World History

The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace provides up-to-date information about various countries within the Middle East and policy decisions affecting these countries.

FMEP focuses specifically on fostering peace between the Israeli and Palestinian states. It also offers pertinent information about the conflict.

The International Crisis Group is an NGO committed to resolving and preventing deadly crises world-wide, including many of the ongoing crises that are occurring within the Middle East. Pertinent information about these crises is provided through this website.

This website provides information about the history and demographics of the area, as well as analysis and editorial pieces.

The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media, websites, religious sermons and school books. MEMRI also provides English translations of these media sources.

MERIP is a non-profit NGO that is dedicated to providing up-to-date information and analysis on the Middle East.

This website, from RAND, provides information and expertise on the Middle East in the political, social, economic, and technological areas.

The Saban Center, at the Brookings Institute, engages in policy-relevant scholarship in the area of Middle Eastern and North African studies.

The UN Arab Human Development reports provide information and insight about the freedoms of Arab people. They also provide suggestions for policies, strategies, and opportunities for the empowerment of the Arab people.

Through the Harvard Center for Middle Eastern Studies, this is a collection of "the personal accounts of 134 indiduals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s.

Harvard University has cataloged and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps and published texts.

From Durham University, this collection consists of government publications, statistical data, documents from political entites, governmental and non-governmental organizations and more. The documents are in English, Arabic, French, Turkish, Persian and Hebrew.

Areas of coverage include: Al-Qaida Leadership, Iraqi Insurgent groups, Afghanistan, Israel/Palestinian, Pakistan and more. Unfortunately the original site is not longer available but much of it was captured by the Internet Archive.

In 1967, the Israeli Central Bureau of Statistics (ICBS) supervised a census in the territories. The census included questions about individuals, households, and the quality of residences—about age, sex, religion, place of residence, educational attainment, occupation, industrial sector, income, household structure, health, female fertility, and housing conditions. Two crucial questions about refugee status were asked: Had the individual lived prior to the 1948 War in the area that became the State of Israel? And, Was the individual living in or outside of a refugee camp at the time the census was taken? Digital version made available by the Levy Institute.

Part of Yale University's Avalon Project.