Library Guides: Statistical and Data Resources: ICPSR

ICPSR

ICPSR is is the world’s largest Social Science data archive with a mission to:

•   Collect and preserve research data for future generations
•   Disseminate data economically for further analysis and instruction by researchers, scholars and instructors
•   Serve as a leading quantitative analysis training resource
It has approximately 10,000 datasets with over 500,000 files that are available to University of Mississippi students, faculty and staff for use in their teaching and research.

To download the datasets, each user must create an individual account with ICPSR. To do so, click the "Log in/Create Account" button in the top right corner of the page, and use your University of Mississippi email address to sign up. View a short (> 3 minutes) tutorial on creating an ICPSR account.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Log into ICPSR here.

Within ICPSR’s collections there are a number of thematic collections that have been developed and supported in partnership with other organizations or agencies. These include:

U.S. Census Data
This collection serves as a focus for United States Census materials. The site provides information about all U.S. Census data and documentation files, training activities, links to relevant sites for Census users, and guidelines to aid researchers in the use of these files.
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health
Research shows that sexual and gender minority groups experience health disparities as a result of multiple socio-cultural factors. The Center offers data and resources to health researchers to fill critical knowledge gaps related to the health of sexual and gender minorities, strengthening the foundation for culturally competent treatment and behavior change models.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
Research Connections (RC) offers a comprehensive, easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. The site offers the most current publications, as well as links to child care policy statements.
CivicLEADS
CivicLEADS provides a centralized repository for the multi-disciplinary research area of civic education, civic action, and the many relationships between the two, with data being created across education, political science, developmental sciences, and other disciplines. Researchers can access quantitative and qualitative data on a broad range of topics for secondary analysis as well as sharing their own primary research data. CivicLEADS includes datasets from other ICPSR archives and seeks out emerging data collected by studies still in the field.
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES)
CPES provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups. CPES permits the investigation of cultural and ethnic influences on mental health.
CrimeStat
CrimeStat is a spatial statistics program for the analysis of crime incident locations currently hosted by the National Institute of Justice. The program is Windows-based and interfaces with most desktop GIS programs. It provides supplemental statistical tools to aid law enforcement agencies and criminal justice researchers in their crime mapping efforts. CrimeStat is being used by many police departments around the country as well as by criminal justice and other researchers.
Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)
DSDR provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by research projects funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the nation's largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to improving the health and health care of all Americans.
Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS)
IFSS offers data and tools for examining issues related to families and fertility in the United States spanning five decades. IFSS encompasses the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG), as well as a single dataset of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Analytic tools make it possible to quickly and easily explore the data and obtain information about changes in behaviors and attitudes across time.
Minority Data Resource Center (MDRC)
MDRC is a membership-funded archive whose purpose is to provide data resources for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. We offer streamlined access to existing ICPSR data and to newly acquired studies that are relevant to the study of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race in the United States. Access to MDRC data is available to anyone at an ICPSR member university or institution.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)
NACDA acquires and provides access to data relevant to gerontological research with an emphasis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
NACJD facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources. NACJD also promotes original research based on archived data and provides specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN)
PHDCN is an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
SAMHDA provides public data access and online analysis for important substance abuse and mental health data collections. The project offers variable-level searching, an archive of survey instruments, related literature for data collections, a listserv, disclosure analysis, and traditional data products. SAMHDA was established at ICPSR in 1995 by the Office of Applied Studies (OAS), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC)
TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations, and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.
TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR
This site permits users to download various versions of the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded from the maps or menu interfaces associated with each of the TIGER versions.

Search Guides

Statistical and Data Resources

ICPSR

ICPSR is is the world’s largest Social Science data archive with a mission to:

Within ICPSR’s collections there are a number of thematic collections that have been developed and supported in partnership with other organizations or agencies. These include: