Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War (Archives): Primary Source Publications

Primary Source Publications Related to Mississippi A-H

Includes published letters, diaries, and memoirs as well as compiled data such as muster rolls, Confederate pensions and graves.  Also covers material related to Confederate commemorative activities.

Adams County Civil War Association (Miss.).  Adams County Civil War Centennial:  Commemorating the Participation of Adams Countians Who Participated in the War Between the States.  [Natchez, MS:  1961].  Call Number:  F347 A33 A33 1961.

Joe Ashley and Lavon Ashley, eds.  Of for Dixie!:  The Civil War Record and Diary of Capt. William V. Davis, 30th Mississippi Infantry, C.S.A.  Colorado Springs:  Standing Pine Press, 2001.  Call Number:  E568.5 30th D39 2001.

John H. Aughey.  The Fighting Preacher.  Chicago:  Rhodes & McClure Publishing Co., 1899.  Evangelist preacher in Choctaw and Attala counties in Mississippi when the war broke out; joined U.S. Army as a chaplain.  Call Number:  CS71 C777 1982.

John H. Aughey.  The Iron Furnace:  Or, Slavery and Secession.  Philadelphia:  W.S. & A. Martien, 1863.  Refugee from Mississippi.  Call Number:  E458.7 A9.

John H. Aughey.  Tupelo.  Lincoln, NE:  State Journal Company, 1888.  Tupelo, Mississippi in the Civil War.  Call Number:  E601 A96.

Nicholas Paul Banner.  Vicksburg's Confederate Banner:  Lt. Matthew Rauley Banner:  The Siege of Vicksburg Seen through the Letters of a Confederate Lieutenant.  Midland, TX:  Banner Publishing, 2000.  Call Number:  E605 B36 2000.

Mary Groves Barker, comp.  Confederate Memorabilia.  Washington, MS:  Esperanza, 1979.  Confederate records related to Adams County, Mississippi and adjoining counties.  Call Number:  E489 C6543 1979.

Frederick A.P. Barnard.  Letter to the President of the United States, by a Refugee.  New York:  C.S. Westcott, 1863.  Author was former chancellor of the University of Mississippi.  Call Number:  E458.3 B258 1863.

Frederick A.P. Barnard. Report on the Organization of Military Schools [made] to the Trustees of the University of Mississippi, November, 1861.  Jackson, Cooper & Kimball Printers, 1861.  Call Number:  U409 M7 B3.

Beauvoir:  The Historic Last Home of Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865:  Jefferson Davis Shrine on U.S. 90 between Gulfport and Biloxi.  [Biloxi, MS:  United Sons of Confederate Veterans, Mississippi Division, 196-].  Call Number:  F349 B5 B43.

Fannie A. Beers.  Memories:  A Record of Personal Experience and Adventure during Four Years of War.  Philadelphia:  J.B. Lippincott Co., 1888.  Confederate nurse whose service encompassed Mississippi hospitals.  Call Number:  E605 B41 1888.

William Harvey Berryhill.  The Gentle Rebel:  The Civil War Letters of 1st Lt. William Harvey Berryhill, Co. D, 43rd Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers.  Yazoo City, MS:  Sassafras Press, 1982.  Call Number:  E568.5 43rd B47 A34 1982.

Patti Carr Black.  Guide to Civil War Source Material in the Department of Archives and History, State of Mississippi.  Jackson, MS:  1962.  Call Number:  Z1242 B4.

William L. Blanks.  Lauderdale County Confederate Induction Records, 1863.  Meridian, MS:  Lauderdale County Department of Archives and History, 1987.  Call Number:  E548 B53 1987.

George Washington Bolton.  "In Defense of My Country...":  The Letters of a Shiloh Confederate Soldier, Sergeant George Washington Bolton, and His Union Parish Volunteers (1861-1864).  Bernice, LA:  Corney Creek Festival, 1983.  Includes descriptions of Mississippi battles.  Call Number:  E605 B6 1983.

John Morehead Bower.  Mrs. A. Shirley. [Washington, DC:  1890].  War claim from Vicksburg, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  E480 B76 1890.

James Bradley.  The Confederate Mail Carrier; or, From Missouri to Arkansas through Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Tennessee.  An Unwritten Leaf of the "Civil War."  Being an Account of the Battles, Marches and Hardships of the First and Second Brigades, Mo., C.S.A.  Together with the Thrilling Adventures and Narrow Escapes of Captain Grimes and His Fair Accomplice, Who Carried the Mail by "Underground Route" from the Brigade to Missouri.  Mexico, MO:  1894.  Call Number:  E569.4 B81.

Wesley Bradshaw.  Maude of the Mississippi:  A Companion to Pauline of the Potomac.  Philadelphia:  C.W. Alexander, [1864].  Fiction regarding a female Union spy in Mississippi.  Call Number:  PS1120 B48 M3 1864 OVRS.

Maude Morrow Brown, comp.  William Decatur Howell, 1846-1864.  A Soldier's Journal and Letters.  1931.  Co. I, 3rd Mississippi Cavalry.  Call Number:  E467.1 H84 B7 OVRS.

Leon Bugess, comp.  M.D.L. Stephens and Calhoun County, Mississippi.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub. Co., [1998].  Includes Civil War recollections.  Co. K, 17th Mississippi Volunteer Infantry.  Call Number:  F347 C2 M2 1998.

Maria Elisa B. Byington, ed.  Letters from a Confederate Soldier and Others to Miss Sally Strong, 1862-1869.  Sao Paulo, Brazil:  Impressao d acabemento, 2001.  Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 A85 2001.

D.J. Canale.  Laws of the State of Mississippi:  Passed at a Called Session of the Mississippi Legislature Held in Macon, August, 1864.  Call Number:  KFM6630 1857 A233.

J.P. Cannon.  Inside of Rebeldom:  The Daily Life of a Private in the Confederate Army.  Washington, DC:  National Tribune, 1900.  27th Alabama Regiment with description of battles at Vicksburg, Jackson, and Canton.  Call Number:  E605 C22.

Marie Haven Carlton, comp.  Enumeration of Soldiers and Widows, Montgomery County, Mississippi, 1907, 1911, 1913.  Senatobia, MS:  Tate County Mississippi Genealogical and Historical Society, 1992.  Civil War veterans.  Call Number:  F347 M75 C37 1992.

William Pitt Chambers.  Blood and Sacrifice:  The Civil War Journal of a Confederate Soldier.  Huntington, WV:  Blue Acorn Press, 1994.  46th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E605 C468 1994.

