Library Guides: Contextualization at University of Mississippi: Related Library Databases

General History Databases

These databases contain secondary sources on all subjects related to American history.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.

Explore African American Studies Journals

View of Lyceum through a window with printers' marks engraved into it.

Related Library Resources

This page highlights just a few of the resources available through the UM Libraries that are relevant to contextualization, mostly databases of journal articles and primary sources related to African American history.

Please contact us and we'll be happy to help you navigate any of our resources.

Image: View of the Lyceum from JD Williams Library.

Secondary Sources - Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Newspaper Databases

These resources contain searchable present-day and historical newspapers.

For more newspapers, including links to indexes and free online newspapers, see the Newspaper Guide by Alex Watson.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers.
Early American Newspapers, Series 6 This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century American newspapers.
20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable digital editions of three U.S. newspapers from 1923-1993.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized, fully searchable historic newspapers from across the country. Time span: 1789 - 1924.

Search Guides

Contextualization at University of Mississippi