Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1924-1975. Thomas G. Abernethy represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1943 and 1973. His papers include numerous files on Corps of Engineers projects in Mississippi (454 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and a recording are available in a digital collection.
Jeff Balfour Collection. 1949-1999. Includes Mississippi Oil and Gas Map as well as oil refinery photographs dating from 1957 to 1998 and negatives related to the Mississippi River Corps of Engineers from 1953 (4 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
F.A.P. Barnard Collection. 1831-1889. F.A.P. Barnard accepted a position as the Professor of Mathematics, Astronomy, and Civil Engineering at the University of Mississippi in 1854 and two years later became chancellor (2 boxes).
Andrew Brown & Son/R.F. Learned Lumber Company Collection. 1837-1974. Includes a 1952 ledger “The Corps of Engineers Vessel Operation Report” (Ledger 523). (117 boxes + ledgers).
Calvin S. Brown Collection. 1907-1926. Includes a notebook containing notes on “Astronomical Surveying for Engineers (Box 2) (2 boxes).
Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection. 1854-1937. Roane Fleming Byrnes was a leading force in the creation and promotion of the Natchez Trace Parkway. Collection includes “Review of G.W. Featerstonhaugh, An Excursion through the Slave States from Washington on the Potomac to the Frontier of Mexico, 1844, by Frederick Cron, Supervising Highway Engineer, U.S. Bureau of Public Roads, 1941” as well as a 1958 letter from Cron to Byrnes (Box 31, Folder 6) (46 boxes).
Chancellors Collection: Alfred Hume. 1895-1942. Alfred Hume was a professor of engineering and mathematics at the University of Mississippi and served as chancellor from 1924 to 1930 and from 1932 to 1935 (16 boxes).
Claude F. Clayton Collection. 1934-1969. Clayton served as a judge in the U.S. District Court of Northern Mississippi (1958-67) and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (1967-69). Includes case files related to Arthur Goldberg, Sec. of Labor v. Warren Kleban Engineering Corp. in an action to recover unpaid compensation due to former employees denied (Box 6, Folder 15); United State of America for the use and benefit of Climate Engineers v. Acme Electrical Contractors (Box 18, Folder 5); United States of America to the use of Brown Plumbing and Heating Co. v. Affiliated Engineers and Contractors (Box 18, Folder 6) (44 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs available in a digital collection.
J.P. Coleman Collection. 1965-1985. Collection consists of judiciary case files of J.P. Coleman who served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit between 1965 and 1984. Includes a file on Doris G. Fenner, et al. v. Continental Diving Service, Inc., et al v. Aquatic Contractors & Engineers, Inc. on personal injuries (Box 11, Folder 20); National Labor Relations Board v. Local 926 International Union of Operating Engineers (Box 17, Folder 7); Natco Inc. v. Williams Brothers Engineering Company, et al. v. Santa Fe Pipe Line Company for lost profits (Box 18, Folder 51); John R. Jeter Jr. v. Saint Regis Paper Company; American Employers Insurance Company; Mid-South Painting Specialist, et al for liability in negligent performance of assumed obligations to provide safety engineering services (Box 19, Folder 31); G.E. Lawrence as Trustees in Bankruptcy of Commercial Engineering & Manufacturing Company, Inc., et al. v. United States of America (Box 24, Folder 16); Engineers & Fabricators Inc v. National Labor Relations Board (Box 25, Folder 27); United States of America for the use and benefit of General Cable Corporation v. Power Engineering Company, Inc. (Box 33, Folder 31); F.M. Henderson et al. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers et al. (Box 36, Folder 17); Jerry Lee Carmena v. International Union of Operating Engineers, et al. (Box 48, Folder 16); Daniel Cox v. Otis Engineering Corporation for injuries (Box 51, Folder 19); John Giordano v. The Modern Air Transport/IBT System Board of Adjustment for discharge of flight engineer (Box 54, Folder 87); Way Engineering Company Inc. v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue Service (Box 57, Folder 23); Bankers Life and Casualty Company et al. v. The Village of North Palm Beach, Florida et al. over Corps of Engineers permit for dredging (Box 66, Folder 2); John M. Blaze v. Franklin B. Moon et al. regarding employment discrimination by Corps of Engineers (Box 66, Folder 23); Jacques Creppel et al. v. the United States Army Corps of Engineers, et al. challenging modifications to flood control project (Box 71, Folder 56); Control Components Inc. & Richard E. Self v. Valtek Inc. and Alpha Engineering Company on patent infringement (Box 73, Folder 11). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Ross A. Collins Collection. 1913-1940s. Scrapbook includes a portrait of D. McCoach, Engineer Commissioner of Washington, DC (Page 55); and a portrait of General Dan Sulton, Engineer Commissioner of Washington, DC (Page 56) (2 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
James O. Eastland Collection. 1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate briefly in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. His papers include extensive files on various engineering projects across the state of Mississippi from the efforts of the U.S. Corps of Engineers to state and local projects with regards to transportation, traffic, water and sewage, urban development, and other areas (approximately 1,800 linear feet). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
R. Malcolm Guess Collection. 1922-1961. Includes a carbon copy of a 1922 letter from University of Mississippi Vice Chancellor Hume to the secretary of the American Society of Civil Engineers (Box 1, Folder 3) (2 boxes).
Beckett Howorth Collection. 1983 and undated. Born in 1902, Beckett Howorth attended the University of Mississippi and worked three summers as an engineer on the Mississippi River before earning his medical degree. Collection includes a biographical sketch written by Howorth (1 box).