William Pitt Chambers.  Chamber's [sic] Confederate Journal.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Publishing 2002.  46th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E605 C4684 2002.

George Powell Clarke.  Reminiscence and Anecdotes of the War for Southern Independence.  [Decatur, MS:  George A. Smith, [199-].  Originally published in local newspaper as a series from 1895 to 1898.  36th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number: E568 C43 1990.

H.C. Clarke, comp.  The Confederate States Almanac, and Repository of Useful Knowledge.  Vicksburg, MS:  1862. Call Number:  AY381 C5.

Monroe F. Cockrell.  Outline of Address at Lake Forest Academy, March 8, 1946.  [1946].  Battle of Corinth, Mississippi in 1862.  Call Number:  E473.56 C62.

Thomas D. Cockrell and Michael B. Ballard, eds.  Chickasaw, a Mississippi Scout for the Union:  The Civil War Memoir of Levi H. Naron as Recounted by R.W. Surby.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press, 2005.  Call Number:  E608 N37 2005.

Walker Jackson Coffey.  Confederate Soldiers, Lafayette County, Mississippi.  [Oxford, MS]:  1990.  Call Number:  E467 C58 1990.

Confederate States of America.  War Department.  Southern Military Manual, Containing all the Confederate Military Laws, Articles of War, Army Regulations, Field Artillery, Mahan's Treatise on the Effects of Musketry and Artillery, and the Means of Directing the Fire as to Obtain the Best Results; Hardee's Manual or Arms, Fully Illustrated.  Military Ordinances of Louisiana and Mississippi; Uniforms; Military Maxims of Napoleon I.; Health Hints for Volunteers, etc.  Jackson, MS:  J.L. Power, 1862.  Call Number:  U113.5 C6.

Confederate Veterans of Yazoo County, Mississippi.  Roster and Sketches of the Several Military Companies which Were in Regular Service of the Confederate States during the Civil War from Yazoo County, Miss:  Collected from the Muster Rolls and Authentic Sources of Reliable Men and Published by Order of Yazoo Camp 176 of Confederate Veterans of Yazoo City, Miss.  Yazoo City, MS:  Waller Printing Co., 1905.  Call Number:  E568.3 C63.

Corinth (Miss.) Commission on the War Between the States.  Corinth:  Crossroads of the Confederacy:  Music Drama.  Corinth, MS:  [1962].  Souvenir program.  Call Number:  F349 C8 C67 1962.

W.C. Corsan.  Two Months in the Confederate States:  An Englishman's Travels through the South.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press, 1996.  Original published in 1863.  Travel across Mississippi during the Civil War.  Call Number:  F214 E54 1996.

Gordon A. Cotton, ed.  From the Letters of Emma Balfour, 1847-1857:  Dr. & Mrs. Balfour at Home.  Mrs. Balfour's Civil War Diary:  A Personal Account of the Siege of Vicksburg.  Vicksburg, MS:  Print Shop, 2004.  Call Number:  F341 C68 2004.

Gordon A. Cotton, ed.  From the Pen of a She-Rebel:  The Civil War Diary of Emilie Riley McKinley.  Columbia, SC:  University of Souther Carolina Press, 2001.  Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 M14 2001.

Aaron H. Cragin.  Report to Accompany Bill S. 268.  [Washington, DC:  1875].  War claim on cotton seized in Wilkinson County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E480 C73 1875.

Evelyn Bell Crouch and Christie Crouch Genola.  Enumeration of Confederate Soldiers and Widows for Montgomery County, Mississippi, 1907.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Publishing, 2004.  Call Number:  E548 C76 2004.

Byron M. Cutcheon.  Report:  To Accompany Bill H.R. 2706.  War claim of U.S. Colored Troop member discharged at Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E480 C83 1886.

Napolean Jackson Tecumseh Dana.  Head Quarters, District of Vicksburg, Vicksburg, Miss., November 22, 1864, General Orders No. 82.  [Vicksburg, MS]:  1864.  Call Number:  E468.9 H43 1864.

Ferdinand Eugene Daniel.  Recollections of a Rebel Surgeon:  And Other Sketches:  Or, in the Doctor's Sappy Days.  Chicago:  Clinic Pub. Co., 1901.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E605 D18 1901.

Nathan W. Daniels.  Thank God My Regiment an African One:  The Civil War Diary of Colonel Nathan W. Daniels.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press, 1998.  U.S. Army, 2nd Native Guard Infantry Regiment on Ship Island.  Call Number:  E510.5 2nd D36 1998.

Jefferson Davis.  Andersonville and Other War Prisons.  New York:  Belford Company, [1890].  Call Number:  E611 D262 1890.

Jefferson Davis.  The Autobiography of Jefferson Davis:  Reprinted from Belford's Magazine January, 1890.  Biloxi, MS:  Beauvoir Press, 1998.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 A3 1998.

Jefferson Davis.  Inaugural Address of President Davis, Delivered at the Capitol, Monday, February 18, 1861, at 1 O'Clock, P.M.  Montgomery, AL:  Shorter & Reid, 1861.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 A5 1861.

Jefferson Davis.  Jefferson Davis, Constitutionalist:  His Letters, Papers, and Speeches.  Jackson, MS:  Misssissippi Department of Archives and History, 1923.  Ten volumes.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 D26.

Jefferson Davis.  Jefferson Davis:  The Essential Writings.  New York:  Modern Library, 2003.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 A25 2003.

Jefferson Davis.  Message of the President.  [Richmond, VA:  1864].  Call Number:  JK9719 C667 M47 1864.

Jefferson Davis.  Message of the President.  [Richmond, VA:  1864].  Call Number:  JK9719 C667 M47 1864.

Jefferson Davis.  Message of the President.  [Richmond, VA:  1864].  Call Number:  JK9719 C667 M477 1864.

Jefferson Davis.  The Papers of Jefferson Davis.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press, 1971- .  Special Collections has volumes 1 through 7; Main Library has additional volumes.  Call Number:  E467.1 D2596.

Jefferson Davis.  President's Message.  [Richmond:  1863].  Call Number:  JK9719 D12/7.

Jefferson Davis.  President's Message.  [Richmond:  1864].  Call Number:  E487 C748 1864.

Jefferson Davis.  The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government.  New York:  D. Appleton and Co., 1881.  Two volumes.  Call Number:  E487 D26.

Jefferson Davis.  A Short History of the Confederate States of America.  New York:  Belford Co., 1890.  Call Number:  E487 D27.

