Statistical and Data Resources

To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Must create a free account to download data sets.

​​​Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

The FEC provides copies of filings from candidates, parties and PACs. In addition data files (Some very large) including contributor, candidate, committee and summary data are available for download.

National Institute on Money in State Politics maintains this database that makes available campaign contributions data by state, sector and individual.

NNSP keeps a data archive of state surveys, and provides access to a wide variety of polling data done in the states.

ROAD data include election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic measures of the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation. The NSF-supported ROAD project covers every state in the country from 1984 through 1990 (including some off-year elections). One collection of data sets includes every election at and above State House, along with party registration and other variables, in each state for the roughly 170,000 precincts nationwide (about 60 times the number of counties). Another collection has added to these (roughly 30-40) political variables an additional 3,725 variables merged from the 1990 U.S. Census for 47,327 aggregate units (about 15 times the number of counties) about the size one or more cities or towns. These units completely tile the U.S. landmass. This collection also includes geographic boundary files so users can easily draw maps with these data.

On this site, you will find voting, registration and geographic datasets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992. Made available via the University of California Law School.

3708 conflicts, data on parties, fatalities, date and duration.

COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations, specifically about the history, nature, and causes of wars.

The Comparative Agendas Project (CAP) assembles and codes information on the policy processes of governments from around the world. CAP enables scholars, students, policy makers and the media to investigate trends in policy-making across time and between countries. It classifies policy activities into a single, universal and consistent coding scheme.

The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. The WVS seeks to help scientists and policy makers understand changes in the beliefs, values and motivations of people throughout the world.