Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War (Archives): Manuscript Collections

Civil War Collections A-G

The collections below from the Department of Archives and Special Collections at the University of Mississippi relate in some way to Mississippi during the Civil War and/or Mississippians involved in the Civil War.

17th Mississippi Infantry Regiment Manuscript. Undated. The mimeographed typed essay provides a brief description and hand-drawn maps of the battles fought by the 17th Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2. 

E.V. Adams Collection. April 20, 1861; January 1864. Includes correspondence of Confederate soldiers Thomas S. Stout, Jr. and Joseph Hughes from Rock Island, Illinois Prisoner of War Camp.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Jennie and Lucia Adams Collection. 1845-1915. This collection contains a certificate dated January 19, 1861 appointing Randolph Adams as Second Lieutenant in the state of South Carolina. Also includes a certificate for an advance on cotton to A.K. Boyce, April 28, 1862.  13 boxes.

Samuel Agnew Diary Photocopies.  1851-1902.  An Associate Reformed Presbyterian minister, teacher, and farmer who lived in Mississippi, Samuel Agnew wrote journal entries about the Civil War.  23 boxes.

Aldrich Collection. 1789-1972.  Wartime letters of the Treadwell and Farabee family of North Mississippi from January 1861 to April 1865.  Most of the letters concern matters of the home front.  Also contains lists of supplies bought by the Union Army at the Treadwell's store.  25 boxes.  Part of the collection is available as a digital collection.

William T. Allen Collection.  Contains materials related to the payroll of the 12th Mississippi Cavalry.   Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts 79-6 (1 folder).

Governor Adelbert Ames Speech.  This photocopy of a published speech entitled Message of Gov. Adelbert Ames to the Legislature of Mississippi, in Extra Session Assembled, Thursday, December 17, 1874 addresses the Vicksburg race riots during Reconstruction.  Location: Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (1 folder). 

[John M. Anderson] Pocket Diary. 1854-1868. An account book and personal journal which may have been that of John M. Anderson, a planter who was engaged in making salt for the Confederate government in Texas during the Civil War. The bulk of the diary describes movements around Oxford and Northern Mississippi in 1862.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 96-1 (4 folders). 

Andrew Brown & Son / R.F. Learned Lumber Company Collection.  1837-1974.  Correspondence, business records, accounts, photographs, and reports related to Andrew Brown (and Son) and its immediate successor company, R.F. Learned Lumber Company in Natchez, Mississippi.  Includes non-lumber records related to Natchez Ice Company, Natchez Department Store, and Learned Plantation.  117 boxes and 611 ledgers.  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.  Selected materials are available in the Civil War digital collection.

Artifacts (UM) Collection.  Includes two Jefferson Davis buttons and the Great Seal of the Confederacy.  4 boxes.

William Atwood Reconstruction Documents.  A collection of various special orders assigning military officers to oversee voter registration in Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 92-1 (1 folder). 

Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection.  1830-2008.  Includes post-Civil War claim correspondence of Martha Greenlee Davis and E.M. Davis's Civil War pardon signed by President Andrew Johnson.  Also, includes a file on the Children of the Confederacy chapter in Holly Springs, Mississippi.  29 boxes.

Reverend Augustus Papers. 1832-1945. Included in this small collection is correspondence from Lamar Fontaine of Lyon, Mississippi to a Mrs. Murdoch, in which he describes the history of the poem/song "All Quiet Along the Potomac." The authorship of this piece has been disputed, but Mr. Fontaine claims it was originally sung in his camp as Leesburg, VA in September 1861 and copyrited in the Confederate States Court in October 1861.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-1 (9 folders).

G.W. Bachman Journal. 1839-1885.  Photocopies of a journal that details the thoughts and experiences of a young Mississippi Methodist minister, G.W. Bachman. Because he was a circuit rider, Bachman was able to see much of north and central Mississippi during the war years. Most of his writing is about the war's impact on the Mississippi home front.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-1 (1 folder).

F.A.P. Barnard Collection. 1834-1886.  F.A.P. Barnard's correspondence is mainly with his brother, John Gross Barnard, and his friend E.W. Hillgard. The photocopied letters cover Barnard's time as chancellor of the University of Mississippi, his transfer through Army lines, and finally, his tenure at Columbia University. Because of his Unionist sympathies, Barnard resigned his position in Mississippi and went north. 

William T.S. Barry Letter. October 13, 1858. Barry was a Confederate congressman and president of the Mississippi state secession convention in 1861. Contains a photocopy and transcription of the letter and the Barry entry from Memoirs of MississippiLocation:  Small Manuscripts 82-1 (1 folder). 

Lionel Baxter Collection. 1851-1986. This collection contains wartime and postwar correspondence from various Confederate officers and soldiers on a wide variety of subjects. Letters and copies of letters include those from William J. Hardee, Leonidas Polk, John C. Pemberton, William S. Rosecrans, and Nathan B. Forrest. Also includes engravings, muster rolls, maps, and an extensive collection of books.  9 boxes.

J.H. Baxter Loyalty Oath. 1865. Baxter's Oath of Allegiance to the United States signed by him and witnessed by the probate judge of Panola County.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-2 (1 folder).

Beckwith/Yerger Collection. 1869-1930. This collection contains some Confederate commemoration ephemera of L.P. Yerger of Greenwood, Mississippi. Includes United Confederate Veterans forms, pamphlets, broadsides, and correspondence from 1901-1913.  7 boxes.

J.A. Bigger Diary. April 30, 1862-Mary 12, 1865. Bigger was a corporal in the 2nd Mississippi Cavalry, Co. G, Armstrong Brigade. The diary provides detailed movements and day-to-day operations of cavalry throughout Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, and Georgia. Typescript available.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-3 (4 folders).

William W. Bowden Letter.  24 August 1864. Bowden was with the 5th Tennessee Infantry Regiment, "Co. B and E." Bowden's letter was written to his sister from the Atlanta area where the Army of Tennessee was engaged. Although very little is said about combat or army operations, Bowden tells his sister that he is doing well and wishes he could join the cavalry, if only he could buy a horse. Typescript only. Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

M.W. Boyd Collection. 1861-1886.  Civil War and Reconstruction materials related to M.W. Boyd a surgeon who served in the 20th Regiment Company F (Lay's Cavalry) of the Confederate Army.  1 box.  Civil War material available as a digital collection in the Civil War Archive.

Richard C. Bridges Collection.  1861-1864.  A student at the University of Mississippi in 1861, Richard C. Bridges became a Confederate soldier in the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company A known as "the University Greys."  1 box.  Collection available as part of the Civil War Archive digital collection

Broadside, "Citizen, as Well as Brig. General, Chalmers."  Undated. Oxford, Mississippi. Charges Brigadier General Chalmers with unscrupulous conduct while serving in north Mississippi for the Confederate army.  Location:  F349 O9 H68 1860z.

Broadside, "General Order No. 1". June 18, 1865. Order acknowledging that Colonel G.M.L. Johnson of the 13th Indiana Cavalry will assume command of the sub-district of northeast Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 88-2 (1 folder).

Broadside, "General Order No. 2". May 24, 1865. Order issued by G.M.L. Johnson of the 13th Indiana Cavalry.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-12 (1 folder).

Broadside, "General Order No. 123". September 16, 1863. Richmond, VA. Contains a general order declaring that those Confederate soldiers captured at Vicksburg on July 4, 1863 are paroled. Those to be paroled include members of Stevenson's division, Bowen's division, Moore's brigade, 2nd Texas Regiment, and Waul's legion.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

Broadside, Natchez Courier. June 15, 1865. Document contains various advertisements and an article entitled, "Lieut. Gen. Grant's Address to the Soldiers."  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts: Broadsides & Broadsheets (1 folder). 