Jefferson Davis.  Speech of the Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, Delivered in the United States Senate, on the 10th Day of January, 1861, Upon the Message of the President of the United States, on the Condition of Things in South Carolina.  Baltimore:  J. Murphy & Co., 1861.  Call Number:  E440.5 D26.

Varina Davis.  Jefferson Davis:  Ex-President of the Confederate States of America:  A Memoir by His Wife.  New York:  Belford Company, [1890].  Two volumes.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 D2.

Dedication of Monument to Georgia Confederate Dead:  Vicksburg National Military Park:  Presented by the State of Georgia to the United States Government:  Sponsored by the Centennial Hall of Fame Committee, October 25, 1962.  [Atlanta:  1962].  Call Number:  E475.27 D42 1962.

Dedication of Texas Monument, Vicksburg National Military Park, Vicksburg, Mississippi, November 4, 1961.  [1961].  Call Number:  E475.27 D43 1961.

J.G. Deupree.  Reminiscences of Service with the First Mississippi Cavalry.  Reprint from Publications of Mississippi Historical Society Vol. 7 [1903].  Call Number:  E605 D48.

George Gordon Byron DeWolfe.  The Capture of Jeff Davis.  [Nashua, NH:  1865].  Broadside.  Call Number:  PS1537 D55 C2.

James Dinkins.  1861-1865, by an Old Johnnie.  Personal Recollections and Experiences in the Confederate Army.  Cincinnati:  R. Clarke Co., 1897.  Call Number:  E605 D58 1897a.  Company C of the 18th Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 D58 1897a.

Rebecca Blackwell Drake.  In Their Own Words:  Soldiers Tell the Story of the Battle of Raymond.  Raymond, MS:  Friends of Raymond, 2001.  Call Number:  E475.25 D73 2001.

William A. Drennan.  Diary of the Defense of Vicksburg.  Vicksburg, MS:  1863.  Call Number:  E475.27 D7.

William A. Drennan.  Lieutenant Drennan's Letter:  A Confederate Officer's Account of the Battle of Champion Hill and the Siege of Vicksburg.  Gettysburg, PA:  Thomas Publications, 2009.  Call Number:  E475.27 D745 2009.

W.H. Duff.  The Truth:  A Piano in Confederate Trenches, McPheely and His Pioneers, a Romantic Story of the Siege of Jackson, Mississippi, July 1863.  [1913].  Call Number:  E475.29 D84 1913.

Mary Conway Shields Dunbar.  My Mother Used to Say:  A Natchez Belle of the Sixties.  Boston:  Christopher Pub. House, [1959].  Includes transcripts of Civil War letters.  Call Number:  F214 D8.

Thomas D. Duncan.  Recollections of Thomas D. Duncan:  A Confederate Soldier.  Nashville, TN:  McQuiddy Printing Company, 1922.  Corinth Rifles, Co. C, 2nd Regiment, 4th Brigade Mississippi Volunteers.  Call Number:  E605 D91.

William Henry Elder.  Civil War Diary (1862-1865) of Bishop William Henry Elder, Bishop of Natchez.  [Natchez, MS]:  R.O. Gerow, Bishop of Natchez-Jackson, [1960].  Call Number:  E605 E4.

Carolyn Reeves Ericson and Frances Terry Ingmire.  Confederate Soldiers Buried at Vicksburg, February 15, 1862 -- July 4, 1863.  [Nacogdoches, TX:  1981].  Call Number:  E494 E75.

Robert G. Evans, comp.  The 16th Mississippi Infantry:  Civil War Letters and Reminiscences.  Jackson:  University Press of Mississippi, 2002.  Call Number:  E568.5 16th A23 2002.

A.K. Farrar.  To the Citizens of Adams County:  The Following Message Has Been Received from General Beauregard.  [Natchez, MS:  Provost Marshal's Office, 1862].  Call Number:  F347 A2 T68 1862.

C.C.S. Farrar.  The War, Its Causes and Consequences.  Cairo, IL:  Blelock & Co., 1864.  Bolivar County, Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E458.4 F24.

Edwin Hedge Fay.  This Infernal War:  The Confederate Letters of Edwin H. Fay.  Austin:  University of Texas Press, [1958].  Cavalry soldier in Minden Rangers who fought across Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 F25 1958.

Lamar Fontaine.  My Life and My Lectures.  New York:  Neale Publishing Company, 1908.  Civil War narrative by Mississippian.  Call Number:  E467.1 F67 M9.

Lamar Fontaine.  The Prison Life of Major Lamar Fontaine:  One of the Immortal Six Hundred Confederate Officers, Prisoners of War, on Prison Ship Crescent City, on Morris Island, Fort Pulaski and Hilton Head, S.C.  Clarksdale, MS:  Daily Register Print, 1910.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E615 F6.

Henry S. Foote.  Casket of Reminiscences.  Washington, DC:  Chronicle Publishing Company, 1874.  Mississippian in Confederate House of Representatives.  Call Number:  E415.7 F68.

H.S. Foote.  War of the Rebellion; or, Scylla and Charybdis.  Consisting of Observations upon the Causes, Course, and Consequences of the Late Civil War in the United States.  New York:  Harper & Brothers, 1866.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E459 F692.

Jennifer Ford, ed.  The Hour of Our Nation's Agony:  The Civil War Letters of Lt. Cowper Nelson of Mississippi.  Knoxville:  University of Tennessee Press, 2007.  9th Mississippi Regiment and 17th Mississippi Regiment.  Call Number:  E568.5 17th N45 2007.

William Lovelace Foster.  Vicksburg, Southern City under Siege:  William Lovelace Foster's Letter Describing the Defense and Surrender of the Confederate Fortress on the Mississippi.  New Orleans, LA:  Historic New Orleans Collection, 1980.  Call Number:  E475.27 F67 1980.

Sir Arthur James Lyon Fremantle.  Three Months in the Southern States:  April-June, 1863.  Edinburgh and London:  W. Blackwood and Sons, 1863.  Includes accounts of travel through Mississippi.  Call Number:  E487 F862 1863

H.S. Fulkerson.  A Civilian's Recollections of the War Between the States.  Baton Rouge:  O. Claitor, 1939.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E487 F88.

Loretta Galbreth and William Galbraith, eds.  A Lost Heroine of the Confederacy:  The Diaries and Letters of Belle Edmondson.  Jackson:  University Press of Mississippi, 1990.  Mississippi spy.  Call Number:  E608 E238 1990.

