Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Faculty & Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Scholar Support & Data Services Methods & Analysis Lab Archives Reference Services Distance Services Private Study Carrels
Print, Copy, ScanPrint Locations IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE Audio/Visual Equipment Loans
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 

Simmons Catalyst

Provides step-by-step instructions for using Simmons Catalyst.

Main Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Terminology

 BASE

  • Also known as: filter or universe; the comparison point.
  • Filters out anyone who does not conform to the selected criteria:
    • Female
    • US Hispanic
    • A21+
    • Etc.

COLUMNS

  • Also known as: target audience.
  • Who you want to know about; can be built from:
    • Demographics
    • Psychographics
    • Brand usage
    • Etc.

ROWS

  • What you want to know about the people you want to know about:
    • What brands are they buying?
    • What media are they consuming?
    • What are their attitudes & opinions?
    • Etc.
About Simmons Catalyst

Simmons Catalyst is limited to 25 users at a time. Please remember to logout when you finish so others may access and use it.

What is Simmons Catalyst?

Simmons Catalyst contains data from the National Consumer Survey, an annual survey of U.S. consumer's buying and media habits:

  • consumer demographics (age, gender, inocme, etc.)
  • consumer psychographics (behaviors, attitudes, etc.)
  • buying and media habits

It can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.

Getting Started

What do you want to know?

1. What is your product or brand?

2. What do you want to know about this product or brand?

  • demographics: age, gender, race, income, education, marital status
  • psychographics: attitudes, values, beliefs
  • media: Where is the best place advertise to reach my target audience?
  • products: What products does my target audience use?
Using Simmons Catalyst

1. Click on Simmons Catalyst, you may be asked to authenticate with your myolemiss username and password. You will then be taken to the Simmons Catalyst home screen.

2. Simmons will default to the below view. To begin your Crosstab, hoover over Analyze (top of page) and select Crosstab.

3. In this view, you will see the Simmons Crosstab Module Composer screen with the various areas labeled.  

  • 1. Study selector dropdown menu
  • 2. Weighting selector dropdown menu
  • 3. Dictionary tab (contains the entire data dictionary). Here you can browse products, brands, and demographics.
  • 4. Definitions tab (where personal, shared, and global definitions reside)
  • 5. Selection box. Here you can select products, brands, and demographics to move into the columns and rows.
  • 6. Label dropdown selector
  • 7. Columns, Rows, and Bases windows. The Base is the population you will use to build your study, and the population used when calculating the index. You can leave the Base blank, which means your crosstab will use the whole study population.
  • 8. Run button (will turn purple when the columns/rows/bases are populated)