A.L. Blanks, Photographer, Vicksburg, Miss. [Vicksburg, MS: Vicksburg Foundatio for Historic Preservation, 1985]. Nineteenth-century photographs. Call Number: F349 V6 Z2 1985.
Artfirst: Mississippi Artists on the Move. University, MS: Department of Art. Special Collections has Spring 2000 issue. Call Number: N6530 M7 A7.
Timothy Dale Ables. The Memorial Windows of Church of the Holy Trinity. Vicksburg, MS: Church of the Holy Trinity, [1992]. Call Number: BX5990 A25 1992.
Walter Inglis Anderson. An Alphabet. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1984. Call Number: NE1336 A53 A4 1984 OVRS.
Walter Inglis Anderson. Birds. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1990. Call Number: N6537 A48 A4 1990.
Walter Anderson. Illustrations of Epic and Voyage. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2006. Call Number: NC975.5 A52 A4 2006.
Walter Anderson. Pelicans. San Francisco: Cadmus Editions, 2004. Call Number: N6537 A48 P45 2004.
Walter Anderson. The Walter Anderson Birthday Book. Jackson: Mississippi State Historical Museum, 1986. Call Number: N6537 A48 A53 1986.
Walter Anderson: Realizations of an Artist. Hurricane Pictures, 2005. DVD recording of documentary. Call Number: N6537 A48 R435 2005.
Walter Anderson. A Symphony of Animals. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1996. Call Number: N6337 A48 A4 1996 OVRS.
The Art of Theora Hamblett. University, MS: 1966. DVD recording of documentary. Call Number: ND237 H3 A78 2004.
Art Work of Mississippi. Chicago: Gravure Illustration Co., 1901. Nine parts. Call Number: F341 A77 1901.
René Paul Barilleaux, ed. Passionate Observer: Eudora Welty among Artists of the Thirties. Jackson: Mississippi Museum of Art, 2002. Call Number: TR647 W423 2002.
Hester Bess. The Secret World of Walter Anderson. Cambridge, MA: Candlewick Press, 2009. Juvenile literature on Gulf Coast, Mississippi artist. Call Number: N6537 A48 B37 2009.
Patti Carr Black. Art in Mississippi, 1720-1980. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1998. Call Number: N6530 M7 B63 1998 OVRS.
Patti Carr Black. Of Home and Family: Art in Nineteenth Century Mississippi: Mississippi Museum of Art, September 4 -- October 31, 1999. Exhibition. Call Number: N6530 M7 B635 1999.
Robert W. Blasberg. George E. Ohr and His Biloxi Art Pottery. Port Jervis, NY: J.W. Carpenter, 1973. Call Number: NK4210 O3 B4.
Roy A. Boe. The Panoramas of the Mississippi. [Mississippi State University, 1963]. Call Number: F353 B64 1963.
Peyton Boswell Jr. Modern American Painting. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1940. Includes profile of John McCrady and illustration of his "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot." Call Number: ND205 B6 1940.
J.D. Boyd. A Selective Collection of Paintings. [1970]. Self-taught artist was president of Alcorn A & M College in Mississippi. Call Number: ND237 B65 B69.
Corrie A. Campbell Carlton. "Museums in North Mississippi." M.Lib.Sc. essay; University of Mississippi, 1972. Call Number: Lib.Sci.Essay C1758.
Anne Carman. "Eudora Welty's Aesthetic Principle: The Mind of the Artist." Ph.D. dissertation; University of Missouri-Columbia, 1983. Call Number: PS3545 E537 Z623 1984.
Vernon Chadwick, ed. In Search of Elvis: Music, Race, Art, Religion. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997. Includes Roger Manley's "'It Ain't No Hound Dog, Maybe, But I Believe It's Some Kinda Critter Anyway': Elvis and Southern Self-Taught Art as Southern Storytelling." Proceedings of International Conference on Elvis Presley at the University of Mississippi in 1995. Call Number: ML420 P96 I5 1997 OVRS.
Garth Clark, et al. The Mad Potter of Biloxi: The Art and Life of George E. Ohr. New York: Abbeville Press, 1989. Call Number: NK4210 O42 C5 1989 OVRS.
Patrick K. DeJean. "A Wish, a Vision and Their Fulfillment." Paper on Theora Hamblett for Art History class at the University of Mississippi in 1962. Call Number: ND237 H3 D45 1962.
Mariea Caudill Dennison. "Art of the American South, 1915-1945: Picturing the Past, Portending Regionalism." Ph.D. dissertation; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2000. Subject matter includes Marie Hull. Call Number: N6520 D464 2000a.