Broadside, North Mississippi Herald. 1906.  Broadside entitled "Something to be Proud Of" printed on behalf of the Mississippi gubernatorial campaign of Charles Scott. Includes a character reference combined with a brief narrative on his service during the Civil War by General Frank C. Armstrong.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 98-1 (1 folder).

Broadside, "To the Citizens of Adams County" Confederate order to burn cotton issued by Provost Marshal's Office on 2 May 1862." Cataloged:  F347 A2 T68 1862.

Broadside, "Record of Walthall's Brigade". April 15, 1904. Broadside promoting the sale of Rev. E.A. Smith's Record of Walthall's Brigade. At the bottom of the page is a handwritten note from E.A. Smith to his brother suggesting the book should be included in the college library.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 97-1 (1 folder).

Elizabeth Christie Brown Diary. January 1, 1853-September 27, 1863. Brown was the daughter of successful Natchez, Mississippi lumber mill owner Andrew Brown. She later married Rufus F. Learned whose family continued to operate the Natchez mill. Most of the diary is written in Natchez during 1863. Typescripts available.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 96-1 (2 folders).  Selected material available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

Juanita Brown Collection. 1861-1864. This collection includes extensive Civil War correspondence, most notably the letters of J.H. Buford to his sisters. Buford was a member of the 4th Tennessee Infantry Regiment, Co. H, the Tennessee Guards from Shelby County. He later transferred to the 32nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment at some point in early 1862.  7 boxes.  Material from Boxes 1 and 2 available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

F.Z. Browne Papers. Undated. Collection of three essays by Professor Frederick Zollicoffer Browne, two of which are related to the Civil War. One of the essays discusses the strange death of General Felix Kirk Zollicoffer in the battle of Mill Springs, KY, January 19, 1862. The second essay is a history of the University Greys.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Thomas A. Burgin Document. 1862. The document is the official notice of Thomas A. Burgin as 1st Lieutenant of the Oktibbeha Minute Men, an infantry company of the Mississippi Militia. The document is signed by Mississippi Governor John J. Pettus.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 79-7 (1 folder).

W.R. Burris Letter. April 12, 1865.  Burris was a member of the 3rd Mississippi Cavalry, Co. B. Written from Fort Delaware prison camp to his father, Edward Burris in Waterford, Mississippi. In the letter, Burris tells his father that he has recently been paroled and expects to be home soon.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

Burton-Butler Papers. 1853-1865.  Includes photocopied correspondence of J.F. Butler, a surgeon in the Army of Tennessee, to Mal Butler in Holly Springs, Mississippi, as well as a May 10, 1865 Loyalty Oath signed by J.F. Butler.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-2 (1 folder).

William Byers Letter. May 26, 1864.  Written by Byers from Rock Island Prisoner of War Camp in Illinois to his wife, Eliza.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Cairo Photographs. 1965.  Fifteen photographs with accompanying descriptions documenting the 1960s raising of the Union gunboat Cairo sunk in December 1862, twelve miles above the mouth of the Yazoo River.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-1 (1 folder).

Eugene Craven Callaway Collection.  1824-2005.  Consists of family letters and documents principally belonging to the Rev. James Render Callaway family who settled in Pontotoc and Lafayette County, Mississippi in the mid-1800s. The collection includes correspondence from the connecting families: Boyd, Farley, Reed, and Son. There are also Civil War and California Gold Rush era letters, as well as materials relating to religion during the Second and Third Great Awakening.  2 boxes.

Camp Chase Gazette 1973-1982.  Issues of Camp Chase Gazette, a magazine about Civil War history and reenactment and related Civil War material.  1 box.

Camp Dick Garnett Letterbook.  5 March -- 23 April 1864.  Letterbook contains correspondence from Confederate Army Lieutenant and Assistant Adjutant General Joseph C. Robert and his colleague, Colonel Edward Dillon, written at Camp Dick Garnett in the District of South West Mississippi and East Louisiana in 1864. (1 box).  Available online as part of the Civil War Archive.

John C. Campbell Collection. Undated.  Campbell was with the 29th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. C. The collection includes photocopies of biographical material on Campbell and a general history of the 29th Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Josiah A.P. Campbell Collection. 1890.  Letter from Judge Josiah Campbell listing both himself and W.P. Harris as the only surviving members of the Provisional Congress of the Confederacy elected by the Convention of Mississippi.  Some biographical material on the two men is included with the letter. The original letter, photocopies, and typescripts are available.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 82-1 (2 folders).

Civil War Centennial Collection. 1961-1963.  Press releases and pamphlets related to the Civil War Centennial commemoration in Mississippi and the United States.  1 box. 

Civil War Commemorative Stamp Collection. 1961-1965.  Five stamps commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Civil War. Stamps include Fort Sumter, 1861-1961; Shiloh, 1862-1962; Gettysburg, 1863-1963; The Wilderness, 1864-1964; and Appomattox, 1865-1965. Stamps remain in their commemorative packaging.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-3 (1 folder).  Available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

Civil War Rosters. 1961. Reproduced Civil War Roster for the University Greys, Co. A 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment; Lamar Rifles, Co. G, 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment; and Lafayette Guards, Co. H. 9th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-1 (1 folder).

J.W. Clapp Collection. 1834-1892.  Includes two items: a book of published speeches and appearances made by the Honorable J.W. Clapp, resident of north Mississippi and later Memphis and also a travel memoranda containing accounts of various trips taken in Clapp's lifetime. J.W. Clapp moved from Virginia to Holly Springs, Mississippi in the 1840s where he practiced law.  During the Civil War he served as the representative of the 1st Congressional District of Mississippi in the first Confederate Congress.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-5 (2 folders).

Clark Family Collection1832-1868.  Contains letters to Mrs. Margery B. Rogers Clark from her husband T. Goode Clark and her two sons Jonathan and A. Henry Clark.  All three men fought in the Confederate Army as members of the 42nd Mississippi Infantry and died at the Battle of Gettysburg.  2 boxes.  Available in the Civil War Archive digital collection.

A.M. Clayton Letter. 1887.  Includes a letter from the Confederate Judge A.M. Clayton regarding his tenure in the Provisional Congress at Montgomery, Alabama and his experience as a Confederate Judge for the District of Mississippi. Photocopies of original and typescripts are included.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 82-1 (1 folder).

Henry Clubb Collection. 1862-1863.  Typescripts of letters from Union Quartermaster Captain H.S. Clubb to his wife. Club sent his last letter from Vicksburg, Mississippi in August of 1863.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-2 (1 folder).

Coit Collection.  1856-1939.  Includes one Civil War letter from Col. John F. Harry while stationed in Louisiana.  1 box.

Confederate Bond.  Facsimile of a $500 bond.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Confederate Currency and Bonds CollectionLocation:  Small Manuscripts 2006-1 (2 folders). 

Confederate Currency Collection.  1861-1864.  1 box.

Confederate Government Documents Collection.  1861-1865.  Printed documents by the Confederate government, notably the Office of the President, Department of the Treasury, and congressional legislation, resolutions, and committee reports.  It includes one piece of handwritten correspondence.  6 boxes.     

"The Confederate Half Dollar". Undated manuscript. A brief typed essay on the rare Confederate half dollar, of which only a few were struck. Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Craft-Fort Papers. 1820-1878. Collection includes photocopies of the wartime correspondence of Henry Craft and Robert W. Fort of Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-2 (6 folders).

Lizzie Craft Diary. May-October 1862.  Diary of James Albert Paine who enlisted in Rockbridge's Artillery in Gordonsville, Virginia in July 1862.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-5 (1 folder).

