International Studies

To access all of our statistical and data-related resources, visit this research guide.

Wikipedia page of links to known statistical agencies for most countries as well as some international groups.

- Tracks $40 trillion in international aid and development projects

The Corruption Perceptions Index is an index which ranks countries "by their perceived levels of public sector corruption, as determined by expert assessments and opinion surveys." The CPI generally defines corruption as an "abuse of entrusted power for private gain".

This guide, presented by the Data & Information Services Center of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 148 countries worldwide.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg.

Statistics and data on agricultural production around the world.

Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.

The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. It includes data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. IMF Data Mapper allows users to create charts and tables of the data.

NationMaster is a central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. It contains a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. With it you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

The Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Survey data are released after all reporting is completed, typically two years following completion of the fielding of the survey.

PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world.

SEDAC’s mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an “information gateway” between the earth sciences and social sciences. Its primary areas of focus are:
Environment and Health (EH)
Environmental Sustainability (ES)
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
Hazard Vulnerability Assessment (HVA)
Model Visualization and Analysis (MVA)
Population Land-Use and Emissions (PLUE)
Poverty and Food Security (PFS)

The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations. The UIS Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication and allows users to download predefined tables or build their own. Summary data (profiles and global rankings) are also available.

The World Bank's Data Catalog provides download access to over 2000 indicators arranged by country, indicator and topic. The World Bank is a premier source for data on economic and social issues throughout the world.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.

ICPSR is one of the largest social science data repositories in the world. It contains thousands of datasets on a variety of topics.