Library Guides: Contextualization at University of Mississippi: UM History & Images Overview

Secondary Sources

Books

UM Theses & Dissertations

Echoes of the lost cause: Civil War reverberations in Mississippi from 1865 to 2001, by Dr. Leigh McWhite
This dissertation extends the examination of the Lost Cause movement throughout the twentieth century. Also available in print in the UM Libraries.
Keeping the Faith with the University Greys: Ole Miss as Lieu de Memoire, by Michael Upton
Master’s thesis, 2002 that examines the impact of Civil War memory upon the University of Mississippi.
Rebel land after James Meredith, by Ann Percy
Master’s thesis, 1994 on race relations at UM after 1962.

The head and shoulders of a black sculpture of a man.

Overview of Contextualization at the University of Mississippi

This page contains links to pictures of the University digitized and in Archives & Special Collections and primary and secondary sources about the history of the University of Mississippi.

Image: A statue of civil rights leader James Meredith, who integrated the University of Mississippi in 1962. Sculpted by Rod Moorhead, the statue stands prominently on the University of Mississippi campus, where a noose was placed around its neck in 2014 by three members of the Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity. Photo by Brian Hamilton, July 2013.

Digital Collections with Campus Photographs

Edward C. Boynton Collection
Glass plate negatives of UM campus and people dating from 1856 to 1861.
Cofield Collection
Photographs of Oxford, Lafayette County, and university.
Mississippi Cities and Counties Postcards
Postcard images of locales, including UM, dating from 1914 to 1980.
John E. Phay Collection
Includes images of UM from the 1940s and 1950s; under “Narrow Your Search By” click on “School” and choose “University of Mississippi”.
Ann Rayburn Paper Americana Collection Postcards
Vintage postcards, including images of UM campus.
University Archives Photographs
Images related to UM or originating from university departments.
University of Mississippi Classbook of 1861-1862
The University of Mississippi Classbook, which included photographs of both students and faculty, preceded the University's yearbook, The Ole Miss (1897-), by over 35 years.
Elijah Fleming Tintype Collection
Contains 21 tintypes, collected by Fleming, of University of Mississippi faculty and students, circa 1859.
Gunter Photograph Collection
Collection of various buildings on the University of Mississippi campus, athletic groups, and one miscellaneous group, taken between 1910 and 1930.
Integration Photographs
Collection of photographs from the integration of the University of Mississippi
Yearbook (The Ole Miss)
Links to the annually produced student yearbook, The Ole Miss, 1897-2013.

Archival Photos of UM Campus

Dr. Gerald Walton Collection
Contains folders on a number of campus buildings and memorials.
Buildings and Grounds Collection
Contains folders with miscellaneous material on campus buildings.
Vertical Files
Folders with newspaper clippings on campus buildings and memorials. Skip down the alphabetical list to “University of Mississippi – Buildings and Grounds.”

Confederate statue and Science Hall from inside The Circle, circa 1910s-1930s.

Primary Sources

Collections About the University of Mississippi, 1848-1861

Antebellum: Primary Sources on the University of Mississippi
A list of histories and biographies that cover the antebellum period in the state. Archives & Special Collections topic guide.

Campus Newspaper

The UM campus newspaper was titled The Mississippian from 1911 to 1968 and The Daily Mississippian thereafter. These issues are available on Microfilm. Seek assistance from either the Reference Desk or the Main/West Circulation Desk to locate the microfilm and receive instruction on using the microfilm machines.

Campus Year Books

All editions of the UM yearbook Ole Miss from the first one in 1897 to 2013 are available online in eGrove, the UM institutional repository. Researchers can choose from a variety of formats, page through a book online, download a PDF or search the full-text version.

Search Guides

Contextualization at University of Mississippi