Library Guides: African American Studies Subject Guide: Articles & Databases

Subject Guide

Assistant Professor, Scholar Support and Data Services

Email Me

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Topics Guides

One Search

Secondary Sources - Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Primary Sources - Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers published by or for African Americans in 35 states from 1827 to 1998. Funded by the Dr. Gerald W. Walton Endowment.
Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 This link opens in a new window
The Pittsburgh Courier was an African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Primary Sources - Documents & Manuscripts

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society's holdings of slavery and abolition materials contains works published over the course of more than 100 years. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century. Contains the NAACP Papers collection.
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover and the Integration of the University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
This collection contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith?s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist and Woman This link opens in a new window
Contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Contains pamphlets on all major aspects of Reconstruction from 1865 ? 1869 and 1877. This assortment of pamphlets was collected by the Department of State Library and includes speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more.
Slavery and the Law This link opens in a new window
Features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867 as well as the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Local Resources

African American Experience at UM Provides transcripts and links to information documenting African Americans who lived on, worked on, visited, and attended the UM campus from the late 1850s to the early 2000s.
UM Slavery Research Group The UMSRG is a group of University of Mississippi faculty and staff working across disciplines to learn more about the history of slavery and enslaved people in Oxford and on campus.
"We Cannot Walk Alone:" Images and History of the African-American Community, Lafayette County, Mississippi A companion website to the 2003 UM Library exhibit features oral histories and other information about African Americans in Lafayette County.

Search Guides

African American Studies Subject Guide

Subject Guide

Topics Guides

One Search

Secondary Sources - Journal Articles

Primary Sources - Historical Newspapers

Primary Sources - Documents & Manuscripts

Local Resources