This page contains a list of cataloged audio and audiovisual recordings on the topic of religion. It includes music, comedic stories, and oral histories.
Blair Boyd. The Holy Ghost People. University, MS: University of Mississippi, 2004. DVD transfer of videocassette filmed in 1968 by Contemporary Films/McGraw-Hill. Pentecostal Churches in West Virginia. Call Number: BX8762 Z7 W3 2004.
Jerry Clower. Clower Power. Universal City, CA: MCA Records, 1980. LP record of Mississippi humorist Jerry Clower includes sketch "Brother Sonny Goes to Church." Call Number: PN6162 C43.
Jerry Clower. More Good'uns. Universal City, CA: MCA Records, [1981]. LP record of Mississippi humorist Jerry Clower includes sketch "The Christian Bear." Call Number: PN6162 C52.
Jerry Clower. On the Road. Universal City, CA: MCA Records, 1977. LP record of Mississippi humorist Jerry Clower includes sketch "Deep Water Baptist." Call Number: PN6162 C54.
Edward Cohen. The Natchez Jewish Experience. [Jackson, MS]: The Museum, 1994. VHS tape. Call Number: BM223 M5 N38 1994.
D.R. Curry Memorial Choir, Liberty Trinity Church of God in Christ. Lift Jesus Up. Jackson, MS: Malaco Records, 1982. LP record of gospel music. Call Number: M2198 D73 L54 1982.
Fannie Bell Chapman, Gospel Singer. Memphis, TN: Southern Culture Records, 1983. LP recorded between 1972 and 1974 in Centreville, Mississippi. Call Number: M2198 C42 F26 1983.
Lisa N. Howorth. Are You Walkin' with Me?: Sister Thea Bowman, William Faulkner, and African American Culture. University of Mississippi, Center for Media Productions, 1990. DVD recording of program presented by Sister Thea Bowman a leader in celebration of black heritage within the Catholic Church. Call Number: PS3511 A86 Z7778 2006.
Alan Lomax. Negro Church Music. New York: Atlantic, [1961]. LP album includes gospel music recorded in the field by Lomax in Senatobia and Como, Mississippi. M2198 N447 1961.
Jackson Southernaires. Hear Our Prayers O Lord. Jackson, MS: Malaco Records, 1986. LP record of gospel music by Mississippi group. Call number: M2198 J32 H43 1986.
Kent Moorhead et al. October Country: Things Seen in Mississippi. University, MS: University of Mississippi, 2004. DVD transfer from videocassette of 1983 film produced by Little Bear-Odessa Films-Antenne 2 with the University of Mississippi. In French and English. Content includes religion. Call Number: F345 O27 2004.
Oral History Interview with Kredelle Petway Dendy and Reverend Alfonso K. Petway, 2001. DVD recording in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of Freedom Riders movement. The Petways were part of the group that challenged segregation of the interstate bus system in the South in 1961. Call Number: E185.615 O735 P489 2001.
Oral History Interview with Rev. Duncan M. Gray, 2002 October. Open Doors History Project, 2002. DVD recorded in conjunction with 40th anniversary of the integration of the University of Mississippi. Gray was the Rector of St. Peter's Epsicopal Church in Oxford, Mississippi from 1957 to 1965. Call Number: LD3413 O735 G73 2002.
Oral History Interview with Reverend Frances Geddes, 2001. DVD recording in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of Freedom Riders movement. Geddes was part of the group that challenged segregation of the interstate bus system in the South in 1961. Call Number: E185.615 O735 G444 2001.
Oral History Interview with Reverend John R. Washington, 2001. DVD recording in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of Freedom Riders movement. Washington was part of the group that challenged segregation of the interstate bus system in the South in 1961. Call Number: E185.615 O735 W374 2001.
Oral History Interview with Reverend Ralph Roy, 2001. DVD recording in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of Freedom Riders movement. Roy was part of the group that challenged segregation of the interstate bus system in the South in 1961. Call Number: E185.615 O735 R697 2001.
Oral History Interview with Robert F. Smith, 2002 September. Open Doors History Project, 2002. DVD recorded in conjunction with 40th anniversary of the integration of the University of Mississippi with Robert F. Smith, son of Reverend Wofford K. Smith who served as Episcopal chaplain in Oxford in 1962. Call Number: LD3413 O735 S65 2002.
Willard Rhodes, comp. Folk Music of the United States: Delaware, Cherokee, Choctaw, Creek. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, [1954]. LP record that includes "Cherokee Christian Hymn" and "Creek Christian Hymns." Call Number: M1669 R5 F6 1954.
Salt of the Earth. He Will Deliver. Jackson, MS: Malaco, 1984. LP record of gospel music. Call Number: M2198 S23 H4 1984.
Sensational Nightingales. I Surrender All. Jackson, MS: Malaco, 1984. LP record of gospel music. Call Number: M2198 S26 1984.
Therese Smith. Let the Church Sing!: Music and Worship in a Black Mississippi Community. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Press, 2004. Includes CD with music. Call Number: ML3187 S55 2004.
Charles L. Sullivan. Gatherings at the River: South Mississippi's Methodist Camp Meeetings. Perkinston, MS: Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Press, 1990. Includes VHS tape. Call Number: BX8475 S8 1990.
Truthettes. Take It to the Lord in Prayer. Jackson, MS: Malaco, 1983. LP record of gospel music. Call Number: M2198 T78 T35 1983.