This list provides brief descriptions of collections with material related to the University of Mississippi.
Academic Council Minutes Collection. 1947-1979. Minutes and correspondence of the board of administrators at the University of Mississippi tasked with making decisions on academic issues. 6 boxes.
Academic Program Reviews Collection. 1981-1983. Includes information on the following schools and departments: Education, Law and Public Administration, Sciences, Business, Accounting, Economics, Music, Art, Theatre, Journalism, Classics, History, Political Science, Liberal Arts, Social Science, Southern Studies, English, Modern Languages, Social Work, Home Economics, Interior Design, Religion, Philosophy, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Communicative Disorders. 15 boxes.
Afro-American Studies Newsletter/The Vision Collection. 1989-1993. Eleven issues of the newsletter for the Afro-American Studies (now African-American Studies) program at the University of Mississippi. 1 box.
Alumni Association Minutes Collection. 1858-1976. 1 box.
American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Collection. 1949-1990. Membership, business reports, and other material related to the UM chapter of the AAUP. 7 boxes.
American Association of University Women (AAUW) Collection. 1899-2000. Correspondence, reports, and material of the Mississippi Division and individual chapters within the state, including six boxes of material from the Oxford branch. The AAUW is a national organization that promotes education and equity for women and girls. 122 boxes.
Artfirst Collection. 1995-1997. UM Art Department publications. 1 box.
Artifacts (UM) Collection. 1894-1990. Includes artifacts related to the university's history. 4 boxes.
Athletic Department Correspondence Collection. 1932-1937. 1 box.
Kathleen Baldwin Collection. Circa 1910s. Baldwin graduated from UM in 1915 with a Bachelor of Science degree and in 1917 with a Master of Arts degree. Contains several poems by her with UM themes that were used for school songs and hymns. 1 box.
Jeff Balfour Collection. Negatives of University of Mississippi photographs dated 1946-1948. 4 boxes. Note: The contents of this collection are stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must contact the Archives and Special Collections at least two business days in advance of their intended visit. 4 boxes.
F.A.P. Barnard Collection. 1834-2000. Publications by and material related to Frederick Augustus Porter Barnard, chancellor of UM from 1856 to 1861 and president of Columbia University. 2 boxes.
Barnard Observatory Oral History Collection. 1978. Audio reels and cassettes of oral history on Barnard Observatory with Will Lewis, Ann Abadie, Gordon Baird, and Vasser Bishop. 1 box.
Russell H. Barrett Collection. 1956-1974. A political science professor at UM from 1954 to 1976, Barrett was the author of Integration at Ole Miss (1965), and his collection consists primarily of documents, correspondence,clippings, and photographs relating to the 1962 riot and race relations on campus during the early 1970s. 12 boxes. Photographs from this collection are available online as part of the Integration of the University of Mississippi digital collection.
Dr. Frederick Robert Bernard Collection. 1855-1892. Born in Providence, Louisiana, in 1850 Bernard graduated from the University of Mississippi and received a medical degree from Tulane University. He returned home to Lake Providence to practice medicine. The collection contains correspondence, clippings, and ephemera. 1 box. Available online as a digital collection.
T.A. Bickerstaff Collection. 1934-1971. Material related to dedication of Hume Hall and UM football. Finding aid available in Special Collections. 1 box.
Marvin Black PR Collection. 1955-1962. Marvin Black was Director of Public Relations at UM. Contains articles and publications about UM. 3 boxes.
Board of Trustees Reports and Minutes Collection. 1848-1992. 15 boxes. The ledgers covering 1845 to 1897 are available online as a digital collection.
George W. Boswell Collection. Circa 1970s. Research files of George W. Boswell (1920-1995) a folklorist and professor of English at the University of Mississippi in the 1970s. Boswell's research interests included county folklore, folk customs, and folk music of Mississippi. 7 boxes.
Edward C. Boynton Collection. Circa 1856-1861. Glass plate negative images of UM campus. 4 boxes. Available online as a digital collection.
Richard C. Bridges Collection. 1861-1864. A student at UM in 1861, Richard C. Bridges became a Confederate soldier in the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company A known as "the University Greys." 1 box. Collection available as part of the Civil War Archive digital collection.
Buildings & Grounds Collection. 1907-present. Contains dedication programs, reports, and vintage postcards related to the UM campus and its buildings. 4 boxes.
Business School Collection. 1933-1987. Papers and publications of the UM Business School. 6 boxes.
Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection. 1854-1937. Boxes 9 through 12 contain the letters of Ferriday Byrnes to his future wife while he was a law student at UM between 1911 and 1913. 46 boxes.
Allen Cabaniss Collection. 1841-1969. Author of the A History of the University of Mississippi (1949) and UM professor of History. Collection includes correspondence on UM history, the University Museum, YMCA at UM, the University Greys, a list of La Bauve scholars, and other subjects. 7 boxes.