R.F. Crenshaw Letter. December 30, 1860. Typescript of a letter from Crenshaw of Pontotoc, Mississippi to Ella Austin of Elkton, Tennessee. The letter concludes that Mississippians are set on secession, and the state will soon be out of the union.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 97-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Address. This address is the Confederate President Jefferson Davis' inaugural address in 1861.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-15 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Broadside. This 1865 broadside is entitled, "Jeff Pettycoats."   Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-15 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Broadside. Copyrighted in 1863 by D.C. Johnston, the broadside, "The House that Jeff Built" parodies Jefferson Davis and the Confederacy.  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts 79-2 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Broadside.  Robert P. McHugh, editor of the Gulfport-Biloxi Daily Herald, is the author of this broadside entitled, "Jefferson Davis: An American Patriot," which requests the addition of Davis' name to the National Hall of Fame roster.  James O. Eastland presented the text to the Senate on 9 June 1971.  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts 95-7 (1 tube).

Jefferson Davis Casement Pamphlet.  This early to mid-twentieth century tourism pamphlet by the Committee for the Fort Monroe Museum and the Jefferson Davis Casement is entitled, "Visit the Jefferson Davis Casement at Fort Monroe on Old Point Comfort Virginia."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Engraving. This engraved portrait of Jefferson Davis is by William Sartain of Philadelphia from a Matthew Brady photograph, circa 1859-1860.  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts 95-7 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Letter. This photocopied letter from former Confederate President Jefferson Davis to Captain William Delay is dated 6 December 1869 and comments upon the recent election.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Letter. This 1858 handwritten letter by Samuel C. Burr, Clerk of the Committee, invites the "Board of Directors" to accompany the mayor in meeting with Jefferson Davis during his visit to the [Boston] harbor.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Letter. In this 1888 letter to N.S. Walker of Staten Island, New York, Jefferson Davis discusses Walker's family, the Davis home on the Gulf Coast, and the health and activities of Davis family members.   Location:  Small Manuscripts 2005-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Letter and Cabinet Photograph. In this letter dated 30 August 1886, Jefferson Davis writes to "Mrs. Kell" regarding an enclosed photograph of himself and the death of his brother-in-law. Both the letter and the signed cabinet photograph produced by Lowenthal & Co. in New Orleans are mounted together on mat board.  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Material. This small collection contains two programs for unveilings of Jefferson Davis monuments (1940 in the State Capitol in Montgomery, Alabama; 1964 in Memphis, Tennessee's Confederate Park). It also includes a December 1971 issue of Wisconsin Then and Now with an article entitled, "Jefferson Davis: The Wisconsin Years."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Memorial Ribbon. This file contains a 1966 letter from J.C. Hathorn providing background information on Col. J.J. Williams, the author of the memorial ribbon's obituary text. Williams served in the Mississippi Legislature for at least one term during Reconstruction. The file also contains a copy of the ribbon.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 96-1 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Poem. This undated poem by DeWolfe is entitled, "The Capture of Jefferson Davis."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-15 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Speech. This speech by Davis is a reply to one made by Senator Douglas in 1860.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-15 (1 folder).

Jefferson Davis Speech. This speech by Davis is the Confederate Presidential Message of 1864.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-15 (1 folder).

Joseph E. Davis Collection. 1861-1870. While this collection contains very few records dating from the Civil War, much of it is about the Freedmen's Bureau's relations with both Joseph Davis (the brother of Jefferson Davis) and Benjamin Montgomery (former slave of Joseph Davis). Also in the collection are Davis' attempts to recover some land lost during the Civil War and the conditions of his plantations, Brierfield and Hurricane.  3 boxes.  Material from Box 1 is available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

Varina Howell Davis Letter. This handwritten letter dated 16 January 1893 is from Varina Davis, wife of Jefferson Davis. It is written to a Mrs. Gregory regarding a manuscript.   Location:  Small Manuscripts 79-3 (2 folders). 

Varina Howell Davis Letter. This handwritten letter dated 5 July 1890 from Varina Howell Davis to Colonel Lucius B. Northrup of Charlottesville, Virginia concerns the publication of letters from her husband to Northrop without her permission.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 88-2 (1 folder).

Charles Dean Collection. 1837-1982. This collection contains the papers of several related families from Holly Springs, Mississippi. The Civil War correspondents mention the 1861 secession of Virginia, battles at Shiloh and Corinth, Confederate conscription, the 1864 defense of Atlanta and siege of Richmond, and camp religious life. Many of the Civil War era letters are photocopies.  21 boxes.  Finding aid available in Special Collections.

Alice M. Debriere. 1901-1907.  Certificates and newspaper clippings about Union Army veteran Louis Guenther, 2nd Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regiment. Included are a pension certificate, a marriage license, and a Grand Army of the Republic membership certificate.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Samuel Dewoody. June 1, 1865. Civil War Loyalty Oath of Samuel N. Dewoody from Tishomingo County, Mississippi. The oath was signed at Fort Delaware prison. Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

Colonel Theopilus Lyle Dickey Reminiscence. The manuscript is a copy of the official report of Col. Theophilus Lyle Dickey of the 4th Illinois Cavalry after the Battle of Coffeeville, December 7, 1862. Dickey's report also contains accounts of skirmishes around Oxford and Water Valley, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 97-1 (1 folder).

Ora Iona Dilley Paper. "Why President Abraham Lincoln was Assassinated and What Became of John Wilkes Booth." The paper provides an alternate theory on the motives of the assassination and Booth's ultimate fate.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 85-1 (1 folder).

William Sylvester Dillon Diary. April 12, 1861-June 25, 1865. William Sylvester Dillon was a member of the 4th Tennessee Infantry, Co. E. Most of the first section of his diary is devoted to field operations and movements of the Army of Tennessee. He participated in the battle at Shiloh, was wounded and captured at Perryville, Kentucky, and was later exchanged. Afterwards, he saw action at Chickamauga and Chattanooga, where he was captured for a final time during the Union assault on Missionary Ridge. The last year of his diary from Rock Island prisoner of war camp is devoted entirely to prison life and thoughts on the direction of the war. Typescripts only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-3 (1 folder).  Selected material available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

W.E. Duncan Letters. July 10, 1861-June 27, 1862. This collection contains six Civil War letters of Pvt. William E. Duncan of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. D. Duncan was mortally wounded at Gaines' Mill, VA, June 27, 1862. Typescripts available.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-1 (1 folder).

Professor J.G. Dupree Reminiscences. 1865-1917. The collection contains the postwar clippings saved by Mrs. J.G. Dupree, wife of a former University of Mississippi Pedagogy Professor, J.G. Dupree. Included in the clippings is an article that Dupree composed in which he describes his experiences during the Civil War, where he served in the 1st Mississippi Cavalry. Most of the clippings are from newspapers in Verona and Macon, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (1 folder).

Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection. 1840s-1980s. This collection chronicles the interwoven histories of several families of North Mississippi and Tennessee. The early papers primarily concern the life and career of Isabella Buchanan Edmondson, known as "Belle." She was born in Pontotoc, MS in 1840 and was the eighth child of Mary Ann Howard and Andrew Jackson Edmondson. Andrew, a veteran of the war of 1812, worked as a surveyor during the wild days surrounding the cession of Indian lands in the 1830s. He worked in different capacities over the course of several years: Receiver of Public Monies and Recorder of Deeds in Pontotoc; as clerk of the Chancery Court in Marshall County in the late 1840s; and by 1856 he was a farmer by profession. The family lived in several different homes throughout Belle's youth. She was educated at the prestigious Franklin Female College in Marshall County, MS. The Edmondson family moved to Shelby County, TN just before the Civil War began and much of the collection reflects their association with Memphis as well as Mississippi. During the Civil War,while Belle's brothers served in the military, she worked as a spy for the Confederacy. She mainly worked in and around North Mississippi and reported primarily to Missouri troops. Belle also smuggled good across the Union picket lines after Memphis was taken by Federal forces after the battle for the city on June 6, 1862. In 1864 a warrant was actually issued for Belle's arrest due to her spying and smuggling activities. She moved to Waverly Plantation in Clay County, MS in November 1864 to escape. It is known that she remained at Waverly into the early part of 1865 but it is not known if she ended the war there. She would end her days in July 1873, two days after announcing her engagement to an unknown individual, a "Col. H." Materials in the collection include war correspondence from Belle regarding her efforts on behalf of the Confederate soldiers in the area. For much of the information about the early portion of the collection please see the transcribed diary of Belle Edmondson in the publication, A Lost Heroine of the Confederacy: The Diaries and Letters of Belle Edmondson, edited by William and Lorette Galbraith. 35 boxes. Materials from Boxes 1 and 2 are available online as part of the Civil War Digital Collection.

