Library Guides: WRIT 310: Writing in Professional Contexts: International Business & Country Background

Librarian

Contact:

aesorey@olemiss.edu

(662) 915-7933

Subjects: Advertising, Business Administration, Economics, Government, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing & Demographics

Business Chat

Databases for International Business & Country Research

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use Business Source Complete to find country reports- under the Publications tab.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use LexisNexis Academic to search for country information. Select search by content type, country information is located under People, Places and Things.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Use Mergent Online to search country profiles.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including international unlisted companies. (Click on the green direct access button on the left-unless you'd like to create an account- and then begin searching in the search box at the top of the screen.)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
Use ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World to find data not easily found elsewhere on the social, political, and economic conditions of 40 countries. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are included.

Country Background

Sources recommended include cultural, economic, historical, political, and statistical background.

CIA World Factbook
Brief history of each country along with geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
U.S. Department of State Fact Sheets
Fact Sheets on U.S. relations with other countries.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks
As the original intent was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive.
International Monetary Fund Country Information
Portal includes IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
International Programs at the U.S. Census
Demographic and socioeconomic statistics compiled by the Census Bureau's International Programs Center (IPC) for 227 countries and areas with current populations of 5,000 or more going back to 1950.
International Statistics Agencies
Country list includes links and any language restrictions.
OECD
Select the Countries tab. Portal covers member countries extensively.
OffStats
Links to statistics from official sources and non-governmental research organizations by country, region, or subject. Some are only in the national language, but most have an English option.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Portal includes data and research along with project and program information.
World Trade Organization Documents & Resources
Portal to official documents, trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos.

Global Business Etiquette

Country Insights
Covers communication, dress punctuality, formality, stereotypes, and the workplace for each country. (Produced by the Canadian government.)

Books

Global Business Etiquette
Call Number: HF5389 .M375 2012
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands
Call Number: HF5389 .M67 2006
Passport to Success
Call Number: HF5389 .M3753 2009

E-books

Global Business Etiquette

Passport to Success

Doing Business

Country Commercial Guides via export.gov
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
globalEdge
Learn more about the history, government, economy, and culture of almost every country in the world. Each country's page also provides external resources, trade statistics, rankings of corporations with headquarters in that country, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness.
Doing Business: Benchmarking Business Regulations
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.

PESTLE Analyses

PESTLE factors are Political, Economic, Social, Technologicial, Legal, and Environmental. The Marketline Country Profiles annually include a PESTLE analysis chapter for most countries covered.

The following directions and screenshot illustrate the steps for accessing all the PESTLE analyses (not just the U.S.).

In Business Source Complete, select the Publications tab.
Select Country Reports.
Select Publisher.
Select Marketline.

Search Guides

WRIT 310: Writing in Professional Contexts