Louis Dollarhide. Of Art and Artists: Selected Reviews of the Arts in Mississippi. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, [1981]. Call Number: NX510 M72 D6 OVRS.
Ellen Dugan. Picturing the South: 1860 to the Present: Photographers and Writers. Atlanta, GA: High Museum of Art, 1996. Includes Mississippians William Eggleston and Birney Imes as well as other images of Mississippi. Call Number: F215 P56 1996 OVRS.
William R. Ferris. Afro-American Folk Arts and Crafts. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1983. Includes chapters on quilter Pecolia Warner, sculpture James "Son" Thomas, and folk sculpture from Parchman Penitentiary. Call Number: NK839.3 A35 T46 1990.
William R. Ferris. Local Color: A Sense of Place in Folk Art. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1982. Mississippi. Call Number: NK835 M7 F47 1982.
William R. Ferris. Vision in Afro-American Folk Art: The Sculpture of James Thomas. [Austin, TX]: American Folklore Society, 1975. Call Number: NB237 T476 F3.
Hosford Latimer Fontaine. Allison's Wells: The Last Mississippi Spa, 1889-1963. Jackson, MS: Muscadine Press, 1981. Art colony. Call Number: RA807 M72 A44 1981.
Four Women Artists. Memphis: Center for Southern Folklore, 1980. VHS recording of documentary on Eudora Welty, Pecolia Warner, Theora Hamblett, and Ethel Wright Mohamed. Call Number: N43 F68.
Donald Friedman. The Writer's Brush: Paintings, Drawings, and Scuplture by Writers. Minneapolis: Mid-List Press, 2007. Includes profile on William Faulkner. Call Number: N8356 A9 F75 2007.
Joan W. Gandy and Thomas H. Gandy. The Mississippi Steamboat Era in Historic Photographs: Natchez to New Orleans, 1870-1920. New York: Dover Publications, 1987. Call Number: VK24 M7 G36 1987.
Karekin Goekjian and Robert Peacock. Light of the Spirit: Portraits of Southern Outsider Artists. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1998. Includes Mississippi artist Burgess Dulaney, A.J. Mohammed, Sultan Rogers, and Earl Simmons. Call Number: N6520 G64 1998.
Greg Griffith, ed. Carousels Abound: The Carousel Horses of Meridian, Mississippi: A Project Benefiting Hope Village for Children. Brandon, MS: Quail Ridge Press, 2002. Community arts project. Call Number: NK5033 R38 2002.
John Hanners. "The Adventures of an Artist: John Banvard (1815-1891) and His Mississippi Panorama." Ph.D. dissertation; Michigan State University; 1979. Call Number: F341 B365 H35.
Eugene Hecht. No Two Alike: The Legacy of George E. Ohr, the Mad Potter of Biloxi. Biloxi, MS: George E. Ohr Arts & Cultural Center, 1994. Call Number: NK4210 O42 H43 1994.
Herbert Waide Hemphill. Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1974. Includes information on Mississippi artists Elijah Pierce and Theora Hamblett. Call Number: NK808 H38 1974 OVRS.
Jane Hollingsworth, ed. Hollingsworth: The Man, The Artist, and His Work. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1981. Call Number: N6537 H57 A2 1981.
Lothar Hönnighausen. William Faulkner: The Art of Stylization in His Early Graphic and Literary Work. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1987. Call Number: PS3511 A86 Z826 1987.
Anne H. Hoy. Annie on Camera: Nine Photographers -- William Eggleston, Mitch Epstein, Joel Meyerowitz, Jane O'Neal, Stephen Shore, Neal Slavin, Eric Staller, Robert Walker, Garry Winogrant. New York: Abbeville Press, 1982. Call Number: TR654 A56 1982.
Mary Elizabeth Johnson Huff and Carol Vickers. Threading the Generation: A Mississippi Family's Quilt Legacy. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2005. Call Number: TT835 J5855 2005.
Interior Images: The Influence of Prehistoric Cave Art in France on the Work of Walter Inglis Anderson. Ocean Springs, MS: Walter Anderson Museum of Art, 1996. Call Number: N6537 A48 A4 1996a.
The Islander: Ocean Springs Artist Walter Anderson. Mississippi Educational Television, 1977. VHS recording of documentary. Call Number: N6537 A48 I8.
Mary Elizabeth Johnson and Carol Vickers. Threading the Generations: A Mississippi Family's Quilt Legacy. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2005. Call Number: TT835 J5855 2005.
Donald M. Kartiganer and Ann J. Abadie, eds. Faulkner and the Artist. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1996. Call Number: PS3511 A86 Z78311265 1996.
