Search Guides
African American Studies Subject Guide
MAAP: Mapping the African American Past
Mapping the African American Past was created to enhance the appreciation and study of significant sites and moments in the history of African Americans from the early 17th-century through the recent past.
Through "Places in Focus" you can browse many locations visually by date range and read encyclopedic profiles of people and events.
The site is further enhanced by selected film and music clips; digitized photographs, documents, lesson plans, and maps from Columbia University's libraries.
Primary Source Websites
-
African American OdysseyThe papers of Frederick Douglass, slave narrative, Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860, Jackie Robinson and more; from the Library of Congress.
-
Brown v. Board of EducationFull text of court decisions related to the Brown case from the U.S. Supreme Court and lower federal courts, and citations to related state court cases.
Also included are oral histories and a bibliography of books related to Oliver L. Brown. -
Civil Rights Digital LibraryPrimary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
-
Civil Rights In Mississippi: Digital ArchivesIncludes civil rights oral histories, transcripts and photographs, a timeline, bibliographies, digital collections as well as other civil rights resources
-
Documenting the American SouthListen to audio files and read transcripts of over 500 oral histories from the US South.
-
Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet CollectionThe Library of Congress provides the full text of documents related to African American history and culture. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells.
-
Who Speaks for the Negro?A collection of interviews with a variety of Civil Rights Movement figures conducted for Robert Penn Warren's book.
-
North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements ProjectThe North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements project provides online access to all known runaway slave advertisements (more than 2300 items) published in North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to 1840.
Useful Links
-
Greensboro Sits-in: Launch of a Civil Rights MovementContains media headlines, a timeline, photo gallery, access to the News and Record's Online Archives, and related web links.
-
Malcolm X ProjectIncludes a biography, timeline, bibliography, videography, and discography of published resources. as well as a number of articles about Malcolm X.
-
Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education InstituteBiography, encyclopedia of MLK's life, sermons, speeches, writings, and unpublished manuscripts.
-
W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American ResearchThe nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of African Americans.
From the Schomburg Collection
Trusted information, interpretation and scholarship on the global black experience:
- exhibitions,
- books
- articles,
- photographs,
- prints,
- audio and video streams
Africa and the African Diaspora
More than 11,000 prints, photographs, maps, tables and other historical documents relating to African and African Diasporan history and cultures from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
African Americans from the 19th Century
An portfolio of 500 images documenting the social, political and cultural world of African Americans from slavery through the Civil War, Reconstruction.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Presents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. The Web site is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation.