Contextualization at University of Mississippi

Official UM description of campus and University buildings.

Carroll Gartin served three terms as Mississippi’s Lieutenant Governor (1952-1956, 1956-1960, and 1964-1966); the last two years under Governor Paul B. Johnson before Gartin died in office.

Box 14 contains a file with copies of 1966 letters by Meredith to Johnson. Meredith integrated the University of Mississippi in 1962.

James O. Eastland was appointed by Governor Paul B. Johnson Sr. to the U.S. Senate in 1941 following the death of Pat Harrison and served by election from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. His papers include material related to Paul B. Johnson Jr. in File Series 1, Subseries 20: Politics; File Series 2, Subseries 1: Photographs; File Series 2, Subseries 2: Audio Recordings; File Series 2, Subseries 3: Audiovisual Recordings; File Series 2, Subseries 4: Clippings; File Series 2, Subseries 6: Speeches; File Series 3, Subseries 4: State/Local Files; and File Series 3, Subseries 5: Case Files.

Box 37, Folder 5 includes portion of a 1970 Johnson interview at the Lyndon B. Johnson Library.

Satterifeld served as legal counsel for Governor Ross Barnett during the University of Mississippi integration crisis and the collection contains several documents referencing Johnson.

Box 28, Folder 19 contains Johnson correspondence.

Includes 1968 letter by Johnson.

Includes file on Johnson in Box 1.

Box 260, Folder 1 includes a 1965 letter to Johnson during the Mississippi Election Contest when the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party contested the election of the Abernethy and the rest of the state’s congressional delegation.

Includes telegrams related to Johnson sent during the University of Mississippi integration crisis in 1962.

Includes Johnson campaign memorabilia.