Joseph Garey.  A Keystone Rebel:  The Civil War Diary of Joseph Garey, Hudson's Battery, Mississippi Volunteers.  Gettysburg, PA:  Thomas Publications, 1996.  Call Number:  E605 G37 1996.

George W. Geddes.  Amzi W. Byers, Executor.  [Washington, DC:  1886].  War claim of Panola County, Mississisppi estate.  Call Number:  E480 G43 1886.

George W. Geddes.  James C. Newman.  [Washington, DC:  1886].  War claim of Vicksburg, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  E480 G435 1886.

Genealogical Society of DeSoto County.  Roster of Confederate Veterans.  Hernando, MS:  [1995].  Call Number:  F347 D4 G45 1995.

James Monroe Gibson.  Memoirs of J.M. Gibson; Terrors of the Civil War and Reconstruction Days.  [San Gabriel, CA:  1966].  Warren County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E470.7 G5.

S.H. Giles.  War Years, C.S.A.:  12th Mississippi Regiment:  Major S.H. Giles, Q.M.:  Original Letters, 1860-1865.  Hillsboro, TX:  Hill College Press, 1998.  Call Number:  E568.6 12th G55 1998.

Irene S. Gillis.  Grave Registrations of Union Soldiers:  Buried in the Mississippi National Cemeteries of Corinth, Natchez, and Vicksburg.  [Shreveport, LA]:  1983.  Call Number:  E494 G54.

Ulysses S. Grant.  Personal Memoirs of U.S. Grant.  New York:  C.L. Webster & Co., 1885-86.  Two volumes.  Call Number:  E672 G76.

William Mercer Green.  A Prayer for Our Armies.  [1861-65].  Episcopal bishop of Mississippi.  Call Number:  E650 G7.

[Hancock Program:  August 1998, Eason Cemetery, Independence, Mississippi].  VHS recording of posthumous presentation of Confederate Medal of Honor to Asbury W. Hancock of the 19th Mississippi Infantry.  Call Number:  E568.5 19th H364 1998.

Samuel W. Hankins.  Simple Story of a Soldier.  Nashville:  Confederate Veteran, [1912].  2nd Mississippi Infantry.  Call Number:  E605 H25.

Annie Harper.  Annie Harper's Journal:  A Southern Mother's Legacy.  Denton:  Fower Mound Writing Co., 1983.  Civil War in Natchez, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 H275 1983.

John Harper.  Rolls of the Several Military Organizations Which Entered the Service of the Confederate States of America, from the City of Natchez and Adams County, Mississippi.  Compiled from the Archives of Their Successors the Adams Light Infantry, Together with a Complete Roll of the Latter Company, from the Date of Its Organization to the Present Time.  Natchez:  Democrat Print, [1890].  Call Number:  E568.3 C6.

N.H. Harris.  Roster of the 19th Mississippi Regiment:  Enlisted at Richmond, Virginia for the War June 1861.  [Vicksburg, MS:  1878].  Call Number:  E568.9 19th R67 1878 OVRS.

Christopher O. Henderson and Craig C. Weikel.  The Civil War Diary of Rev. Jesse L. Henderson, 1844-1940:  Pontotoc, Mississippi.  2004.  41st Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E568.5 41st H46 2004 OVRS.

Anthony M. Hervey.  Why I Wave the Confederate Battle Flag:  Written by a Black Man:  The End of Niggerism and the Welfare State.  Victoria, BC:  Trafford Publishing, 2005.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E185.92 H48 2005.

Robert Masten Holmes.  Kemper County Rebel:  The Civil War Diary of Robert Masten Holmes, C.S.A.  Jackson:  University and College Press of Mississippi, [1973].  Call Number:  E605 H77.

David Holt.  A Mississippi Rebel in the Army of Northern Virginia:  The Civil War Memoirs of Private David Holt.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press, 1995.  16th Mississippi Infantry Regiment, Company K.  Call Number:  E568.5 16th H65 1995.

James M. Houry.  "Citizen, as Well as Brig. General," Chalmers.  [186-].  Broadside by Oxford, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  F349 O9 H68 1860z.

Jacob Merritt Howard.  In the Senate of the United States:  Mr. Howard Submitted the Following Resolution.  [Washington, DC:  1866].  Jefferson Davis.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 H69 1866.

Jacob Merritt Howard.  Report:  The Committee on Claims, to Whom Was Referred the Petition of Mrs. Margaret A. Russell, for the Value of Ninety-Four Hogshead of Sugar Taken by the United States Forces at Vicksburg, Mississippi...  [Washington, DC:  1868].  Call Number:  E480 H69 1868.

H. Grady Howell.  22nd Regiment Mississippi Infantry, C.S.A. Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub., 2004.  Register.  Call Number:  E568.5 22nd H69 2004.

H. Grady Howell.  Davis' Mississippi Brigade:  Army of Northern Virginia, a Muster Listing.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub., 2005.  2nd, 11th, 26th, 42nd Mississippi Infantry regiments.  Call Number:  E548 H694 2005.

H. Grady Howell.  Featherston's/Posey's/Harris' Mississippi Brigade:  Army of Northern Virginia, a Muster Listing.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub., 2005.  2nd Mississippi Infantry Battalion; 12th, 16th, 19th, and 48th Mississippi Infantry regiments.  Call Number:  E548 H69 2005.

H. Grady Howell.  For Dixie Land I'll Take My Stand!:  A Muster Listing of All Known Mississippi Confederate Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines.  [Madison, MS]:  Chickasaw Bayou Press, 1998.  Four volumes.  Call Number:  E568.3 H69 1998.

H. Grady Howell.  Griffith's/Barksdale's/Humphreys' Mississippi Brigade:  Army of Northern Virginia, a Muster Listing.  Carrolton, MS:  Pioneer Publishing, 2004.  13th, 17th, 18th, and 21st Mississippi Infantry regiments.  Call Number:  E548 H69 2004.

Patrick Clifford Hoy.  A Brief History of Bradford's Battery, Confederate Guards Artillery, of Pontotoc County, Miss.; Personal Recollections of P.C. Hoy.  [Pontotoc, MS:  1932].  First published in 1903.  Call Number:  E470.7 H6.

John Milton Hubbard.  Notes of a Private.  St. Louis, MO:  Nixon-Jones Print. Co., 1911.  Company E, 7th Tenneessee Regiment, Forrest's Cavalry Corps; Battles at Corinth, Holly Springs, Harrisburg, and Brice's Crossroads.  Call Number:  E605 H87 1911.

William Spencer Hudson.  The Civil War Diary of William Spencer Hudson.  St. Louis:  Micro-Records Pub. Co., 1973.  Co. D, 31st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry.  Call Number:  E605 H88.