Don Lee Keith. The World of Rolland Golden. New Orleans: Royal Pub. Co., 1970. Artist was a resident of Grenada, Mississippi and the subject matter of his work includes Mississippi. Call Number: ND237 G597 K45 1970.
Anne R. King. Walls of Light: The Murals of Walter Anderson. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1999. Call Number: ND237 A6426 A4 1999.
Jack Kotz. Ms. Booth's Garden. Jackson: Mississippi Museum of Art, 2002. Art photography. Call Number: TR655 K68 2002.
Made in Mississippi: Black Folk Art and Crafts. Memphis: Center for Southern Folklore, 1975. VHS recording of documentary. Call Number: NK835 M7 M33x 1975.
Christopher Maurer. Fortune's Favorite Child: The Uneasy Life of Walter Anderson. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2003. Call Number: N6537 A48 M38 2003.
Mississippi Arts & Letters. [Hattiesburg, MS: Persons Pub.]. Special Collections has 1983-1985 issues. Call Number: NX24 M7 M75.
Richard D. Mohr. Pottery, Politics, Art: George Ohr and the Brothers Kirkpatrick. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2003. Call Number: NK4210 O42 M64 2003.
Robert Kirkland Musil. "The Visual Imagination of William Faulkner." Thesis; Northwestern University; 1970. Call Number: PS3511 A86 Z9235.
New Southern Photography: Between Myth and Reality. New York: Aperture Foundation, 1989. Features Mississippians Birney Imes and William Eggleston. Call Number: TR1 A62 no.115.
Malcolm M. Norwood, et al. The Art of Marie Hull. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1975. Call Number: ND237 H84 N6 OVRS.
"O.N. Pruitt, Mississippi Photographer" in Illumination 11:1 (Spring 2007). Call Number: TR140 P79 O2 2007.
Don Mac Pace. "The Arts in Jackson, Mississippi: A History of the Theatre, Painting, Sculpture, and Music in the Mississippi Capital Since 1900." Ph.D. dissertation; University of Mississippi; 1976.
Painting in the South: Artists and Regional Heritage. University, MS: Center for the Study of Southern Culture, 1983. VHS recording of documentary. Call Number: ND220 P35 1983.
Lucile Parker. Mississippi Wildflowers. Grenta, LA: Pelican Pub. Co., 1981. Watercolor paintings. Call Number: QK169 P37.
Betsy Peterson. The Changing Faces of Tradition: A Report on the Folk Traditional Arts in the United States. Washington, DC: National Endowment for the Arts, [1996]. Includes Deborah Boykin's "Common Threads and Common Ground: Mississippi Cultural Crossroads." Call Number: N5313 P48 1996.
Roberta H. Phay. Miss Theora Hamblett, Primitive Artist of Oxford, Mississippi: Her Work. [196-]. Call Number: ND237 H3 P53 1960z.
Patricia Pinson, ed. The Art of Walter Anderson. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi and the Walter Anderson Museum of Art, 2003. Call Number: N6537 A48 A4 2003 OVRS.
William H. Poirier. Mississippi Artists. Hattiesburg, MS: Bureau of Educational Research, University of Southern Mississippi, 1977. Call Number: N6530 M7 P64.
William H. Poirier. "The Relationship Among Certain Cultural Factors and Artistic Judments of Tenth Grade Students in Selected Mississippi Schools." Thesis; University of Southern Mississippi; 1970. Call Number: N363 P6.
Jane W. Rabb, ed. Literature & Photography Interactions, 1840-1990: A Critical Anthology. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1995. Includes sections on William Faulkner, Richard Wright, and Eudora Welty. Call Number: PN6120.95 P42 L58 1995.
Perry Townsend Rathbone, ed. Mississippi Panorama: The Life and Landscape of the Father of Waters and Its Great Tributary, the Missouri: With 188 Illustrations of Paintings, Drawings Prints, Photographs, Bank Notes, River Boat Models, Steamboat Appurtenances, and the Dickeson-Egan Giant Moving Panorama of the Mississippi. [St Louis]: City Art Museum of St. Louis, 1950. Call Number: N5020 S325 1950.
James Register. Natchez Is My Name: Text, Views and Prologue Assembled by James Register; Views of Natchez by Artists (Early 1800's); Text of Natchez (1835) by Joseph Holt Ingraham. Shreveport, LA: Mid-South Press, 1978. Call Number: F349 N2 R4.
Bobby Leon Roberts and Carl Moneyhon. A Photographic History of Mississippi in the Civil War. Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 1993. Call Number: E516.9 R64 1993.
