourse Textbook on eGrove
History and Evolution of Public Education in the United States
More Education Library Guides
- Educational Resources for K-12
How to find print books and eBooks from our collections that include lesson plans, as well as a listing of K-12 databases.
- Education (Archives)
Includes primary sources from our collections for elementary and secondary education, including the Mississippi School Surveys in eGrove.
- Education LibGuide
Includes information and resources for searching data, statistics, scales and measures.
Databases for Finding Articles
-
Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries.
-
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
ERIC (via Institute of Education Sciences) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
-
Tips for Searching ERICfrom VCU Libraries.
-
One Search This link opens in a new windowUnified discovery service that searches the library catalog, article databases, electronic resources, digital collections and more from one search box.
-
Primary Search This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals
Citation Help
Examples for writing APA-style in-text citations, reference lists, and how to format an APA-style research paper.
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner.
- Zotero
Zotero is great for collecting, organizing, and managing sources.