Library Guides: Statistical and Data Resources: Statistical & Interdisciplinary Data

Librarian

Assistant Professor, Scholar Support and Data Services

Email Me

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Scholar Support and Data Services

Savannah Kelly

Email Me

Contact:

slkelly@olemiss.edu

662-915-5877

Subjects: Pharmacy, Psychology

Main Library Chat

License

Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license logo

All original content on this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please attribute as: "Content from University of Mississippi Libraries."

How to Use This Guide

This guide is a compilation of sources for finding statistics and data sets in the social sciences, roughly broken down by subject area. However, it is not an exhaustive list of all possible resources, because more data sets are being made freely available every day. There will also be overlap between the different subjects and types of data, so be creative in how you approach your research.

If you can't find the data you need, contact librarian Adam Clemons (jaclemon@olemiss.ed) or the subject librarian for your field of study. We want to help you get what you need!

For information on data management and grant compliance, visit the data management guide.

Statistics

There are many sources for general statistical information for a broad variety of topics. This list includes those that the library subscribes to as well as some resources freely available online.

Mississippi Today Data
Mississippi Today is a nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization focusing on Mississippi. They collect publicly available data and statistics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and statistics and demographic information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find quantitative data, statistics, statistical reports, in graphic and data format.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics related to the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics related to the social, political, and economic conditions of the world except the United States.

Interdisciplinary Data Sources

These are portals to collections of datasets from many different disciplines in the social sciences.

Data.gov
Access point for most of the US government's open data
Google Public Data
- Google search of some publicly available datasets, including IMF, World Bank, Eurostat, and more.
IQSS Harvard Dataverse
The Harvard Dataverse Network is open to all scientific data from all disciplines worldwide. It includes the world's largest collection of social science research data.
Odum Institute Dataverse Network
The Odum Institute Dataverse Network provides access to social science data collections curated by the Odum Institute as well as collections owned by other institutions and individual scholars. You can search across or browse any of these dataverses listed below.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.

Research Resources

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
Research and citation resources

Search Guides

Statistical and Data Resources