Lydy Becker Caldwell Collection. 1948-1949. Material related to UM's centennial celebrations and student life. 1 box.
Virginia B. Callon Collection. 1917-1973. Virginia B. Callon was a hostess at the UM Student Union for 17 years during the mid-twentieth century. Also includes correspondence with former Miss America Mary Ann Mobley. 1 box.
Frank Cannon's Greek Textbook. 1864. Cannon was from Dubbs, Mississippi and graduated from UM in 1874 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. 1 box.
Cassette Tapes and Reel Tapes Collection. Includes interviews with UM professors Russell H. Barrett, Sanford Charles Gladden, and James Silver; Longest Lectures from 1979; 1964 Stark Young Program; Bishop Hall Dedication; Chancellor Porter Fortune; Faculty Meeting in 1970; Hume Hall Dedication in 1968; and Vice President Hubert Humphrey speech at UM in 1968. 9 boxes.
Chancellors Biographical Collection. Letters and information on UM chancellors. 2 boxes.
Chancellor Inaugurations at the University of Mississippi. Selected documents from scattered holdings in the archives related to the history of the 20th and 21st century inaugural events for the university's chief executive officer. Available online as a digital collection.
Chancellors Collection/Porter L. Fortune Jr. UM chancellor from 1968 to 1984. 216 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/ Robert Burwell Fulton. UM chancellor from 1892 to 1906. In addition to chancellors files, the collection includes correspondence, bills, and receipts for the Historical Catalogue of the University of Mississippi (1870-1906). 24 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/Fulton-Hume. Combined records from the administrations of Chancellor Robert Burwell Fulton (1892-1906) and Alfred Hume (1906-1907, 1924-1930, 1932-1935, 1942-1943, 1946). 3 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/Alfred Hume. 1895-1942. UM chancellor 1906-1907, 1924-1930, 1932-1935, 1942-1943, and 1946. 16 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/Robert C. Khayat. UM chancellor from 1995 to 2009. 3 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/Andrew A. Kincannon. UM chancellor from 1907 to 1914. 16 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/R. Gerald Turner. UM chancellor from 1984 to 1995. 3 boxes.
Chancellors Collection/John D. Williams. UM chancellor from 1946 to 1968. 34 boxes.
Civil Rights Commemoration Initiative Collection. 1982-2006. Records related to the creation of a civil rights memorial on the UM campus. 5 boxes.
Class of 1921 50th Reunion Scrapbook. 1971. 1 box.
Class Reports Collection. 1909-1916. Contains class reports for various instructors and courses at the University of Mississippi. Reports contain names and grades of students. 8 boxes.
Classbooks from 1861. Contains images compiled in 1861 of the faculty, students, and campus. 1 box. Available online as part of Yearbooks digital collection.
Cleveland/Wilson Collection. 1962-1964. Collection consists of correspondence received by UM Associated Student Body presidents Thomas Cleveland and Richard Wilson received in reaction to the integration of UM. 4 boxes.
Cofield Collection. Photographs of Oxford, Lafayette County, and the University of Mississippi by local studio photographers "Colonel" J.R. Cofield and his son Jack Cofield. Available online as a digital collection.
Thelma T. Collums Collection. 1940-1952. Includes 1952 University of Mississippi Masters of Education diploma for Thelma T. Collums. 1 box.
Commencement Collection. 1854-present. Programs primarily but also includes some invitations, articles, and speeches (8 boxes). 12 boxes.
Computing at Ole Miss Collection. 1873-1979. UM Computer Center newsletter. 2 boxes.
Conferences Collection. 1908-present. Pamphlets and various other materials on conferences held at UM. 2 boxes.
James J. Cooke Collection. 1968-2001. Correspondence and drafts of essays and publications of James J. Cooke, Professor Emeritus of History at UM. He wrote extensively on Modern European History, specifically the French Empire and World War I. 10 boxes.
William Wert Cooper Jr. Collection. 1962. Photographs of campus during events surrounding integration of UM. Part of Collection Photographs, Box 37. Available online as part of the Integration of the University of Mississippi digital collection.
Council of Honor Records. 1907. Ledger containing records of UM Council of Honor, a student organization. 1 box.
John Crews Collection. 1970-1973. Contains varous materials related to African-American students at UM, including papers from the Faculty Committee on Black Student Affairs, for which Crews served as chair. 1 box. Available online as part of the Civil Rights Archive digital collection.
Cultural Events Collection. 1907-2006. Material related to dance and music recitals, performances, theatre, art exhibits, and speaker programs at UM. 7 boxes.
Department of Human Resources Budget Collection. 1922-1984. 4 boxes.
Deputy U.S. Marshals 50th Anniversary Memory Book. 1962-2012. Reproductions of documents related to the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi and later commemorations of that event. 1 box.
