Samuel Agnew Diary Photocopies. 1851-1902. An Associate Reformed Presbyterian minister, teacher, and farmer who lived in Mississippi, Samuel Agnew kept detailed journals (23 boxes).
American Family Association Collection. 1990-2005. Contains publications and circular letters from the American Family Association (AFA). Based in Tupelo, Mississippi, the organization is a lobbying group devoted to a conservative Christian political and social ideology (2 boxes).
Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection. Material related to the lives of several Marshall County, Mississippi families and the Strawberry Plains plantation. Includes files on the Strawberry Church (29 boxes).
Jeff Balfour Collection. Includes photographs of Pioneer Methodist Church in Panola County, Fredonia Methodist Church, and College Hill Presbyterian Church (4 boxes).
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. Marge Baroni was a white native of Natchez, Mississippi who became active in the civil rights movement in the 1960s. A Catholic, she developed a friendship with Dorothy Day, a leading activist in the Catholic Worker Movement which advocated peace and social justice (20 boxes).
Russell H. Barrett Collection. 1956-1974. Includes a folder of correspondence and sermons regarding the reaction of Oxford, Mississippi's religious community to the integration of the University of Mississippi in 1962 (Box 3, Folder 2) (21 boxes). Photographs from this collection have been digitized as part of the Integration of the University of Mississippi digital collection.
Mrs. Emma Faser Birchett Collection. 1874-1988. Includes silk ribbons of the Knights Templar group in Vicksburg, Mississippi and a handwritten manuscript in a volume entitled "Life of Rev. James Angel Fox." Fox was the Episcopal rector of St. Alban's Church in or near Vicksburg, Mississippi (2 boxes).
Jonathan Henderson Brooks Collection. 1927-1956. Material related to Jonathan Henderson Brooks, an African American Baptist minister and poet from Mississippi (1 box).
Juanita Brown Collection. Includes 1920s correspondence regarding admission of Daisye Fergueson and Juanita Brown to the Scarritt Bible and Training School and their applications to become Methodist Episcopal Church, South missionaries as well as 1930s-1940s correspondence with the General Board of Christian Education, Methodist Episcopal Church, South (7 boxes).
Hallie Buie Collection. 1924-1949. A native of Caseyville, Mississippi, Hallie Buie served as a Methodist missionary in Korea for thirty years. During this period, she was in charge of a girls' school and a licensed Methodist minister in the country. Part of the collection consists of correspondence received by her sister at the time of Buie's illness and death at the age of 71 in 1949. The other portion contains religious publications, particularly The Korea Mission Field (2 boxes).
Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection. 1854-1937. Includes various programs from African American churches near Natchez, Mississippi honoring Byrnes for making contributions to rebuild churches burnt by extremists during the 1960s; pamphlet on Rodney Presbyterian Church; and miscellaneous material regarding the First Presbyterian Church in Natchez (46 boxes).
Allen Cabaniss Collection. 1865-1969. A University of Mississippi historian, Allen Cabaniss also had a B.D. from Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and wrote History of Presbyterianism in Mississippi. In addition to manuscripts of the book, the collection includes correspondence regarding the YMCA program at UM; notebooks concerning the coptica once in the UM's possession, and other material related to religion (7 boxes).
Eugene Craven Callaway Collection. 1824-2005. Consists of family letters and documents principally belonging to the Rev. James Render Callaway family who settled in Pontotoc and Lafayette County, Mississippi in the mid-1800s. The collection includes correspondence from the connecting families: Boyd, Farley, Reed, and Son. There are also Civil War and California Gold Rush era letters, as well as materials relating to religion during the Second and Third Great Awakening (2 boxes).
Will Campbell Collection. 1972-1981. Born in Liberty, Mississippi, Will Campbell pastored a Baptist Church in Taylor, Louisiana from 1952 to 1954, served as director of religious life at the University of Mississippi from 1954 to 1956, and worked with the National Council of Churches from 1956 to 1963. After that, he worked for the liberal Committee of Southern Churchmen. Campbell published numerous books (7 boxes).
Lyda Russell Caughman Collection. 1922-1987. Born in Smith County, Mississippi in 1897, Lyda Russell married Carl Caughman, a graduate of Lutheran Southern Seminary. They served as missionaries in India for several years from 1922 to 1929. Collection consists of correspondence, photographs, and documents (7 boxes).
Citizens' Council Collection. Correspondence, reports, speeches, publications and other material documenting the activities of the pro-segregation Citizens' Council between 1954 and 1979. Includes several pamphlets on the topic of Christianity and segregation (3 boxes). This collection has been digitized and is available online.
