Back to olemiss.edu
Skip to Main Content

Artificial Intelligence : AI-Powered Databases

Interested in AI? This guide is for you! Direct any questions to the UM Library's Artificial Intelligence Committee.

ProQuest Research Assistant

Overview

ProQuest Research Assistant is an AI-powered research companion integrated into ProQuest databases. It helps users:

  • Conduct more effective and targeted searches

  • Analyze and interpret scholarly articles more efficiently

  • Evaluate document relevance quickly

  • Receive guidance on research topics and concepts

The University of Mississippi Libraries provides access to ProQuest Databases, including ProQuest One Academic and ProQuest Central.

Explore the available resources here: ProQuest Databases

Databases with ProQuest Research Assistant Integration

ProQuest Research Assistant is integrated into the following databases, with ongoing updates to expand coverage:

  • ProQuest One Academic
    • ProQuest Central
      • ProQuest One Applied & Life Sciences
      • ProQuest One Business
      • ProQuest One Education
      • ProQuest One Health & Nursing
      • ProQuest One Psychology
      • ProQuest One Religion & Philosophy
      • ProQuest One Social Sciences

Supported Document Types

ProQuest Research Assistant features are available (or will be available) for the following content types:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade journals
  • Magazines
  • News articles (current, historical, and wire feeds)
  • Dissertations & theses
  • Conference proceedings
  • Encyclopedias & reference works
  • Government & official publications
  • Reports
  • Working papers
  • Standards and practice guidelines

 

Key Features

1. Key Takeaway (AI-Generated Summary): Provides a concise summary of the document’s main points.

 

2. Suggested Sources: Recommends relevant sources based on the document’s content.

 

3. Indexing Terms: Displays key terms categorized by subject, location, and other classifications, helping users refine searches using standardized indexing vocabulary.

 

4. Research Topics: Suggests related research topics from the document, providing brief explanations to support deeper exploration.

 

5. Important Concepts: Important Concepts: Identifies key concepts within the document and provides explanations for each concept.

 

LLM Model

  • To process Clarivate's (i.e., the parent company of ProQuest) licensed content, ProQuest Research Assistant utilizes OpenAI LLMs, currently GPT-4o Mini, with future versions tested and updated as they become available.

Privacy, Security, and Copyright Compliance

  • Data Privacy & Security: Clarivate enforces data privacy and security standards to protect user interactions and research activities.
  • Licensed Content Processing: The AI model processes licensed content exclusively for real-time responses, following agreements with publishing partners.
  • Data Storage & Usage:
    • No data is stored or reused beyond the immediate interaction.
    • Licensed content is not used to train LLMs, ensuring compliance with copyright laws.

For more details, visit Clarivate’s AI & Privacy Policy.

Limitations and User Responsibility

  • ProQuest Research Assistant uses Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) to minimize errors and maintains document-aligned perspectives to reduce bias.
  • Users should independently verify AI-generated contents before relying on them.
  • "AI-generated content quality may vary. Users should check for accuracy. Disclaimer"