Pvt. John J. Egger Letter. November 1, 1863. Private Egger of Co. F, 43rd Mississippi Infantry letter to his family regarding the construction of hospitals for the Confederacy.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2005-1 (1 folder).

Egger Family Letter. September 8, 1862. William and Sally Egger to Charles P. Egger of Co. D, 24th Mississippi Infantry regarding conscription and sickness in the family.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2005-1 (1 folder). 

Kinloch Falconer Collection. August 19, 1862-June 20, 1874. Kinloch Falconer, from Holly Springs, Mississippi, was an 1861 graduate of the University of Mississippi and later an Adjutant General in the Army of Tennessee. Eventually he would become Secretary of State for Mississippi. The collection contains approximately 70 pieces of wartime correspondence, field dispatches, orders, and circulars between various Confederate generals of the Army of Tennessee: General Joseph E. Johnston, General Braxton Bragg, General John Bell Hood, Lt. Gen. Leonidas Polk, Maj. Gen. Joseph Wheeler, and Brig. General William W. Mackall. Most of the correspondence relates to the Atlanta Campaign of 1864, more specifically the Battle of Resaca on May 13-15, 1864. Also includes six post-war letters from Joseph E. Johnston to Kinloch Falconer.  2 boxes.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Farmer's Almanac. 1864. Original copy of A.L. Scovill & Co.'s Farmers' & Mechanics' Almanac for 1864Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-2 (1 folder).

Winfield Scott Featherston Collection. 1824-1952.  Collection of Confederate Brigadier General Featherston, containing correspondence, legal documents, newspapers, currency, reports, rosters, speeches, and pamphlets related to his time in the Confederate army. Featherston commanded troops in the Vicksburg Campaign, Atlanta Campaign, and Hood's Tennessee Campaign. After the war, he maintained a law practice in his hometown of Holly Springs, Mississippi.  16 boxes.  Selected materials from Boxes 3 through 13 are available online in the Civil War Archive.

Eugene B. Ferris Collection. 1830-1971. Contains family letters dating back to 1839. The only Civil War item is the reminiscence of Dr. Henry A. Minor, a surgeon who entered service attached to the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. He would later serve in the 9th Alabama Infantry Regiment in Longstreet's Corps. Minor give a gruesome picture of the duties of a Civil War surgeon and he mentioned the engagements of First Manassas, the Seven Days' Battles, Fredericksburg, Harpers Ferry, Antietam, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Chickamauga, and Cold Harbor.  4 boxes.

Elijah Fleming Collection. c. 1859. Collection contains 19 tintypes of the University of Mississippi class of 1859, including faculty.  Several of the students later enlisted in the 11th Mississippi Regiment of the Confederate Army.  1 box.  Digitally available in the University Archives Photographs digital collection (select "Browse by Original Collection").

Charles C. Flint, Jr. Diary. January-December 1865. Charles Flint was a member of the 13th Michigan Infantry Regiment, Co. K and his diary records his experiences during the last year of the war. Flint begins the year stationed with the rest of the Army of the Tennessee near Savannah, Georgia. During Sherman's march through the Carolinas, Flint saw combat near Wilmington at Fort Fisher and at Bentonville, where he was wounded in the knee. He spent the rest of the war in the hospital. After he recuperated from his injury, Flint toured Washington, D.C. and New York before going back home to Three Rivers, Michigan. Later in the year he visited Mississippi, which he described as a "very poor country." He finishes 1865 by taking a clerical job in Nashville, Tennessee in the Quartermaster Department.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-2 (1 folder).

Kate Walthall Freeman Collection. 1841-1919. Contains several antebellum letters and an album with post-war materials. One letter, dated November 6, 1860, reveals Freeman's thoughts regarding the election of Abraham Lincoln as President of the United States. The only Civil War letter is dated September 1, 1864 and is from Mary in Macon, Georgia to her sisters.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-2 (6 folders).

Norma Miller French Collection. 1856-c.1890.  Contains eight Civil War letters, an oath of allegiance, newspaper clippings, and a blank membership form for the Association of Confederate Soldiers, Tennessee Division. Three of the letters seem to be from W.S. Riddick, a Private in the 5th Tennessee Cavalry, Co.D. to his wife Laura. They describe camp life, loneliness, and boredom. The other letters are from a variety of correspondents.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 97-1 (1 folder).

Ray Fulton Collection. January-June 1862. Contains the 1962 diary of Sally B. McRae, a young lady from Kemper County, Mississippi. Although actual combat is rarely discussed, she does write often about caring for the wounded from Shiloh, who were hospitalized at Lauderdale Springs, Mississippi by making trips to help or simply by gathering rags to send for bandages.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-2 (6 folders).

Gage Family Collection. 1830-1908. Includes the letters of Jeremiah S. Gage, 11th Mississippi, Co. A "University Greys." Gage's last letter was written 3 July 1863 from Gettysburg, where he was mortally wounded.   Available online in the Civil War Archive :

Lecie Gant Autograph Album. 1862-1866. Photocopy and transcription of an autograph album belonging to Lecie Gant of Oxford, Mississippi. Original owned by the University of Mississippi Museums.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (1 folder).

B.F. Gentry Letters. 1862-1864. Gentry served with the 29th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. E., the "Oakland Rebels." The collection includes Civil War correspondence written from Knoxville, northern Georgia, and Mississippi. Most of his letters concern family matters. Typescripts available.  Locations:  Small Manuscripts 2000-1 and Oversized Small Manuscripts 2000-2.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Roxana Chapin Gerdine Collection.  1858-1892.  Born in Massachusetts to an abolitionist family, Roxana Chapin married William Louis Crawford Gerdine, a widower with nine children from West Point, Mississippi with a substantial cotton plantation. Includes correspondence with her family about rising tensions between the North and South as well as the Civil War.  3 boxes.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Gettysburg Invitation. Two invitations addressed to the University of Mississippi Library from "His Excellency William L. Waller" to the dedication ceremonies of the monument in honor of the Mississippi Confederate Dead.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-2 (1 folder).

Gillespie Family Memoirs. c. 1926.  Includes the wartime recollections of Letita Dabney Miller, from Raymond, Mississippi. Miller recounts her experiences and hardships as a child of a Mississippi small slaveholder. She grew up in both Mississippi and South Carolina during the Civil War. Included are firsthand accounts of the Fort Sumter bombardment and Grant's inland campaign against Vicksburg. Typescripts only. Location:  Small Manuscripts 88-1 (1 folder).

Dr. John T. Grantham Collection. 1934-1950s.  Includes correspondence related to the Civil War Roundtable of Mississippi.  2 boxes.

John Gray Letter. June 17, 1861.  A letter from John Gray, an Alabama Baptist minister, to his future wife, Rose, discussing Union and Confederate activity along the Potomac River and Chesapeake Bay in May-June 1861. Gray specifically mentions the artillery at Aquia Creek on May 30-31, 1861. The letter also includes his own opinions on the political and social turmoil in Maryland since secession.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-3 (1 folder).