Clear Creek Baptist Church Collection. 1977-1988. Pamphlets and programs related to Clear Creek Baptist Church in Oxford, Mississippi, including a sesquicentennial history (1 box).
Crosby-Schøyen Codex Photographs Collection. Photographs of the Crosby-Schøyen Codex, consisting of early Greek and Coptic versions of the Book of Jonah, 2 Maccabees, 1 Peter, Melito of Sardis: Peri Pascha 47-105, and Homily (1 box).
Cult of Saint Germain Collection. 1951-1969. The Cult of Saint Germain is an offspring of the I AM Movement founded in 1930 by Guy Ballard who claimed to have encountered St. Germain on Mount Shasta. Members were conservative on social and economic affairs. The collection consists of recorded "dictations" created from 1951 to 1969 (4 boxes).
Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records Collection. 1868-1902. Records of Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Oxford, Mississippi. Includes handwritten minutes, list of pastors, and miscellaneous documents (1 box).
John L. Daniel Collection. 1938-1946. Letters written by John L. Daniel in 597th Signal Battalion written to his Iuka, Mississippi family while posted at U.S. bases and serving in the Pacific theater during World War II. Several letters describe church services he attended (5 boxes).
William Doyle Collection. Research files for William Doyle's book An American Insurrection: James Meredith and the Battle of Oxford, Mississippi, 1962 an historic account of the integration of the University of Mississippi. Includes a file entitled "Role of St. Peter's Church" (Box 6, Folder 40) (9 boxes).
Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection. 1834-1987. Includes an 1844 promissory note as payment for an Episcopal Church pew; an 1859 receipt of church membership in Helena, Arkansas; and an 1863 letter discussing destruction of the Catholic Church in Vicksburg, Mississippi due to shelling (35 boxes).
Henry Minor Faser Jr. Collection. 1923-1985. Includes four family Bibles (4 boxes and 1 trunk).
First Presbyterian Church of Oxford Photograph Collection. 1879-1944. Contains photographs and a photograph album (1 box). This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers interested in using this collection must contact Archives and Special Collections at least two business days in advance of their planned visit.
Carroll Gartin Collection. 1941-1966. Carroll Gartin served three terms as Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi. A deacon at Highland Baptist Church in Laurel, his collection includes a file entitled "Highland Baptist Church -- Pulpit Committee" (31 boxes). Photographs and recordings from this collection are available as a digital collection. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Roxana Chapin Gerdine Collection. 1858-1892. Born in Massachusetts to an abolitionist family, Roxana Chapin married William Louis Crawford Gerdine, a widower with nine children from West Point, Mississippi with a substantial cotton plantation. An 1858 letter by Gerdine references a local Baptist revival meeting in Washington, Georgia (2 boxes). This collection has been digitized as part of the Civil War Archive.
Ivey Gladin Photograph Collection. 1926-1990s. Photograph and negatives by Ivey Gladin, a professional photographer in Helena, Arkansas. Includes a series of photographs of local churches and congregations (2 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Gordon Hall Time Capsule Contents Collection. 1908. Includes a Tewkesbury edition of the Holy Bible (2 boxes).
Theora Hamblett Collection. 1955-1975. A schoolteacher in Oxford, Mississippi, Theora Hamblett began painting during retirement. In the primitive or naive tradition, her subject matter often reflects Hamblett's spiritual visions. Collection includes art exhibition announcements and invitations, correspondence, photographs, slides, video, film, interview recordings, and an oversized scrapbook of clippings and letters (7 boxes and 1 scrapbook).
Fannie Lou Hamer Collection. Includes a file on the Delta Ministry, a Mississippi civil rights project of the National Council of Churches (Box 1, Folder 8) (4 boxes).
Evans Harrington Collection. Box 14 includes typed manuscripts by Ed King on the campaign to integrate concerts, churches and other public venues in Jackson, Mississippi (42 boxes).
James Boyce Henderson Collection. 1897-1969. A native of Pontotoc County, Mississippi, James Boyce Henderson attended the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary between 1920 and 1923. Forced to leave the seminary because he publicly questioned the role of student clubs on campus, he later worked as a teacher employed by the Department of the Interior in Kanatak, Alaska for twenty years (3 boxes).
Reverend Jesse L. Henderson Civil War Diary. 1864. Transcriptions of an 1864 diary kept by Reverend Jesse L. Henderson who served in Company A of the 41st Mississippi Regiment (1 box). This collection has been digitized as part of the Civil War Archive.