Louis Hughes.  Thirty Years a Slave:  The Autobiography of Louis Hughes:  From Bondage to Freedom.  Montgomery, AL:  NewSouth Books, 2002.  Originally published in 1897.  Civil War in Bolivar and Pontotoc counties of Mississippi.  Call Number:  E444 H89 2002.

Primary Source Publications Related to Mississippi I-Z

Isaac Jackson.  "Some of the Boys...":  The Civil War Letters of Isaac Jackson, 1862-1865.  Carbondale:  Southern Illinois University Press, [1960].  Union soldier who fought in siege of Vicksburg.  Call Number:  E601 J13.

Jackson Civil War Round Table.  Rebel Yell.  Jackson, MS.  Special Collections has scattered issues of this periodical between 1977 and 1978.  Call Number:  E487 R32.

Jefferson Davis Beauvoir Memorial Confederate Soldiers' Home.  By Laws and Rules and Regulations of the Jefferson Davis Beauvoir Memorial Confederate Soldier's Home.  [Jackson, MS:  Tucker Printing House, 19--].  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 B4b.

Jefferson Davis Beauvoir Memorial Confederate Soldiers' Home.  Tenth Biennial Report of the Directors of the Jefferson Davis Beauvoir Memorial Home.  [Biloxi, MS:  1923].  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 J42 1923.

Jefferson Davis, First and Only President of the Confederate States of America...:  Proceedings Incident to the Celebration on June 3, 1908, in the City of Montgomery, of the One Hundredth Anniversary of His Birth.  Montgomery, AL:  Paragon Press, 1908.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 J44 1908.

Jefferson Davis Shrine and Confederate Memorial Gardens Million Dollar Development Program.  [Biloxi, MS:  1951].  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 J45 1951 OVRS.

Albert Sidney Johnson.  The Confederate Cause Yesterday and Today.  Jackson, MS:  Sons of Confederate Veterans, [1951].  Speech delivered at Sons of Confederate Veterans meeting in Jackson, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E483.4 M7 J6 1951.

Charles C. Jones.  Funeral Oration...In Honor of President Jefferson Davis.  Augusta, GA:  Chronicle Printing Establishment, 1889.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 J7 1889.

Walter Burgwyn Jones.  War Poems of the Southern Confederacy:  Address...before the 56th Annual Reunion of United Confederate Veterans.  Edgewater Park, MS:  1946.  Call Number:  E649 J6.

The Journal of Wilkinson County History.  Woodville, MS:  Woodville Civic Club.  Vol. 4, Book 1 (March 1998) contains Confederate records for the county.  Call Number:  F347 W65 J68.

Junior League of Jackson.  Confederate Centennial Ball, Tuesday, February 7, 1961, 8:15 p.m.  Jackson, MS:  1961.  Call Number:  F347 J13 J85.

Mrs. Robert Kemp.  When Sherman Paid Us a Visit.  [Gulfport, MS:  Connell Printing Co., 19--].  Call Number:  E605 K38.

William Lee Kennon.  A Tribute to the Womanhood of the Confederacy.  Oxford, MS:  1934.  Address delivered before the Holly Springs, Mississippi chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy on 29 April 1934.  Call Number:  E483.5 K4.

Edward Lane.  Sarah A. Smail.  [Washington, DC:  1890].  War pension for Battle of Iuka fatality.  Call Number:  HV1795 S37 1890.

John H. Lang.  History of Harrison County, Mississippi:  (Included the Early Histories of the Towns of Biloxi, Handsboro, Gulfport, Pass Christian and DeLisle).  [Pass Christian, MS:  Pass Christian Historical Society, 2001].  Includes registers of 12th Mississippi Infantry Regiment and Harrison County soldiers in the Civil War.  Call Number:  F347 H3 L3 2001.

Ada Christine Lightsey, ed.  The Veteran's Story...Dedicated to the Heroes Who Wore the Gray.  Meridian, MS:  Meridian News, [1899].  Jasper Grays, Co. F, 16th Mississippi Regiment.  Cal Number:  E605 L72.

Tommy Lockhart, comp.  Muster Roll of the 32nd Mississippi Infantry, Confederate States of America.  Ripley, MS:  Old Timer Press, [1977].  Call Number:  E568.5 32nd L62 1977 OVRS.

John Guy Lofton.  John Guy Lofton Letters.  [University, MS:  University Communications, 2005].  Co. H, 11th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E605 L64 2005 OVRS.

Mary Ann Webster Loughborough.  My Cave Life in Vicksburg.  With Letters of Trial and Travel.  New York:  D. Appleton and Company, 1864.  Call Number:  E475.27 L88.

William D. McCain.  An Address Delivered at the Commemorative Ceremonies of the Gulfport Civil War Centennial Commission at Beauvoir (Jefferson Davis Shrine) May 12, 1962.  [1962].  Call Number:  E650 M3.

Duncan McCollum.  The Diary of Captain Duncan McCollum, Co. A, 4th Mississippi Cavalry 1865.  San Bernadino, CA:  J.K. McCollum Sr. and Jr., 1964.  Call Number:  E605 M3.

Thomas McGuire.  McGuire Papers, Containing Major Thomas McGuire's Civil War Letters; and Patriotic Documents and Other Letters from 1854 to the Turn of the 20th Century.  [Tusquahoma, LA]:  1966.  Arcadian Invincibles, Co. B, 12th Louisiana Regiment Volunteers which fought at Corinth, Jackson, and Vicksburg.  Call Number:  E605 M35.

Augustus Summerfield Merrimon.  Report:  To Accompany Bill S. 443.  [Washington, DC:  1874].  War claim of Port Gibson, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  E480 M47 1874.

Mississippi Commission on the War Between the States.  Mississippi Centennial to Commemorate the War Between the States.  [Jackson, MS:  1960].  Call Number:  E568 M478.

Mississippi Commission on the War Between the States.  Mississippi in the War Between the States; a Booklet of Facts for the Information of Mississippians in Connection with the Observance of the Civil War Centennial, 1961-1965.  [Jackson, MS:  1960].  Call Number:  E568 M48.

Mississippi Commission on the War Between the States.  Join the Mississippi Greys:  A Guide for the Organization of Units of Mississippi's Centennial Military Force in Memoriam.  [1961].  Call Number:  E645 J65 1961.

Mississippi Commission on the War Between the States.  Mississippi Civil War Centennial:  1962 Calendar of Events.  Jackson, MS:  [1962].  Call Number:  F341.5 M5 1962.