Civil War Collections H-Z

J.V. Harris Telegram. May 7, 1863. Telegram from Brig. General J.V. Harris to Captain R.M. Hood informing the captain that he has left 100 muskets and 30 thousand cartridges in charge of Sanders & Sons. Sent by telegraph via Meridian, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

J. Watson Henderson Collection. Henderson enlisted as a Private in Company B of the 30th Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers. After his first wife died he remarried Sarah Ann Means. He owned a small plantation in Panola County, Mississippi. J.W. Henderson died in May 1864. This collection consists primarily of correspondence between J.W. Henderson and his wife “Sallie.” He discusses the hardships and privation of war life. He also writes about home life and missing his family.  1 box.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Reverend Jesse L. Henderson Civil War Diary. Collection contains the diary of Reverend Jesse L. Henderson written 1864. Diary has been transcribed.  Available online in the Civil War Archive

Rev. Graham Hodges Collection.  1797-1999. Includes a typed manuscript by Hodges entitled "A Bit of Civil War History Seldom Mentioned in Mississippi:  Col. Grierson's Raid of April 1863." 7 boxes.

E.E. Holman Letter. 1871.  Letter from Holman in Holly Springs, Mississippi to J.W. Denver, regarding war claims for the loss of fence rails, firewood, and houses to Union troops.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 80-1 (1 folder).

Minnie Holt Collection. c. 1936.  Contains transcripts of interviews with former Lafayette County slaves presumably collected for the 1930s Works Progress Administration.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 79-3 (8 folders).

Mr. and Mrs. John B. Hood Collection.  c. 1920.  Notebook and scrapbook with items related to Colonel John B. Hood, commander of Hood's Texas Brigade in the Confederate Army.  1 box.

Hopson Collection.  Contains information on Capt. Frederick Ingate and the Ingate family during the Civil War.  1 box.

William D. Howell Diary. [1863]-1865.  Photocopy and transcription of William D. Howell's diary. Howell was a Private in Company I of the 3rd Mississippi Regiment. Original owned by the University Museums.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (1 folder).  Available online in the Civil War Archive:

Howry Family Collection. 1838-1981. Correspondence of James M. Howry and his family. Includes letters from Jefferson and Varina Davis.  6 boxes.

John L. Hudson Collection. 1849-1863. John L. Hudson was a member of the University of Mississippi class of 1851, a State Legislator (Marshall County) from 1859-1861, and later a captain in the Confederate army. Material includes photocopies of many speeches and a character recommendation of John L. Hudson by Alex M. Clayton of Calhoun County, Mississippi, dated September 20, 1863.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-5 (1 folder).

William Spencer Hudson Manuscript. [1863]-1865. Hudson was a member of the 31st Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. D. The collection consists of a twelve page typed manuscript by Weldon Hudson concerning the Civil War history of his ancestor, William Spencer Hudson. The manuscript gives general accounts of action in Mississippi, including the Vicksburg campaign. Photocopy only.  Cataloged:  E467.1 H883 H83 1969.

Hunter Family Collection. 1854-c.1960. This collection contains typescripts of Civil War era letters and photocopied documents from the Hunter family of north Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-1 (12 folders).

John F. Johnson Collection. 1849-1911. The collection contains accounting records from 1849-1870 and a photocopied journal from 1858-1911. 4 boxes.

John Wesley Johnson Collection. Collection contains the papers of John Wesley Johnson, University of Mississippi professor from 1907. Documents regarding the Civil War era include a roster of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment and correspondence from Marcus Wright of the U.S. War Department regarding the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  6 boxes.

James T. Jones Collection. 1861-1869. Jones was a member of the 12th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, the "Sardis Blues." The collection includes letters to various members of his family. The collection also includes several postwar letters related to his war record.  1 box.  Available online in the Civil War Archive :

Russell Jones Collection. 1861-1862. This collection includes photocopied letters from Edwin A. Myers, possibly of the Mississippi State Cavalry, 3rd Battalion, to his family while Myers served with his regiment in Virginia. Also included is a newspaper account of the bombardment of Fort Sumter, which contains the official reports of Brigadier General Dunovant and Lieutenant Colonel R.S. Ripley.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-5 (1 folder).

Walter B. Jones Printed Card. Printed card of "The Confederate Creed" by Walter Jones.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-3 (1 folder).

Charlie Kendrick Letter. September 18, 1863.  Kendrick was a member of the 4th Georgia Infantry Regiment, Co. K. The single letter is from a Confederate camp on the Rapidan describing camp life. Typescript only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

W.L. Kennon Address. 1934. Mimeograph typescript of address, "A Tribute to the Womanhood of the Confederacy," given to the Edward Carey Walthall Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Lafayette County Petitioners for Pardons.  Typed list of names of petitioners for Presidential pardons after the Civil War by Lafayette County, Mississippi residents.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (1 folder).

Fannie Lamar Letters. 1862-1864. Three photocopied letters from Fannie Lamar to B.A. Walthall which provide insight into the world of privileged young women during the war years.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-6 (3 folders).

L.Q.C. Lamar Letter. Photocopied letter from Lamar to President Andrew Johnson requesting pardon. Also includes a photocopy of his loyalty oath.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (1 folder).

Leavell Family Collection. Includes one 1865 letter written by Richard M. Leavell to his wife, while imprisoned on Johnson's Island in Ohio.  Leavell served in the 2nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company I.  2 boxes.  The letter is also available as part of the online Civil War Archive

J.J. Little Collection. 28 June 1861 -- 1 August 1862. Collection includes the correspondence of Jefferson J. Little to his father and mother while stationed in Florida and later in Meridian and Columbus as a doctor in the Bahala Rifles (10th Mississippi Infantry, Company H). The letters provide insight into the daily activity of soldiers.  1 box.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Lockwood Collection. 1909. Includes a handwritten reminiscence of Dr. T.P. Lockwood of the 6th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. F., the Crystal Springs Guards. The manuscript discusses both the battles of Shiloh and Kennesaw Mountain.  2 boxes.

John Guy Lofton Collection. John Guy Lofton served in the Army of Northern Virginia, Company H, 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. He was mortally wounded at the Battle of Seven Pines on May 31, 1862. He is buried in  Hampton National Cemetery in Hampton, Virginia. 1 box. Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Matilda Long Pension Application. August 17, 1915. Confederate pension application of Mrs. Matilda Long of Jasper County, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2005-1 (1 folder).

Longstreet-Hinton Collection. 1841-1954. Collection includes three letters written to Thomas N. Wendel between October 1862-March 1863 and an 1863 deed for slaves. The letters from Baugh Kennedy (October 31, 1862) and J.B. Jennings (November 21, 1862) discuss business transactions. The W.C. Taylor letter (March 4, 1863) deals with various citizens of Lafayette County taking an oath of loyalty to the United States during the Federal occupation. Also included in the collection is an unsigned deed for six slaves from Thomas N. Wendel to his daughter, Harriet M. Longstreet.  3 boxes.

J.M. Love Diary. March 5, 1862-March 16, 1862. The collection includes a photocopied section from the diary of J.M. Love, a member of Wirt Adams' Cavalry Regiment, Co. G. The diary discusses cavalry operations around Jackson, Mississippi during March of 1862.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 82-2 (1 folder).

John M. Lyles Letter. July 13, 1861. Letter from J.M. Lyles, an officer in the Confederate army to Judge Paris updating him on the state of affairs in Virginia.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2000-2 (1 folder).

Map Collection.  Includes several maps related to the Civil War in Mississippi. 

McAlexander/Marshall County Collection.  1838-2009.  Includes research material on the Civil War in Holly Springs and Marshall County, Mississippi.  24 boxes.

Lt. C.B. McCalebb Letter. March 22, 1861. McCalebb was elected 1st Lieut. of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. A, University Greys. His letter is a petition to the Military Board of Mississippi for active service in the Confederate Army. Typescript only.  Location:  University Small Manuscripts, Box 50, Folder 20.

