Library Guides: WRIT 310: Writing in Professional Contexts: Information Resources

Subject Guide

Contact:

aesorey@olemiss.edu

(662) 915-7933

Subjects: Advertising, Business Administration, Economics, Government, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing & Demographics

Citation Examples & Assistance

OWL at Purdue
APA Style and Grammar Guide
How to Recognize Plagiarism
Examples of how to properly paraphrase and cite a source by Indiana University Bloomington, School of Education.

Databases

Business Source Complete
Comprehensive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Nexis Uni
Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.
Regional Business News
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal
Online version of the Wall Street Journal available through ProQuest.

Other Relevant Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Communication Source
An upgraded version of Communication and Mass Media. Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Congressional Publications
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
ERIC (via EBSCO)
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
Professional Development Collection
Journal article database comprised primarily of peer-reviewed literature from the field of education.
PsycINFO
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.
Statista
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

Complete List of Databases A-Z & by Subject

Jobs, Internships, and Company Environment

Glassdoor
A free jobs and career community that offers the world an inside look at jobs and companies
Indeed
Indeed has thousands of company reviews, it is also a job aggregator so you will find job listings from other sites.
LinkedIn
Prospective employees can use the company search feature to search for information on companies.
Vault
Provides information to prospective employees about jobs and internships, top employers, job search advice, salary listings, and more.
UM Career Center
Provides access to Vault Career Library, Going Global, and Candid Career. All are great tools to use in your search for that dream job.
Internships.com
Provides a wide variety of interactive tools and services to enable every student, employer and educator to better understand and optimize internship opportunities, enabling businesses to identify the best job candidates and for students to develop the real-world skills they will need upon graduation.

Professional or Trade & Industry Organization Resources

Directories

Industry specific associations

Search Guides

WRIT 310: Writing in Professional Contexts

Subject Guide

Citation Examples & Assistance

Databases

Jobs, Internships, and Company Environment

Professional or Trade & Industry Organization Resources