Library Guides: MKTG 465: Integrated Media Planning Essentials: Overview

News Resources

Websites (access to freely available content only)

Publications (access via UM Libraries)

Resource Help Videos

Librarian

Ashley Dees

Contact:

aesorey@olemiss.edu

(662) 915-7933

Subjects: Advertising, Business Administration, Economics, Government, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing & Demographics

Library Databases and Other Resources

Advertising and Related Databases

Advertising Red Books via Winmo This link opens in a new window
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data from within the advertising industry.
SRDS This link opens in a new window
SRDS is a database of media rates that catalogs more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties. SRDS also includes Segmentation & Market Solutions.
Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Survey analysis and planning software that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies.

Simmons Step by Step Directions

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

Market Segmentation

Claritas
Locate and discover market segments, consumer markets, and customer segmentation profiling.
Tapestry Zip Look-up
Type in your ZIP Code to see demographic and lifestyle information about your neighborhood.

Tapestry Segmentation PDF
This pdf gives a quick overview of Tapestry’s 14 LifeMode summary groups and 67 segments that describe US residential neighborhoods.

Databases for Company & Industry Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Find analysis and graphic display of market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity within an industry (Archives available on the far left of page.)
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles, company information (SWOT), company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports. (Search using the Keyword box, Company Information search, or Company Profile search.)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find company, industry, and country information. (Start your company search at the Business box and then click on Company Dossier.)
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Search for private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial information on U.S. and international companies, industry reports, annual reports, and EDGAR filings. (Start searching at the Company Search box.)
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. (Begin searching in the search box at the top of the screen.)
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Find stock prices and investment information. (Use the Quote box in the top right-hand corner to begin your search.)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

Article Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Wall Street Journal available through ProQuest.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

APA Citations for Simmons

Crosstab Results
MRI-Simmons. (2022). 2022 Spring MRI-Simmons USA [Cell phones / smartphones services used last 30 days - age, gender] [Data set]. https://simmonsinsights.com/

Quick Report- Demographic Profile
MRI-Simmons. (2022). 2022 Spring MRI-Simmons USA [Target/ Digital Photos-Printed in last 12 Months] [Demographic profile]. https://simmonsinsights.com/

Quick Report- Segmentation
MRI-Simmons. (2022). 2022 Spring MRI-Simmons USA [Base/ Millennials] [Segmentation profile]. https://simmonsinsights.com/

Search Guides