Newspapers

As the only major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The Atlanta Constitution provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.

The Atlanta Daily World had the first black White House correspondent and was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century.

The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.

The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.

The Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

The Cleveland Call & Post promoted participation in politics, urged the establishment of legal aid societies by the African-American community, and encouraged black solidarity and self-reliance.

This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition. First U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony. It sent reporters to Civil War battlefields to describe the action, set up a Washington bureau to report on politics, and was the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.

Provides access to searchable English-language articles covering over a century of Japanese history from 1897-2015.

From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans not to “spend your money where you can’t work,” the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change, and empowered the black community.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time and covers 1881-2016.

The Nashville Tennessean(1812-2002) provides unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. This diverse, easily-accessible primary source material is an invaluable tool for effective research by users in almost any field.

The New York Amsterdam News captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. Today, the New York Amsterdam News continues to deliver local, national, and international stories of interest to its multicultural readership.

The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This historical database offers downloadable PDF's from each issue published between 1851 and 2021.

The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.

The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command?s Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam.

Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

The oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the U.S., The Philadelphia Tribune was founded by Christopher James Perry. His paper conveyed ideas and opinions about local and national issues affecting blacks in the post-emancipation period, and today continues to serve the country’s fourth largest African-American community.

The Pittsburgh Courier was an African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

A progressive voice on Florida's conservative west coast, the Tampa Bay Times is one of the top 10 newspapers in the United States. Known as the St. Petersburg Times until 2012, this publication is owned by the Poynter Institute for Media Studies, a non-profit school of journalism. This unique ownership structure ensures the newspaper’s independent voice and makes it an invaluable resource n the study of journal and philanthropy.

The Sunday Times launched in 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.

The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.

Online version of the Wall Street Journal available through ProQuest.

The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper founded in 1877. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., and has a particular emphasis on national politics.

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

Offers searchable digital editions of three U.S. newspapers from 1923-1993. Includes: Press-Register (Mobile, Alabama; 1970-1992), The Seattle Times (Seattle, Washington; 1923-1984), The Times (Trenton, New Jersey; 1923-1993).

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Features newspapers published by or for African Americans in 35 states from 1827 to 1998. Funded by the Dr. Gerald W. Walton Endowment.

The British Periodicals Collection database provides access to periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

This collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers, which offers coverage of 1832-1953, provides valuable insight into political and social life of China during this turbulent 120-year period in modern Chinese history. Advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads are also included in the resource, as they illuminate as much history as the articles.

Contains articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Searches more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century American newspapers.

Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.

Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Spanning the late 1600s to the present, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

The nineteenth century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world’s first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. The Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals series covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the nineteenth century world. The University of Mississippi Libraries' access includes Part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure.

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ? the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.

Contains all of the content available in LGBTQ+ Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.

The content in the Nineteenth Century Collections Online is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. The University of Mississippi Libraries' access includes Asia and the West.

Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.