Mississippi.  Convention (1861).  Journal of the State Convention, and Ordinances and Resolutions Adopted in January, 1861.  with an Appendix.  Jackson:  E. Barksdale, 1861.  Call Number:  JK9788 A15 1861.

Mississippi.  Convention (1861).  Journal of the State Convention, and Ordinances and Resolutions Adopted in March, 1861.  Jackson:  E. Barksdale, 1861.  Call Number:  JK9788 A15 1861c.

Mississippi.  Legislature.  Resolutions of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi in Relation to the Recent Act of Congress of the Confederate States Suspending the Privilege of the Writ of Habeas Corpus.  [Richmond, VA:  1864].  Call Number:  E487 C755.

John H. Mitchell.  Report:  The Committee on Claims, to Whom Was Referred the Petition of John D. Leflore and James C. Harris, Executors of the Last Will and Testament of Greenwood Leflore, Deceased...  [Washington, DC:  1874].  Civil War claim.  Call Number:  E480 M58 1874.

Frank A. Montgomery.  Reminiscences of a Mississippian in Peace and War.  Cincinnati:  Robert Clarke Company Press, 1901.  Mississippi Cavalry Regiment, 1st.  Call Number:  E605 M78.

Robert Augustus Moore.  A Life for the Confederacy, as Recorded in the Pocket Diaries of Pvt. Robert A. Moore.  Co. G. 17th Mississippi Regiment, Confederate Guards, Holly Springs, Mississippi.  Jackson, TN:  McCowat-Mercer Press, 1959.  Call Number:  E605 M83.

Maude E. Morrow.  Recollections of the Civil War from a Child's Point of View.  Lockland, OH:  J. Morrow, 1901.  Corinth, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E601 M67.

A. Hugh Moss.  The Diary of A. Hugh Moss:  Coulie Croche, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana, Stationed at Vicksburg, Miss., April 25, 1863, Mustered in the Service of Lieutenant Millett, Washington, Louisiana, March 22, 1862; A Diary or Cursory Sketch of Events Transpiring to My Knowledge During the War Between the Confederate and United States of America; a Daily Account of the Last Siege of Vicksburg, Beginning May 18 and Ending July 4, 1863.  [Lake Charles, LA:  1948].  Call Number:  E475.27 M87 1948.

National Association of Vicksburg Veterans.  National Peace Jubilee, Vicksburg National "Military Park," Vicksburg, Miss., October 13-16, 1915.  [Vicksburg, MS:  1914].  Call Number:  E475.27 N38 1914.

James King Newton.  A Wisconsin Boy in Dixie:  The Selected Letters of James K. Newton.  Madison:  University of Wisconsin Press, 1961.  Union soldier at Corinth and Vicksburg.  Call Number:  E601 N56.

William Lewis Nugent.  My Dear Nellie:  The Civil War Letters of William L. Nugent to Eleanor Smith Nugent.  Jackson:  University Press of Mississippi, 1977.  Co. D, 28th Mississippi Cavalry.  Call Number:  E605 N83 1977.

Julia A. Nutt.  Petition of Julia A. Nutt, Widow and Executrix of Haller Nutt, Deceased.  [1872].  Civil War claim.  Call Number:  E480 N88 1872.

Joel Parker.  The Right of Secession.  A Review of the Message of Jefferson Davis to the Congress of the Confederate States.  Cambridge, Welch, Bigelow, and Company, 1861.  Call Number:  JK320 P3.

Mary Paulinus.  Angels of Mercy:  An Eyewitness Account of Civil War and Yellow Fever by a Sister of Mercy:  A Primary Source.  Baltimore, MD:  Cathedral Foundation Press, 1998.  Mississippi.  Call Number:  BX4483 U6 O25 1998.

John H. Pinson.  An Address Delivered at the Unveiling of the Confederate Monument at Vicksburg, Mississippi:  Thursday, July 19th 1951 -- 10 A.M.  Montgomery, AL:  1951.  Call Number:  NA9350 M7 P56 1951.

Obsequies of Jefferson Davis:  The Only President of the Confederate States of America, in the City of New Orleans, Louisiana, on Wednesday, December 11, 1889.  New Orleans:  Brandao & Gill, 1890.  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 O27 1890

Osborn H. Oldroyd.  A Soldier's Story of the Siege of Vicksburg:  From the Diary of Osborn H. Oldroyd.  Springfield, IL:  1885.  Call Number:  E475.27 O44.

John B. Patrick.  A Journal, by John B. Patrick; Commencing March 23d, 1861, Including: Analogy, Night and Death, Jan. 17th, 1854 and an Address on The Right and the Expedient, April 16th, 1855.  Mississippi.  Call Number:  E516 P3.

William H. Peel.  Far from Home:  The Diary of Lt. William H. Peel, 1863-1865.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Publishing Co., 2005.  Co. C, 11th Regiment Mississippi Infantry.  Call Number:  E605 P44 2005.

John C. Pemberton.  Compelled to Appear in Print:  The Vicksburg Manuscript of General John C. Pemberton.  Cincinannti, OH:  Ironclad Pub., 1999.  Call Number:  E475.27 P46 1999.

William Hayne Perry.  William D. Wilson.  [Washington, DC:  1886].  War claim of Vicksburg, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  E480 P47 1886.

James Phelan.  "For the Good of the Bleeding Land":  Being the Text of a Letter from James Phelan to Confederate President Jefferson Davis Dated January 21, 1865.  Louisville:  Contre Coup Press, 1999.  Call Number:  E467.1 J74 P5 1999.

Fletcher Pomeroy.  The Fletcher Pomeroy Civil War Diary:  His Daily Diary Recording His Experiences in the Seventh Kansas Calvary, aka Jennison's Jayhawkers.  Olympia, WA:  David Habura, [199-].  Includes accounts of 1862 and 1864 fighting in Oxford, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E508.6 7th P66 1990z.

Susan T. Puck, ed.  Sacrifice at Vicksburg:  Letters from the Front.  Shippensburg, PA:  Burd Street Press, 1997.  U.S. Army, 23rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E537.5 23rd S23 1997.

John E. Rankin.  Memorial Day:  Address of John E. Rankin of Mississippi Delivered at the Confederate Memorial Exercises in Arlington Cemetery, Washington, D.C., on Sunday, June 4, 1933.  Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office, 1933.  Call Number:  NA9325 R36 1933.