Duncan McCollum Diary. 1861. Typescripts of a diary from a University of Mississippi student at the beginning of the Civil War. McCollum was not a member of the University Greys but he planned to join another regiment, possibly cavalry.  Location:  University Small Manuscripts, Box 45, Folder 13.

Rev. A.C. McDonald Sermon. April 21, 1870. Photocopy of a sermon delivered on a "Day of General Thanksgiving in the Hall of Representatives" by McDonald entitled "Mississippi and its Future."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (1 folder).

Thomas Fondren McKie Letters. October 29, 1862 and November 19, 1862. McKie was a member of the 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. Co. A, the University Greys. He was killed on July 3, 1863 at Gettysurg. The collection consists of three letters written by the sixteen year old McKie to his mother and older sister. Typescripts only.  Location:  University Small Manuscripts, Box 50, Folder 5.

Rev. Thaddeus McRae Collection. 1831-1880. The collection contains articles and an autobiography by Rev. Thaddeus McRae which records his feelings and actions about secession and the Civil War. McRae spent a large portion of his childhood in Mississippi but was in Texas at the outbreak of hostilities. Photocopies only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-5 (2 folders).

Miller-Avent Papers.  1851-1960.  Primarily Civil War correspondence of the Miller family of Pontotoc, Mississippi whose father and sons served in the 42nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company F.  1 box.

Miller Family Papers. 1830-1864. This collection includes the correspondence of the Miller family of Pontotoc County, Mississippi. Letters include those of Colonel Hugh Miller, his sons, Edward and George, all with the 42nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. F. Much of the correspondence is with S.G. Miller, their wife and mother.  2 boxes.  The civil war material is available online in the Civil War Archive

D.H. Miller Letters. 1863. Contains a letter written by a Union soldier to a correspondent in Indiana describing conditions in Vicksburg, Mississippi after the surrender. Also contains a letter written during the siege of Vicksburg with a hand-drawn map of the area. Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (3 folders).

Military Annals of Mississippi. Typescript. Compiled by J.C. Rietti, 10th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. The typescript is entitled, Military Organizations Which Entered the Service of the Confederate States of AmericaLocation:  Small Manuscripts 79-2 (1 folder).

Mississippi Civil War History Collection.  A small collection of miscellaneous documents including a 1965 newsletter from the Civil War Roundtable of Mississippi, a 1974 bibliographic essay on the federal ironclad Cairo by Mary Wynn, humor broadsides relating to eh war, a photocopy of General Order No. 9 from General Van Dorn on July 4, 1862, and a photocopy of a "Circular to Sherriffs" in Macon County dated November 16, 1864 from Governor Clark of Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-4 (1 folder).

Mississippi Jews in the Civil War. 1895 and 1897. Photocopied selections from books listing Jews who served Mississippi during the Civil War. Also includes an essay that briefly summarizes Mississippi Jews' role in the Civil War. Published by the American Jewish Historical Society in 1895 and 1897.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-4 (1 folder).

Mississippi Periodicals Collection.  1921-1982.  Includes "The Sixteenth Indiana Regiment in the Last Vicksburg Campaign" Indiana Magazine of History (March 1947).  6 boxes.

Robert Augustus Moore Diary. May 1861-September 1863. Three volumes. Moore belonged to the 17th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. G. His diary refers to Camp Walker, Confederate Hospital in Virginia, Manassas, Leesburg, Goose Creek, Brucetown, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, and Chickamauga among others. Diary transcribed and published by James W. Silver entitled, A Life for the Confederacy, as Recorded in the Pocket Diaries of Pvt. Robert A. Moore, Co. G, 17th Mississippi Regiment, Confederate Guards, Holly Springs, MississippiLocation:  Small Manuscripts 78-5 (3 folders). Available online in the Civil War Archive.

William Terry Moore Reminiscence. 1905, 1913. Moore was a member of the 1st Mississippi Light Artillery, Co. A and participated in the Vicksburg campaign. His reminiscence provides first-hand accounts of the battles of Chickasaw Bayou, Champion Hill (Bakers Creek), and the Vicksburg siege.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-3 (1 folder).

Noah Farnham Morrison. c. 1900. Catalog of books and pamphlets pertaining to the Civil War and slavery.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 79-3 (1 folder).

Dr. Hillery Moseley Journal. July 3-August 26, 1863.  Moseley was a member of the 42nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment. A typed journal of Moseley's period of recovery from wounds he sustained at Gettysburg on July 3rd.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Muster roll, 27th Mississippi. 1863.  Location:  (Oversized) Small Manuscripts 79-6 (1 folder).

General C.G. Nelms Collection. 1849-1885. Includes the Loyalty Oath of Mrs. A. McCorkle signed August 5, 1865.  Photocopy only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-7 (1 folder). 

William C. Nelson Collection. 1857-1904. William Cowper Nelson was a student at the University of Mississippi from Holly Springs. He remained at the University until the outbreak of the war in the spring of 1861. He enlisted in the Marshall County Home Guards (later Company B), Ninth Mississippi Infantry Regiment. He served initially in Pensacola, Florida. He then transferred in the summer of 1862 to Company G, Seventeenth Regiment Mississippi Infantry, and later served as a staff officer with Brig. Gen. Carnot Posey (later Nathaniel Harris') brigade. At the time of his service under Posey, Will had risen through the ranks from private to second lieutenant. By the end of the war Will had survived the fighting at Santa Rosa, Florida; the Seven Days Battle; Sharpsburg; Fredericksburg; Chancellorsville; Gettysburg; the Wilderness; Spotsylvania; and eventually he was entrenched in the siege of Petersburg. Notably he was cited for bravery as a courier while at the battle of Fredericksburg.  11 boxes.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Newspapers (Bound).  Volumes 18 and 19 contains July-September 1861 and January-March 1865 issues of New York's The World.  178 volumes.

Newspapers (Boxed) Box 8 contains a 1908 "Our Women in the War" supplement of the of the Jackson Daily Clarion Ledger on raising funds for the Mississippi Civil War Women monument and three January 1861 issues of Jackson Mississippian. Box 11 includes a special edition of the Greenville Delta Flag appealing for funds to support the Beauvoir Veterans Home.  Box 36 holds a 14 March 1861 issue of Oxford Mercury and 1860-1861 issues of Oxford Intelligencer.  Box 57 includes a 1 July 1963 Civil War Centennial issue of the Vicksburg Evening Post.  Box 58 contains Civil War Centennial editions of The Daily Corinthian and the Greenwood Commonwealth as well as a 1930 Biloxi News "40th Annual Reunion United Confederate Veterans Souvenir Number."  Box 59 has a 16 May 1861 issue of Aberdeen Sunny South.  Box 63 includes a 1964 "The Cairo Story" edition of the Vicksburg Evening Post commemorating the salvaging of the Civil War gunboat Cairo.  Box 64 holds March and October 1863 issues of Natchez Courier.  Box 66 contains a 2 July 1863 issue of the Vicksburg Daily Citizen printed on the back of wallpaper (two reproductions and one original).  Box 62 contains UDCMS, the official publication of the United Daughters of the Confederacy of Mississippi with issues from 1908 to 1971.  Box 72 contains assorted newspaper issues covering the death and funeral of Jefferson Davis in December 1889.  75 boxes.

Noxubee County Petition. c. 1863. Document bearing the signatures of several Noxubee County, Mississippi residents authorizing the levy of a tax for war purposes by the Board of Police.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-4 (1 folder).

Oath of Allegiance. July 28, 1865. Collection contains the Oath of Allegiance No. 315 from the State of Mississippi for J.H. Baxter of Panola County.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-2 (1 folder).

Oxford, Mississippi Report from General Grant's Army Camp. December 26, 1862. Photocopy of the Memphis Daily Appeal account of the occupation of Oxford, Mississippi by General Grant's army in 1862.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-2 (1 folder).