Rev. Graham Hodges Collection. 1797-1999. Collection contains biographical sketch, manuscripts, books, and correspondence related to Rev. Graham R. Hodges. Born in Wesson, Mississippi, Hodges graduated from Yale University School of Divinity, wrote several books of children's sermons, and served as a minister in the United Church of Christ in Liverpool, New York (7 boxes).
Jiggits Collection. 1917-1925. Includes an 1892 Book of Common Prayer inscribed to Lieut. Louis M. Jiggits, United States Army...given November 1918" (2 boxes).
Katallagete/James Y. Holloway Collection. 1928-1992. Manuscripts and correspondence related to Katallagete, the journal of the Committee of Southern Churchmen. Published from the 1960s to 1991, the journal was edited by James Y. Holloway and boasted contributions from such notables as Thomas Merton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Billy Graham, and Will Campbell (37 boxes).
Kelley Family Collection. 1839-1987. Among the papers of this Port Gibson, Mississippi family are late nineteenth and twentieth century material related to Methodist churches and sermon notes of Rev. Duncan A. Little from circa 1880s-1890s (Box 4). The collection also includes two family Bibles (Box 11) (15 boxes).
Ed King Collection. 1939-1983. Ed King served as chaplain at Tougaloo College in Jackson, Mississippi during the 1960s. The white Mississippi Methodist Conference denied him membership because of his liberal views so the black Mississippi Methodist Conference granted membership. King played a key role in the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, challenging incumbent John Bell Williams for his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives in 1966 and serving as an MFDP delegate to the 1968 Democratic National Convention (7 boxes).
Morton King Collection. Materials pertaining to the 1955 resignation of University of Mississippi sociology professor Morton King in protest of the administration's decision to cancel a campus address by pro-civil rights Episcopal priest Reverend Alvin Kershaw (1 box).
Knox Collection of Extremist Literature. Dating from the twentieth century, the collection consists primarily of anti-communist, anti-Semitic, and white supremacist pamphlets and other forms of literature. Many of the publications originate from conservative Christian organizations (12 boxes).
Ku Klux Klan Collection. 1955-1978. Correspondence, publications, clippings and other material related to the revival of the Ku Klux Klan in the South after World War II. Several pieces reference religion, as in the broadside "God Commands Racial Segregation" (2 boxes).
Leavell Family Collection. 1865-1955. Several members of the Leavell family of North Mississippi have played prominent roles among the state's Baptists and with the University of Mississippi's Baptist Student Union and the YMCA. The collection contains photographs, clippings, manuscripts, scrapbooks, and family papers (2 boxes).
Maggie Lester Bible. 1 box.
Will and Marjorie Lewis Collection. 1828-1908. Box 1, Folder 15 contains 1828 letter to Jacob Thompson with religious advice (3 boxes).
Lockwood Collection. 1875-1958. Includes Lockwood family bible (2 boxes).
John Guy Lofton Collection. John Guy Lofton served in the Army of Northern Virginia, Company H, 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. Correspondence discusses religious life in camp (1 box). This collection has been digitized as part of the Civil War Archive.
Longstreet-Hinton Collection. 1844-1955. Correspondence and material related to the Longsteet family, including August Baldwin Longstreet (1790-1870), author of Georgia Scenes. Includes The Psalmist: A New Collection of Hymns for the Use of the Baptist Churches (1844) and a 1767 and 1869 Book of Common Prayer (3 boxes).
Dean L.L. Love Collection. Correspondence sent to University of Mississippi Dean L.L. Love during the 1962-63 integration crisis. Includes a folder of anti-Semitic literature (Box 2, Folder 10) (2 boxes).
E. Wilson Lyon Collection. 1923-1974. Letters from UM graduate E. Wilson Lyon from his time as a Rhodes Scholar in Oxford, England from 1925 to 1928, this includes correspondence sent to his friend Girault Jones who became the seventh Episcopal bishop of Louisiana (3 boxes + 1 bound volume).
Map Collection. Includes an 1834 "Complete Ecclesiastical Chart, from the Earliest, Sacred and Profane" (J.H. Colton), re: Catholic Church (Map Roll #134).
W.T. Marshall Collection. 1847-1980. Includes an invitation to a White House reception honoring bishops of the Methodist Episcopal Church during President William McKinley's administration in 1989 (Box 1, Folder 8) (8 boxes).
McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-1960. Contains Dr. Hubert H. McAlexander's research files on the history of Marshall County, Mississippi. Includes a short history of Christ Church in Holly Springs by Charles N. Dean; notes on the Baptist church; photocopies of the Holly Springs Baptist Church record book from 1883 to 1909; a typed transcript of the Red Banks Baptist Church records from 1848 to 1906; a file on Jewish families in the county; and numerous files on individual churches (23 boxes).
Annie McGehee Collection. 1890-1946. Originally from Como, Mississippi, Annie McGehee was a student and perhaps a teacher at Huntsville Female College in Huntsville, Alabama in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. The collection consists of correspondence sent to McGehee, and topics include religious conversion (3 boxes).
George McLean Collection. 1947-1982. A native of Winona, Mississippi, George McLean earned a master's degree of divinity from Boston Theological Seminary in 1928 before continuing his graduate work in psychology and sociology at Stanford University and the University of Chicago. He bought the Tupelo Journal (later renamed the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal) in 1934, which he ran until his death in 1983. A deeply religious man, McLean was an ordained Elder of the Presbyterian Church and often translated his convictions into his business and other activities. Collection contains religious materials, notes, speeches, and recordings (16 boxes).
Memories of Mississippi Essay Contest Collection. Includes Lola May Autry's essay "Rural Churches in Mississippi -- 1941" and James White's "The Revival" (1 box).
James Howard Meredith Collection. 1950-1997. Personal papers of James H. Meredith, the first African American to register at the University of Mississippi. Collection includes a number of letters from church leaders (146 boxes).
Miller-Avent Papers. 1851-1960. Primarily Civil War correspondence of the Miller family of Pontotoc, Mississippi whose father and sons served in the 42nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company F. Several pieces of correspondence reference religion (1 box).
Mississippi Churches Collection. 1846-1997. Miscellaneous assortment of programs, minutes, and publications related to churches throughout the state of Mississippi (2 boxes).
Mississippi Cities and Counties Collection. 1914-1980. Includes a box of vintage postcards, some of which depict church buildings in Mississippi (8 boxes).
Mississippi Education Collection. 1924-2000. Includes 1995-1996 material on religion freedom issued by Pontotoc County Citizens for School Prayer and a 1996 publication "Religious Freedom on Trial in Oxford, Mississippi" (1 box). This collection is available as a digital collection.
Mississippi Periodicals Collection. Includes a June 1966 issue of Ebony with Henry A. Buchanan and Bob W. Brown's "Integration: Great Dilemma of the Church"; Alexander S. Kline's "The Synagogue and the Arts" in Jewish Spectator (September 1957); and two issues of Historical Magazine of the Protestant Episcopal Church with "The Diocese of Mississippi and the Confederacy" by Nash Kerr Burger (March 1940) and "Edward Randolph Welles: 1830-1888" (6 boxes).
Mitchell Family Marshall County Collection. 1812-1984. Includes an 1886 Willis/Mitchell family bible and an 1860 Wadlington/Paine family bible as well as information on an 1872-73 investigation against Rev. H.H. Paine (7 boxes).
Newspapers (Boxed). Box 8 includes 1955 and 1958 issues of the Mississippi Methodist Advocate. Box 64 holds a 1954 and 1962 issue of The Mississippi Register, official newspaper of the Diocese of Natchez-Jackson. Box 65 contains a 15 August 1966 issue of Mississippi Baptist (75 boxes).
Northeast Mississippi Traditional Music Project Collection. 2002-2003. Consists of field notes, logs, audio recordings, color slides, and photographs of traditional music performers in Northeast Mississippi in a joint project of the UM Center for the Study of Southern Culture and the Mississippi Arts Commission. Genres covered include gospel (4 boxes).
Clarence Pierce Collection. Includes a photocopy of an 1871 deed to Vaiden Hill Church "for the colored people of my neighborhood" and correspondence with Reverend John M. Allin, Bishop of Diocese of Mississippi (1 box). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Mrs. R.E. Price Collection. 1859-1973. Includes 1969 College Hill Presbyterian bulletin (Folder 1-6); genealogical notes on Rev. L.B. Gaston (Folder 1-7) (3 boxes).
Primitive Baptist Church Collection. 1981-1988. Pamphlets and newsletters of the Primitive Baptist Church of Thaxton, Mississippi (1 box).
Priscian Fragments Collection. 10th century -- 15th century. Fragments of medieval manuscripts that focus on the works of Priscian and Livy. Includes fragments of a New Testament from Switzerland in 1160, a 15th century French missal, and a Flemish Book of Hours from circa 1450 (1 box). Available as a digital collection.