L.Q.C. Lamar Collection. 1860-1885. Includes photocopy of handwritten 1873 letter from Congressman L.Q.C. Lamar to E.D. Clark which discusses Navy engineers (Folder 9) (1 box).
H.H. Litty Collection. 1879-1984. Miscellaneous material related to Harry H. Litty, engineer, lawyer, and mayor of Memphis, Tennessee (1 box).
Map Collection. Includes reproduction of 1863 map of land between Milliken’s Bend, Louisiana and Jackson, Mississippi with profiles of engineering works and battlegrounds (Map #78); property map of Braithwaite Plantation in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana and abstract of earlier land surveys (Oversize Case, Map #141); 1942 Lower Mississippi River Alluvial Valley map by the Corps of Engineers (Oversize Case, Map #143); 197- Mississippi River Tributaries Map issued by the Mississippi River Commission Corps of Engineers (Map #247); 1979 Mississippi River Navigation map issued by the Mississippi River Commission Corps of Engineers (Map #248); 1940 & 1951 Oxford, Mississippi geological survey by Mississippi River Commission Corps of Engineers (Oversize Case, Map #265). .
George McLean Collection. 1947-1982. Includes a 1974 letter from Dean Karl Brenkert Jr. of the University of Mississippi School of Engineering (Box 8, Folder 10); a 1976 letter from W.J. Wilkes, Director of Office of Engineering at the U.S. Department of Transportation to the chairman of the Mississippi Tennessee-Tombigbee Bridge Advisory Committee (Box 8, Folder 12); 1977 letter from Colonel Charlie Blalock of the Corps of Engineers, Mobile District (Box 8, Folder 13); and typed minutes of a meeting with University of Mississippi administration, School of Engineering, Continuing Education Department, Tupelo Lee County Branch, State Research and Development Center (Box 8, Folder 20); and typed manuscript of McLean’s article “What really is the future for small cities in areas such as North Mississippi…” for Engineering Magazine (May 1972) (16 boxes).
James H. Meredith Collection. 1950-1997. James H. Meredith integrated the University of Mississippi in 1962. Collection includes a 1980 letter from Meredith to Director of the Department of Civil Engineering at Ahmadu Bello University concerning investment possibilities in Nigeria (Box 36, Folder 1); 1985 letters from Peter J. Offringa to Meredith on Corps of Engineers letterhead (Box 59, Folders 2 & 3); 1987 letters from Renee Edwards to Meredith with National Society of Black Engineers, University of Southern California envelope (Box 65, Folder 4 and Box 66, Folder 2); cassette tape “Corps of Engineers, Ohio River Division, James H. Meredith, Cincinnati, Ohio, 8 February 1985 (Tape 1985-6 in Box 123) (146 boxes).
Mississippi Cities and Counties Collection. 1914-1980. Includes undated postcards “Engineering School, Mississippi A & M College” (in Starkville section of postcard box) and “Waterways Experiment Station, Corps of Engineers, U.S. Army” (in Vicksburg section). (8 boxes).
Mississippi Conservation & Recreation Collection. 1938-1984. Includes a folder on the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Waterways Experiment Station (Folder 7) (2 boxes).
Mississippi Organizations Collection. 1920-2003. Includes files on the Mississippi Society of Professional Engineers and Mississippi Engineering Society (Box 1, Folders 13 & 14) (2 boxes).
Willie Morris Collection. Willie Morris was editor-in-chief of Harper’s Magazine from 1967 to 1971 and later wrote many books of fiction and nonfiction. Includes a 1971 letter from Konstantin Kolenda of Rice University with typed manuscript “The New Consciousness and the Engineer” (Box 7, Folder 7) (173 boxes).
Ed Movitz Integration Collection. 1962. Includes an image of Major Sergeant Kristoferson, commanding officer of the 70th Engineer Battalion of Ft. Campbell, Kentucky, escorting an unidentified man through the tent city created to secure the campus of the University of Mississippi after the 1962 integration riot. Note: requires two business-days advance notice to retrieve images from cold storage at an off-site facility for use in Special Collections.
D.G.W. Ricketts Collection. 1917-1966. D.G.W. Ricketts was a civil engineer and land surveyor in Mississippi, and his collection contains correspondence, notes, manuscripts, charts and maps as well as other items related to his career (3 boxes).
John C. Satterfield/American Bar Association Collection. 1928-1974. John C. Satterfield was president of the American Bar Association in 1961-62 and a leading lawyer in cases across the South opposing school desegregation. Includes a speech at the Mississippi Society of Professional Engineers in 1963 (Box 36, Folder 300.15). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
University Small Manuscripts. 1846-2012. Includes a file with broadsides, press releases, pamphlets and other items related to the University of Mississippi School of Engineering (Box 1, Folder 7); pamphlet “A New Environment, Geology & Geological Engineering (Box 10, Folder 13).
Jamie Whitten Collection. 1941-1995. A Mississippian, Jamie L. Whitten served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1941 to 1995. Includes a series on the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and its projects (Series 2). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
William M. Whittington Collection. 1897-1962. A Mississippian, William M. Whittington served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1925 to 1951, chairing the Committee on Flood Control (1937-1946) and the Committee on Public Works (1949-1950) (316 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
World War II Memories Collection. 1938-1994. Includes letters, photographs, and transcription from a taped interview with C.C. Pinson, an African American soldier who served in the 1321st Engineer Battalion in the European and Pacific theaters of World War II (Box 2, Folder 18; Box 4, Folder 20) (3 boxes).