Oxford, Mississippi. Undated. Includes a reprinted account of the burning of Oxford, Mississippi by Union troops from The Oxford Falcon, November 23, 1865 and a 1971 essay on the subject by Bill Jacobs.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-1 (1 folder).

Oxford Mercury. Photocopy of an Oxford, Mississippi newspaper. The topics discussed in this publication mainly pertain to the Confederate States of America and the Civil War.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 98-1 (1 folder).

John Petrea Letters. September 20, 1862 and May 27, 1863. John Petrea was with the 19th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. G. Writing from a Richmond, Virginia hospital, Petrea's first letter discusses his views on the war and his desire to return home. The second letter is from the Christian Philanthropic Society of Fredericksburg, Virginia, to Petrea's father, informing him of John's death at the Battle of Chancellorsville. Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-1 (2 folders).

Pension Application. 1892. Application for a Confederate Widow's Pension by Catherine Mills of Simpson County, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 79-3 (1 folder).

Port Hudson, LA Lithographs. Copies of 11 lithographs of Port Hudson, Louisiana during the Civil War.  Location:  Oversized Small Manuscripts 93-1 (1 folder).

Pre-Civil War Scrapbook. This scrapbook contains newspaper clippings from several newspapers, including the Mobile Register and the Mississippi Democrat dating from as early as 1856 which deal with the intensifying political situation.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-3 (1 folder). 

Presidential Pardon. September 1, 1865. Pardon documents for Al Sharkey of Tallahatchie County, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2000-2 (1 folder).

Mrs. R.E. Price Collection. 1859-1996. This collection includes a handwritten manuscript by Susan P. Gaston, probably dating from the 1870s, which discusses Civil War activity in Corinth and Alcorn County, Mississippi. Also includes clippings from the Daily Corinthian from 1971-1972 relating to the history of the Civil War in Corinth.  3 boxes.

Ann Rayburn Collection of Paper Americana. 1858-1997. Box 1 includes essays by and correspondence to Evan Jeffries Shelby, a UM student in 1861 who died in 1864 while serving in the Confederate States Army.  Series 4 also includes vintage postcards of the UM campus.  84 boxes.

Dr. T.H. Rayburn Collection.  Twentieth-century philatelic envelopes whose stamps commemorate the Civil War.  4 boxes.

"The Rebel States" Envelopes. 1861. Northern propaganda envelopes of the Confederate states of Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, and South Carolina.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-7 (1 folder).

Thomas Reber Collection. 1860-1918. Thomas Reber was a 1st Lieut. in the 88th Ohio Volunteer Regiment, Quartermaster Corps stationed at Camp Chase, Ohio. The collection contains both personal correspondence, mainly from friends and family, and Reber's official quartermaster reports from Camp Chase.  4 boxes.  Material from Box 2 is available online in the Civil War Archive

E.M. Riley Letter. December 19, 1863. Riley was an Oxford, Mississippi bookseller and member of the 39th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. The letter is to his sister, Mrs. E.B. Riley, from his camp near Enterprise, Mississippi and discusses some camp concerns and matters back at home. Typescript available.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-2 (1 folder).

Robb/Ferris Family Collection. 1826-1928. This collection includes the wartime correspondence of Charles W. Trueheart, Assistant Surgeon in the 8th Alabama Infantry, to his family. Many of the letters discuss the war's impact on the Virginia landscape.  Typescripts only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 93-2 (2 folders).

Charles Roberts Collection. 1862-1865. Collection of 42 Civil War letters written by Corporal Charles Roberts to his wife back at home in Oxford, Mississippi. Roberts was attached to Stanford's Battery of Mississippi Light Artillery as part of Brig. Gen. Otho T. Strahl's brigade in the Army of Tennessee. Roberts later transferred to the Quartermaster Department of the Army of Tennessee after Chickamauga. His letters provide vivid descriptions of camp life and detailed army movements in Tennessee and during the Chattanooga/Chickamauga and Atlanta campaigns.  1 box.  Available online in the Civil War Archive.

Col. William P. Rogers Pamphlet. May 12, 1954. A printed pamphlet that contains a short biography of Rogers, "whose name is the only one on the Confederate Monument in the Corinth Courthouse square."   Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-4 (1 folder).

Scrapbook. c. 1900. Contains newspaper accounts with recollections of Civil War veterans. Several clippings cover Gen. M.P. Lowry and Col. W.C. Falkner. Most clippings are from the Southern Sentinel in Ripley, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-4 (2 volumes).

Scrapbook. c. 1860-1861.  The scrapbook contains a collection of clippings from the Vicksburg Whig leading up to and through the first few months of the Civil War. Clippings cover sectional politics, the election of 1860, slavery, secession, and the beginnings of the war.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-3 (1 folder).

Sessions Collection 1860-1929.  Collection includes a scrapbook maintained by Clara Sessions of Holmes County, Mississippi during the Civil War as well as Civil War reminiscences of her cousin Delia Sessions from Yazoo County.  1 box. 

Settle Family Collection. 1860-1864. Includes correspondence of Thomas Settle and Sam Settle of the 32nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. D. Much of the correspondence is to their parents back home in Mississippi.  1 box. 

Sheet Music (Miscellaneous) Collection.  1846-1974.  Includes 1863 "'63 Is the Jubilee"; 1907 "Southern Cross Drill" (composed by Lieut. Dugan of South Carolina while a prisoner-of-war in Johnson's Island in 1864); 1861 "The Southern Marseillaise"; and "There Isn't Any North and South" (cover depicts meeting of generals Clement A. Evans and Fred D. Grant at 1909 Confederate Reunion in Memphis, Tennessee).  1 box.

Ship Island Newsletter. May 17, 1862. Soldier's News-Letter, vol. I., no. II from Ship Island, Mississippi. The newsletter discusses the recent surrender of New Orleans to Union forces.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 96-1 (1 folder).

James W. Silver Collection. 1862-1986. This collection of a former University of Mississippi History professor includes six Civil War letters. Most of the correspondence is between James A. Carlisle and his wife Lucretia describing Confederate camp life, the emotional state of soldiers and their families, the organization of the southern military, and personal views on the war (Box 26, Folder 7).  50 boxes.  Four folders are available online in the Civil War Digital Archive.

Calvin R. Simmons Collection. 1840-1992. The collection contains one Civil War letter dated July 6, 1861 from W.L. Conner in Bradley County, Arkansas to his "Aunt and Cousins." Conner discusses crops, general agricultural matters, and family but makes no mention of the war.  Also includes a Confederate battle flag circa May 1863-March 1865 in the second national pattern (Unframed Photographs Box 2, Folder 18).  24 boxes.

George Sisler Printed Document. A reprint of the series of articles "Last Days as a Rebel Town" that originally appeared in the June 3-6 editions of The Commercial Appeal in 1961.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 94-3 (1 folder).

A.O. South Letter. August 7, 1861. South was a member of the 2nd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. F, the Magnolia Rifles. His letter is from Camp Jones, near Manassas Junction, Virginia and describes the First Battle of Bull Run/Manassas.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-1 (1 folder).

Lt. Jessie Roderick Sparkman Diary. 1841-1960. Photocopied and transcribed Civil War journal and family genealogical material for Lt. Jesse Roderick Sparkman who served as Second Lieutenant in the Jeff Davis Legion, Co. C, the Southern Guards from Kemper County, Mississippi. The diary describes his regiment's movements in Virginia and its participation in the Seven Days battles, Antietam, Gettysburg, and Petersburg. Typescript only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-7 (1 folder).

Special Order, No. 127. December 19, 1865. Vicksburg, Mississippi. Handwritten order shifting the Federal occupation forces in Grenada and Vicksburg, Mississippi. Sent by Assistant Adjt. Gen. Marcus P. Bestow, by order of Maj. Gen. Thomas J. Wood.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (1 folder).