Arthur DeRosier Collection. 1959-1976. Professional and personal files of Arthur H. DeRosier Jr., a historian and former vice chancellor for academic affairs at UM (1974-1977). 29 boxes.
Ann Rogers Dillard Collection. 1951-1962. A UM student in 1962, Rogers collected newspaper clippings and periodicals related to UM integration. 1 box.
Diploma and Certificate Collection. 1850-1950. Contains a number of diplomas and certificates conferred by UM and other institutions. 2 boxes.
Louis Dollarhide Collection. 1920-1996. Louis Dollarhide was a UM English professor from 1967 to 1987. Collection contains correspondence, clippings, manuscripts, and publications. For many years, he chaired the UM Artist Series. 40 boxes.
Doxey-Tate Collection. 1922-1994. Includes photocopy of address at Colonial Dames presentation of World War I monument at UM in 1922 and a photograph of the UM Circle on campus. 3 boxes.
William Doyle Collection. 1865-2001. William Doyle is the author of American Insurrection: James Meredith and the Battle of Oxford, Mississippi, 1962, an account of James Meredith's journey to integrate the University of Mississippi. The collection contains interviews, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and research materials gathered and used by Doyle in the writing of his work. 9 boxes.
Donna Bailey Dye/Charles Noyes Collection. 1963-2011. Correspondence, news clippings, and ephemera from Dr. Charles E. Noyes, UM professor of English, to his former student Donna Bess Bailey Dye. 1 box.
James O. Eastland Collection. 1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate in 1941 and from 1943 to 1978. Collection contains material related to the integration of UM in 1962 as well as records of UM's relationship with the senator and the federal government (particularly in File Series 3, Subseries 4). 1,571 linear feet. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers interested in consulting this collection must contact the Archives & Special Collections at least two business days in advance of their planned visit to request the transfer of boxes. A small portion of the Eastland Collection (recordings, a portion of the photographs, and White House Correspondence) are available as a digital collection.
James E. Edmonds Collection. 1886-1934. Includes letters from Edmonds while a UM student between 1896 and 1900. A talented artist, he illustrated the first Ole Miss yearbook in 1897. 3 boxes. Selected material, including Edmonds correspondence while at UM, is available as a digital collection.
Walter B. Ellis Diary. 1871-1874. Walter Benjamin Ellis graduated from UM with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1874. 1 box.
Engravings Collection. Engravings of UM buildings, classrooms, and people. 1 box.
Frank E. Everett Collection. 1962-1996. Frank E. Everett received his bachelor's degree from UM in 1932 and his law degree in 1934. While at UM, students voted his Colonel Rebel and president of the student body. Later he served as president of the Ole Miss Alumni Association and became a member of the Ole Miss Hall of Fame. 2 boxes.
Exhibition Publications Collection. 1979-2011. Catalogs, posters, and postcards from past exhibits of the Department of Archives & Special Collections. 2 boxes.
Faculty Club Minutes Collection. 1909-1950. Records and minutes of the Faculty Club at the University of Mississippi. 1 box.
Faculty Minutes & Committees Collection. 1848-1995. Faculty minutes from 1848 to 1874; minutes of general faculty meetings from 1933 to 1945; minutes of Faculty Senate and its committees from 1946 to 1995. 14 boxes. See also, University Standing Committee Minutes Collection and Registrar Ledgers Collection.
Henry Minor Faser Jr. Collection. 1923-1985. Faser was an Oxford resident and UM alumnus. 4 boxes and 1 trunk.
Faulkner Conferences Collection. 1974-present. Primarily programs and registration forms. 1 box.
Faulkner Periodicals Collection. Includes Ole Miss yearbooks and other UM student publications with drawings or content by or about author William Faulkner. 55 boxes.
William Faulkner Postmaster Letters. 1921-1924. Correspondence regarding author William Faulkner's tenure as UM postmaster. 1 box.
Elijah Fleming Collection. Twenty-one tintype images of UM faculty and students circa 1859. 1 box. Available as a digital collection.
Football Program Collection. 1927-1997. 4 boxes. A selection of programs are also cataloged at LD3406 R4.
Fortieth Anniversary Symposium and Observance of the Integration of the University of Mississippi Collection. 1962, 2003. Copies of U.S. Department of Justice display items from "The Kennedy Justice Years 1961-1964" and the ceremony honoring the integration of the University of Mississippi on 15 July 2003. Includes VHS and DVD recordings of ceremony and symposium. 1 box.
Friends of the Library Collection. 1956-1971. (41 boxes).
R.B. Fulton Tests Collection. 1884-1886. Contains tests used in classes taught by R.B. Fulton, professor of astronomy and physics, and later a chancellor, at the University of Mississippi. 1 box.