Resolutions Adopted by Humphrey's Mississippi Brigade, Army of Northern Virginia, February 3, 1865.  [Richmond:  C.S.A., 1865].  Call Number:  E516.4 H8.

John C. Rietti.  Military Annals of Mississippi Military Organizations which Entered the Service of the Confederate States of America, from the State of Mississippi.  [1896].  Call Number:  E568 R53.

Joseph C. Robert, ed.  A Ring Tournament in 1864; a Letter from a Mississippian in the Army of Northern Virginia.  [Jackson, MS:  1941].  Call Number:  GV1191 R6.

J.E. Roebuck.  My Own Personal Experienc and Observation as a Soldier in the Confederate Army during the Civil War, 1861-1865.  Memphis, TN:  Burke's Book Store, [1978].  Reprint of 1911 edition.  Co. A, 29th Mississippi Infantry Regiment.  Call Number:  E607 R63 1978.

Richard S. Roman.  Civil War Soldiers of Perry County, Mississippi (Includes Forrest Co.).  2003.  Registers.   Call Number:  F347 P4 R65 2003.

Richard S. Roman.  Perry County Cavalry, 1862-1865, Perry County, Mississippi.  2003.  Registers for Mississippi Cavalry Battalion, 17th, Company F and 3rd, Company E.  Call Number:  F347 P4 R66 2003.

John Scott.  In the Senate of the United States:  January 13, 1875.  Ordered to Be Printed.  Mr. Scott Submitted the Following Report:  (To Accomapny Bill S. 77) The Committee on Claims, to Whom Was Referred the Bill (S.77) for the Relief of Martha A. Booth, Having Had the Same under Consideration, Submitt the Following Report.  [Washington, DC:  1875].  War claim of Canton, Mississippi resident.  Call Number:  E480 S36 1875.

John Scott.  Report:  The Committee on Claims, to Whom Was Referred the Memorial of...Richard Griffith, Deceased, Late Marshal for the Southern District of Mississippi.  [Washington, DC:  1874].  Civil War claim.  Call Number:  E480 S329 1874.

Thomas Upton Sisson.  Address of Greeting to United Confederate Veterans:  In Behalf of United Sons of Confederate Veterans.  Memphis, TN:  1909.  U.S. Representative from Mississippi.  Call Number:  E650 S58 1909.

W.C. Smedes.  Letter of W.C. Smedes, Esq., Vicksburg, Miss., in Vindication of the Southern Confederacy.  Taken from the Richmond Enquirer, July 18, 1861.  Jackson:  Power & Cadwallader, 1861.  Call Number:  E650 S54 1861.

Sons of Confederate Veterans (Organization).  Mississippi Division.  Business Agenda:  The 115th Annual Reunion, Mississippi Division, Sons of Confederate Veterans:  The 16th Annual Reunion, Mississippi Society, Order of the Confederate Rose.  [2010].  Call Number:  E483.4 M5 B83 2010.

Sons of Confederate Veterans (Organization).  Official Souvenir Program:  57th Annual Convention of Sons of Confederate Veterans and Confederate Reunion.  [Jackson, MS:  1952].  Call Number:  E483.4 O345 1952.

Sons of Confederate Veterans (Organization).  Mississippi Division.  Yearbook, Heritage of Honor.  Special Collections has scattered editions from 1998 to 2003.  Call Number:  E483.4 M5 S667

Belle Strickland.  Belle Strickland Diary, Holly Springs, Mississippi, July 25, 1864 -- July 1877.  Holly Springs, MS:  Charles N. Dean, Jr., [19--].  Call Number:  F349 H79 S752 1900z.

Charles Sumner.  In the Senate of the United States:  Mr. Sumner Submitted the Following Resolution.  [Washington, DC:  1865].  Call Number:  E467.1 D26 S96 1865.

Supplement to "Natchez Courier":  Natchez, Miss., June 15, 1865.  Natchez, MS:  1865.  Call Number:  E468.9 S95 1865 OVRS.

Charles Swett.  A Trip to British Honduras and to San Pedro, Republic of Honduras.  New Orleans:  Price Current Print, 1868.  Diary of expatriat Confederate soldier from Warren County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  F1444 S9.

Ormsby B. Thomas.  William Doyle:  September 25, 1890 -- Committed to the Committee of the Whole House and Ordered to Be Printed.  [Washington, DC:  1890].  War claim of property taken near Vicksburg, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E480 T56 1890.

Jacob Thompson.  A Leaf from History.  Report of J. Thompson, Secret Agent of the Late Confederate Government, Stationed in Canada, for the Purpose of Organizing Insurrection in the Northern States.  [Washington, DC:  Office of the Great Republic, 1868].  Mississippi author; reprint of 1864 letter.  Call Number:  E608 T48 1868.

J.B. Thrasher.  Slavery, a Divine Institution.  A Speech Made before the Breckinridge and Lane Club, November 5th, 1860.  Port Gibson, MS:  Southern Reveille Book and Job Office, 1861.  Second edition.  Call Number:  E453 T52.

William B. Trotter.  A History and Defense of African Slavery.  [Qitman, MS]:  1861.  Call Number:  E449 T85.

United Confederate Veterans.  40th Annual Reunion, United Confederate Veterans:  Souvenir Number:  Official Program...Mississippi Gulf Coast, June 3-4-5-6, 1930.  [Biloxi, MS:  Biloxi News, 1930].  Call Number:  E483.1 F67 1930.

United Confederate Veterans.  Claiborne County Camp, No. 167.  Constitution and By-Laws of Claiborne County Camp, No. 167.  Port Gibson, MS:  Reveille Print, [189-].  Call Number:  E483.1 U55 1890z.

United Confederate Veterans.  Mississippi Division.  Outline of Historical Study for the Mississippi Division of United Daughters of the Confederacy 1911-1912.  Jackson, MS:  Tucker Printing House.  Call Number:  E483.5 O88

United Confederate Veterans.  Mississippi Division.  Souvenir Program:  Thirty-Third Annual Reunion:  Mississippi Division U.C.V. and Sons of Confederate Veterans.  [1923].  Call Number:  E483.1 S68 1923 OVRS.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Ship Island UDC Memorial Monument.  [1973].  Ship Island, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E470.7 S55 1973.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  B.G. Humphreys Chapter.  Unveiling Ceremonies of the Holmes County Confederate Monument:  At Lexinton, Mississippi, December 2, 1908.  [Jackson, MS:  Tucker Print. House, 1908].  Call Number:  NA9350 M7 H6.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Mississippi Division.  Constitution. [1940].  Call Number:  E483.5 U556 1940.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Mississippi Division.  Historical Year Book.  [Jackson, MS].  Call Number:  E568 U5.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Mississippi Division.  Minutes of the Annual Convention of the Mississippi Division, United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Special Collections has scattered editions from 1899 to 2006.  Call Number:  E483.5 A15 M7.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Mississippi Division.  Our Heritage.  Jackson, MS.  Special Collections has scattered issues from 1908 to 2007.  Call Number:  E483.5 O78.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  Mississippi Division.  Our Heritage:  Forty-Sixth Anniversary Edition 1906-1952.  [Okolona:  Okolona Messenger].  Call Number:  E483.5 O8.