John Ray Skates. Mississippi Life: Past and Present. Jackson, MS: Magnolia Pub. Co., 1980. Textbook with chapter on "Creative and Performing Artists." Call Number: F341.3 S42 1980.
John Ray Skates. Mississippi Life: Past and Present. Jackson, MS: Magnolia Pub. Co., 1987. Textbook with chapter on "Creative and Performing Artists." Call Number: F341.3 S42 1987.
Sonny Ford, Delta Artist. [1969]. VHS recording of documentary on Son Thomas. Call Number: NB237 T476 S6.
Southern Exposure. Durham, NC: Institute for Southern Studies. Special Collections has a July/August 1983 issue with an article by Bill Ferris on "Mississippi Folk Artists. Call Number: F206 S643.
Vera Jacobs Speakes, comp. Mississippi Portraiture. Laurel, MS: National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Mississippi and the Lauren Rogers Museum of Art, 1987. Call Number: F340 M58 1987.
Hugh Ellis Stevens. "A Study of the Relationship between Types of Art Degree Programs Completed and the Employment Obtained by Art Graduates from State Four-Year Institutions of Higher Learning in Mississippi, 1970-1974." Thesis; University of Southern Mississippi; 1976. Call Number: N328 S84.
Redding S. Sugg. "John Faulkner's Vanishing South" in American Heritage 22:3 (April 1971). Call Number: E171 A43.
Redding S. Sugg. A Painter's Psalm: The Mural in Walter Anderson's Cottage. Memphis: Memphis State University Press, 1978. Call Number: ND237 A6426 S9.
Cantey Venable Sutton, ed. History of Art in Mississippi. Gulfport, MS: Dixie Press, 1929. Call Number: N6530 M7 S8.
Cynthia Grant Tucker. Kate Freeman Clark: A Painter Rediscovered. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, [1981]. Exhibition. Call Number: ND237 C555 T8.
Audrey Glassman Vernick. Bark & Tim: A True Story of Friendship Based on the Paintings of Tim Brown. Johnson City, TN: Overmountain Press, 2003. Juvenile literature based on drawing of a Mississippi folk artist. Call Number: ND237 B815 Ve 2003.
Charles Richard Waller. "An Integrated Discipline-Based Art Education Framework for Bramlett Elementary School, Oxford, Mississippi." Ph.D. dissertation; University of Mississippi, 1997.
Wyatt Waters. An Oxford Sketchbook. [Canada]: Tasting Color Pub., 2003. Mississippi watercolor artist. Call Number: F349 O9 W38 2003.
Wyatt Waters. Wyatt Waters: Painting Home. Jackson, MS: Water Press, 1998. Call Number: ND1839 W33 A42 1998.
Miriam Weems. Mostly Mississippi. Brandon, MS: Quail Ridge Press, 2007. Paintings. Call Number: ND237 W386 A4 2007.
Eudora Welty. On William Hollingsworth, Jr. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2002. Call Number: PS3545 E537 O48 2002.
Eudora Welty. One Time, One Place: Mississippi in the Depression: A Snapshot Album. New York: Random House, 1971. Call Number: PS3545 E537 O5.
Randall Shawn Wilhelm. "William Faulkner's Visual Art: Word and Image in the Early Graphic Work and the Major Fiction." Ph.D. dissertation; University of Tennessee, Knoxeville, 2002. Call Number: PS3511 A86 Z98536 2002.
Charles Reagan Wilson, ed. The Stained Glass Windows of St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Oxford, Mississippi. [Oxford, MS]: Nautilus Publishing Company, [2007]. Call Number: BX5980 O94 S73 2007.
Bet Wooten. "Theora Hamblett: Paintings" in Delta Review 2:5 (1965). Call Number: ND237 H258 W66 1965.
Alice Rae Yelen. Passionate Visions of the American South: Self-Taught Artists from 1940 to the Present. New Orleans Museum of Art, 1993. Includes Mississippi artists O.W. "Pappy" Kitchens, Elijah Pierce, Sultan Rogers, Mary T. Smith, Sarah Mary Taylor, James Henry "Son" Thomas, Willie White, and George Williams. Call Number: N6520 Y45 1993 OVRS.
Stephen Flinn Young. Earl's Art Shop: Building Art with Earl Simmons. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1995. Outsider art in Bovina, Mississippi. Call Number: N6537 S547 Y68 1995.
Stephen Flinn Young and Diana C. Young, eds. The Guild at Twenty-Five: A Portrait of the Craftsmen's Guild of Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1998. Call Number: NK11 C72 1998
