Library Guides: International Studies: Latin America

Introduction

The sources below provide broad, top-level coverage of Latin American affairs. However, there are many country-specific resources freely available online. Most countries will have national archives with some digital collections, and they will almost all have online news organizations, government websites, and much more.

Data and Statistics

UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Data, statistics, and news from the United Nations. Known as CEPAL in Spanish; includes CEPALSTAT.
Inter-American Development Bank
Searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Latin American Public Opinion Project
LAPOP is the premier academic institution carrying out surveys of public opinion in the Americas, with over thirty years of experience.

Primary Sources

Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA)
Provides access to text, audio and video of Web sites of nearly 300 government ministries and presidencies of 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries since 2005.
Archive of Political Parties and Elections in Latin America (APPELA)
Provides access to documents and other materials from a wide range of political parties and national electoral authorities during 2005.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies (FAMSI)
Online collection of resources on ancient Mesoamerican cultures.
Archivo Electronico Ricardo Flores Magon
Complete digitized collection of the newspapers Regeneracion and some issues of Revolucion.
Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana
Digital encyclopedia of traditional medicine in Mexico. In Spanish.

Secondary Sources

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the US.
Latin American Intelligence Service This link opens in a new window
Full text analysis of political and economic developments in Latin America.

LANIC
The Latin American Network Information Center is the most important portal for Latin America and the Caribbean organized by country and subject.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
Plataforma Democratica
Virtual library with more than 8,000 titles freely available, related to aspects of democracy in Latin America and 50 hours on video of conferences with top social scientists, policy makers and specialists.

European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. Full text not included; use Interlibrary Loan to request titles.

Search Guides

International Studies

Introduction

Data and Statistics

Primary Sources

Secondary Sources