Library Guides: World History: Library Essentials

Library Catalog

Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license logo

All original content on this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please attribute as: "Content from University of Mississippi Libraries."

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada - see America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
History Reference Center
Comprehensive history reference database offering full text reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
Statistical Abstracts of the World
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions.

Where to Start
The resources here are available to help you get started and complete your research or class assignment.
Help with Resources
The tutorials and guides here are available to help you learn how to use Library resources.
Research Methods
The tutorials and guides here are available to help you learn about important parts of the research process.

WorldCat Local
A cooperative catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Worldcat is also available through FirstSearch here.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see WorldCat's blog.
Project Gutenberg
Online catalog of over 36,000 free electronic books that can be downloaded to various portable devices.

Early English Books Online
Over 125,000 books published in England and in English prior to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set.