William Forbes Stearns Collection.  1841-1866.  Papers of first University of Mississippi law professor William F. Stearns.  Includes lectures on constitutional government and pre-Civil War sectionalism and slavery.  2 boxes.

M.D.L. Stephens Manuscript. Stephens was a colonel in the 31st Mississippi Infantry, Co. D. His recollections provide accounts of skirmishes around Oxford, Water Valley, and Coffeeville, Mississippi. Also included is a narrative of the Battle of Franklin, Tennessee. Typescript only. Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-3 (1 folder).

Josiah M. Stephenson Collection. September 7, 1871. Claim and testimony regarding property confiscated by Union troops in Marshall County, Mississippi. Typescript only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-7 (1 folder). 

Brig. General Joseph Stockton Diary. 1862. Stockton was a member of the 2nd Mississippi Infantry, Co. C. Included are excerpts from his diary describing Confederate army movements around Oxford, Water Valley, and Coffeeville in December 1862. Typescript only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

Alfred H. Stone Collection. c. 1780-1944. This collection includes a probable aide-de-camp entry book for Fort Pleasants from March 29-December 31, 1863.  4 boxes.

George M. Street Collection. Included in this collection (Box 20) are typed transcriptions of the Civil War correspondence of John Berryman Crawford of the 16th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. F to his wife Martha. The letters are dated between April 12, 1863 and March 18, 1864. Crawford spent much of the latter half of 1863 in the hospital and most of his letters discuss his thoughts on the war and matters of home. Transcriptions only.  23 boxes.

Andrew Baron Stewart Autograph Album.  1861.  Album of Andrew Baron Stewart in the University of Mississippi Class of 1861.  Stewart fought in the Confederate forces.  Transcription available.  1 box.

Belle Strickland Diary. 1864-1868.  Belle Strickland was the daughter of William Matthews Strickland, a prominent Holly Springs civil leader and businessman. Her diary, kept through the last year of the war, describes life and the hardships of war in Holly Springs from the perspective of a nine year old. While Belle does not mention military matters, her diary is probably more useful for its vivid descriptions of life on the homefront during Federal occupation. Photocopies only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-8 (4 folders).

Charles Stubblefield Collection. 1839-1943. Contains letters written by the Blackwell family. Three of the Civil War era letters detail movements of the Army of Tennessee around Atlanta and during Hood's Tennessee Campaign in 1864. Photocopies only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-8 (2 folders).

Steven H. Stubbs Collection. c. 1990s. This collection contains research material used by Steven H. Stubbs for his book, Duty, Honor, Valor: The Story of the Eleventh Mississippi Infantry Regiment. It includes copies of official records, company rolls, individual service records, letters, diaries, reminiscences, and newspaper/periodical clippings. Most of the collection is in the form of photocopies and typescripts of originals.  25 boxes.

Sykes Letter. April 22, 1962. Memorial day program from a ceremony at the Old Cemetery in Aberdeen, Mississippi which includes accounts of the deaths of Colonel Columbus Sykes and Dr. William E. Sykes, both of the 43rd Mississippi Regiment.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 95-4 (1 folder).

Samuel Heidelberg Terrall Letter. October 23, 1862. The letter is written from near Lumpkin's Mill, Mississippi to his father. The letter concerns the death of Milton and the wounding of Jim, possibly the brothers of Samuel.  Location:  University Small Manuscripts, Box 45, Folder 14.

Edward A. Thorne Letters. Collection contains the Civil War letters of Edward A. Thorne, written from the Shenandoah Valley, Richmond, and Petersburg, Virginia and Wilmington, North Carolina. All of Thorne's letters are written to his wife, Alice, in North Carolina. Photocopies only. Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-8 (1 folder).

David Todd Collection. 1819-1938. Collection includes the recollections of Kate Shaifer Sholars of Port Gibson, Mississippi. Her memoirs give a first hand account of battles around Port Gibson and life in southern Mississippi and Louisiana. Also included is a collection of newspaper clippings (1881-1937) related to the Civil War, Confederate money, Vicksburg ephemera, and a Jefferson Davis memorial brochure. Scholars memoirs are typescripts only. Oversized material includes sketches of the Battle of Port Gibson, and a Confederate loan document.  3 boxes.

United Daughters of the Confederacy, General Charles Clark, Beulah, MS Scrapbook.  1 box.

United Daughters of the Confederacy & Sons of Confederate Veterans Collection.  1912-2009.  Miscellaneous assortment of material from two of the regional organizations that commemorated the Confederacy.  2 boxes.

University of Mississippi Classbooks Collection.  1860s.  Contains yearbooks produced to honor the students of 1861 who went off to fight in the Civil War 1 box.  Images from the classbook are available as part of the University of Mississippi Photographs digital collection (select "Browse by Original Collection").

University of Mississippi Confederate Cemetery.  Partial list of men buried in the Confederate cemetery on the University of Mississippi campus.  Location:  University Small Manuscripts, Box 50, Folder 4.

Dr. Wailes Letter. Undated. Dr. Wailes was a member of the 1st Mississippi Cavalry, Co. A. The collection contains a very brief reminiscence of his company's wartime service. Photocopy only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 92-1 (1 folder).

H.W. Walters Collection. 1861-1878. This collection of letters contains numerous Civil War and postwar correspondence between H.W. Walters, Braxton Bragg, and William T. Sherman. There are also wartime letters from Walters to his family in Holly Springs, Mississippi. Photocopies only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-5 (1 folder).

E.C. Walthall Collection. 1834-1924. Includes the letters of Gen. Edward C., B.A., George, J.B. and Edmond Walthall, all brothers, to Kate Walthall Freeman. Letters mention the Vicksburg campaign and siege, Chickamauga, the Atlanta campaign, and the battle of Franklin, Tennessee. Most of the content is related to military action and army life. although some family matters are mentioned. Also includes 1863 Tennessee bank notes and railroad coupons. Photocopies only.  1 box.

Watson Family Collection. 1862-1863. This collection includes the correspondence of a Texas family whose sons, John, A.B., and J.M. were soldiers in the Confederate Army and served mainly in Arkansas, Mississippi, and Alabama. Photocopies only.  1 box.

Absalom West Collection. 1853-1870. Absalom M. West was a prominent Mississippi general, politician, and businessman from Holmes County. Later he would become president of the Mississippi Central Railroad. The collection contains Civil War era letters between West and various members of the Confederate and Mississippi governments, including President Jefferson Davis and Governors John J. Pettus and Charles Clark. This collection also includes information on the Lowry Rifles. Photocopies only.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 76-8 (2 folders).

Lt. William White Manuscript. A handwritten manuscript by Lt. White of the 90th Illinois Volunteers, Co. F, entitled "A Sunday in the South." This manuscript includes a description of a walk to Holly Springs, Mississippi, meeting General Grant as well as other officers, and dining with a regimental doctor in an occupied home. Also includes a photocopy of a photograph of Lt. White.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2006-1 (1 folder).

J. D. Williams Family Collection.  1831-1902.  Material related to the ancestors of former University of Mississippi Chancellor J.D. Williams.  Includes letters to Sallie Pollock from her future husband John B. Williams while away fighting in the Civil War.  1 box.

P.H. Wright, Sr. Reminiscence. Undated. Wright was a member of the 34th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Co. I. This collection contains segments of his published memoirs in a newspaper article entitled, "Some Reflections of Life in Rock Island Prison." Photocopies only. Location:  Small Manuscripts 77-2 (1 folder).

John Preston Young Collection 1862-1930.  Correspondence, clippings, personal notes, and diary of John Preston Young who served in the Confederate Army under General Nathan Bedford Forrest.  Young wrote The Seventh Tennessee Calvary (Confederate):  A History.  8 boxes.