United Daughters of the Confederacy.  W.D. Holder Chapter (Jackson, Miss.).  Cook Book.  Jackson, MS:  Tucker Printing House, 1951.  Call Number:  TX715 C65 1951.

United States.  Army.  General Orders No. 2:  Head-qrs., U.S. Forces, Macon, Miss., May 24, 1865.  [Macon, MS:  1865].  Call Number:  E468.9 U55 1865 OVRS.

United States.  Congress.  House.  Levie H. Naron:  March 28, 1890 -- Committed to the Committee of the Whole House and Ordered to Be Printed.  [Washington, DC:  1890].  Pension claim for a Mississippian who served as a Union scout.  Call Number:  UB373 L48 1890.

United States.  Congress.  House.  Committee on War Claims.  Argument.  [In the Case of Mssrs. J. & T. Green] To the Hon. Wm. Lawrence, Chairman of the Committee on War Claims of the House of Representatives.  [Washington, DC:  1874].  War claim on property destroyed in Jackson, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E480 U52.

United States.  Congress.  House.  Committee on War Claims.  Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi, Relative to Claim of the Southern Methodist Publishing House at Nashville.  [Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office, 1874].  Civil War claim.  Call Number:  E480 U5217 1874.

Clifton C. Valentine, ed.  To See My Country Free:  The Pocket Diaries of Ezekial Armstrong, Ezekiel P. Miller and Joseph Miller:  Magnolia Guards:  Co. K 17th Regiment Mississippi Infantry.  Pittsboro, MS:  Calhoun County Historical and Genealogical Society, 1998.  Call Number:  E568.5 17th V434 1998.

John F. Wakefield, ed.  Battle of Corinth.  Florence, AL:  Honors Press, 2000.  Battle reports from commanders.  Call Number:  E474.44 B38 2000

Robert J. Walker.  American Slavery and Finances.  London:  W. Ridgway, 1864.  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E458 W17.

Robert J. Walker.  An Appeal for the Union, by Hon. Robert J. Walker...Letter first...June 28, 1862.  [Washington, DC:  H. Polkinhorn, 1862].  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E458.2 W24 1862.

Robert J. Walker.  Letter of Hon. R.J. Walker, in Favor of the Reelection of Abraham Lincoln.  London, Sept. 30, 1864.  [New York:  1864].  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  E458.4 W18 1864.

Robert J. Walker.  Review of Our Finances, and of the Report of Hon. S.P. Chase, Secretary of the Treasury.  [New York:  J.F. Trow, 1862].  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  HJ252 W13.

War Reminiscences of Columbus, Mississippi and Elsewhere 1861-1865.  Columbus, MS:  Stephen D. Lee Chapter No. 34, UDC, 1961.  Call Number:  E484 W37x.

William B. Washburn.  Report:  To Accompany Bill H.R. 104.  [Washington, DC:  1874].  War claim from Jackson, Mississippi.  Call Number:  E480 W37 1874.

Cora Harris Watson.  "Life within the Confederate Lines as Depicted in the War-Time Journal of a Mississippi Girl."  M.A. thesis; Louisanna State University; 1929.  Transcript of Holly Springs, Mississippi journal.  Call Number:  F349 H79 J64 1929.

Anne Webster.  Mississippi Confederate Pardon Applications.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Publishing Co., 2004.  Registers.  Call Number:  HV8692 W43 2004.

William Calvin Wells.  Oration Delivered by W. Calvin Wells, Commander 1st Brigade Miss. U.C.V. of Jackson, Mississippi, on May 6th, 1914.  Pub. by Order of the Reunion at the Twenty-Fourth Annual Reunion of the United Confederate Veterans, Jacksonville, Florida.  [Jackson, MS:  Jones Ptg. Co., 1914].  Call Number:  E650 W45.

Abner James Wilkes.  A Short History of My Life in the Late War between the North and the South.  [1957].  Co. B, 46th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry.  Call Number:  E605 W5.

Edward Willett.  Vicksburg Spy, or Found and Lost:  A Story of the Siege and Fall of the Great Rebel Stronghold.  New York:  American News Co., 1864.  Fiction.  Call Number:  PS3319 W564 V53 1864.

Daniel E. Williams.  Excerpts from The Connection:  The Enoch Williams Sr. Family of Attalaville, Mississippi.  [1999].  Includes transcripts of Civil War letters.  Call Number:  E605 W719 1999.

E. Russ Williams.  Records of Marion County, Mississippi.  Bogalusa, LA:  1962-68.  Includes Civil War records.  Call Number:  F347 M25 W4.

T.P. Williams.  Oktibbeha County, Mississippi, in the Civil War, 1861-1865.  Starkville, MS:  Golden Triangle Civil War Round Table, 1990.  Call Number:  E568 W534 1990.

L.J. Wilson.  The Confederate Soldier.  Fayetteville, AR:  M'Roy Print. Co., 1902.  First Lieutenant (Surgeon), Co. F, 1st Mississippi Infantry and 42nd Mississippi.  Call Number:  E605 W55.

Betty Couch Wiltshire.  Confederate Casualties of the War for Southern Independence.  Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub. Co., 2008-.  Three volumes of soldier registers.  Call Number:  E548 W53 2008.

Betty Couch Wiltshire.  Mississippi Confederate Grave Registrations.  Bowie, MD:  Heritage Books, 1991.  Two volumes.  Call Number:  E548 W55 1991.

Betty Couch Wiltshire.  Mississippi Confederate Pension Applications.  [Carrollton, MS:  Pioneer Pub. Co., 199-].  Three volumes.  Call Number:  E548 W56 1990z.

Robert Milton Winter.  Civil War Women:  The Diaries of Belle Strickland and Cora Harris Watson:  Holly Springs, Mississippi July 25, 1864 -- June 22, 1868.  Lafayette, CA:  Thomas Berryhill, 2001.  Call Number:  F349 H79 S75 2001.