Gage Family Collection. 1830-1937. Includes Civil War correspondence of Jeremiah Sanders Gage, a member of the University Greys (Company A of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment). 3 boxes. The majority of this collection is available online as part of the Civil War Archive digital collection.
Henry Gallagher Collection. 1962-2001. Second Lieutenant Henry Gallagher of the U.S. Army 716th Military Police Battalion arrived on the UM campus on the night of the 1962 riot. He later served as principal security officer for James Meredith from October 1 through late November 1962, returning again to Oxford in 1963. Includes correspondence, documents, maps, photographs, and film 3 boxes.
Gamma Sigma Epsilon, Lambda Beta Fraternity Collection. 1941-1962. Minutes, correspondence, and documents of the UM chapter of the science honor fraternity. 2 boxes.
Sanford G. Gladden Collection. 1920-1979. A professor in the UM Department of Physics and Astronomy from 1930 to 1945, Gladden later worked at the National Bureau of Standards. The collection contains correspondence as well as a history of the Physics and Astronomy department. 2 boxes.
Good Things Are Happening at Ole Miss Collection. 1998-2000. UM faculty and staff newsletter. 1 box.
Gordon Hall Time Capsule Contents Collection. 1908. 2 boxes.
Graduate School/Office of Research Update Collection. 1989-1999. Issues of the newsletter of the University of Mississippi Graduate School and Office of Research. 1 box.
Graduate Student Conference on Southern History Collection. 1996-1997. Conference material and papers delivered at the conference. 2 boxes.
Graduating/Senior Theses Collection. 1858-1937. Handwritten and typed theses prepared by graduating and senior UM students 8 boxes.
William Parks Grant Collection. 1930-1988. William Parks Grant was a music composition professor at UM from 1953 to 1973. Collection contains scores, photographs, sound recordings, and writings. 41 boxes.
R. Malcolm Guess Collection. 1922-1961. Guess served as director of the UM YMCA from 1922 to 1947 and as UM Dean of Students from 1932 to 1955. Collection contains correspondence, clippings, and documents. 2 boxes.
Gunter Photograph Collection. 1910s-1930s. Images of various buildings on UM campus, athletic groups, and one miscellaneous group. 1 box. Available online as a digital collection.
Theora Hamblett Collection. 1955-1975. Contains material documenting the relationship of the university with Oxford artist Theora Hamblett. 7 boxes & 1 scrapbook.
William Franklin Hamilton Autograph Book. 1859-1860. A Carrollton, Mississippi resident, Hamilton graduated from UM in 1860. The autograph book contains inscribed entries by friends and a record of UM alumni. 1 box.
Margaret Countiss Harbison Collection. 1958-1964. Material related to the integration of UM and its football program. 2 boxes.
Evans B. Harrington Collection. 1950s-1990s. Harrington received a Master of Arts degree in 1951 and joined the English Department faculty (1951-1991), before gaining a doctoral degree from UM in 1968. During his tenure at UM he served as director of the Faulkner & Yoknapatawpha Conference and chair of the English Department. 42 boxes.
Evans Harrington Small Manuscripts Collection. 1935-1963. Ephemera related to the works of UM English professor Evans Harrington. 1 box.
James Boyce Henderson Collection. 1897-1969. A native of Pontotoc County, Mississippi, James Boyce Henderson attended the University of Mississippi in 1919-1920 after serving in World War I. 3 boxes.
Hermean/Phi Sigma Societies Collection. 1849-1934. Pins, programs, invitations, and minutes of these two UM debate clubs. 5 boxes.
Robert H. Herring III Scrapbooks. 1962. Scrapbooks of clippings maintained by Robert H. Herring III during the integration of UM. 1 box. Available online as part of the Integration of the University of Mississippi digital collection.
E.W. Hilgard Papers. 1856-1872. Transcriptions of correspondence largely from F.A.P. Barnard to Eugene Woldemar Hilgard. Barnard served as chancellor of UM from 1856 to 1861. Hilgard was appointed Mississippi state geologist in 1855 and served as professor of chemistry and agriculture at UM between 1869 and 1873. 1 box.
Reverend Graham R. Hodges Collection. 1788-1996. A 1937 graduate of UM, Hodges' collection includes typed reminiscences of his time at UM, as well as ephemera and photographs. 7 boxes.
Verner S. Holmes Collection. 1910s-1989. Holmes served on the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning from 1956 to 1980, and twice served as its president. The collection contains personal correspondence, clippings, a complete set of board minutes during his tenure, scrapbooks, and a number of oral histories conducted by Dr. David G. Sansing with Holmes and other board members. 15 boxes.
Honors Day Collection. 1966-1997. Primarily programs and certificates. 1 box.
Hospital Ledger. 1914-1920. Admittance and diagnosis records of students at the UM infirmary. 1 box.
Alfred Hume Student Ledgers Collection. 1887-1947. 2 boxes.