Search Guides
Homeland Security Subject Guide
Homeland Security Essentials
The Homeland Security Essentials page is the starting point for students looking for reliable resources written by experts in homeland security research. Essentials includes the databases and websites most relevant to homeland security overall. The tabs marked Emergency Management,Terrorism and Border Protection have resources specific to those topics.
Database & website links are followed by an "info" icon--hover over the icon to see how the resource is relevant to research in homeland security.
Yes: 4 votes (100%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4
Legal Databases
-
How to Cite Legal Materials - A concise guide to citing legal materials from John Jay.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window - Relevance: Best library database for law and law-related articles. Also contains historical trial records and treaties.
-
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window - Relevance: a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Includes congressional hearings, testimonies by policy experts, and House and Senate publications.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window - Relevance: full text coverage of caselaw, legal articles, and legal news.
Statistics Databases
-
Statista This link opens in a new window- Relevance: a great way to find criminal justice statistics and to easily display them graphically.
-
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowCollection of polling data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
More CJ Guides
-
Criminal Justice Subject GuideThe starting point for basic CJ research in addition to nuanced topics and searches related to criminal justice.
-
Homeland Security Subject GuideThe Homeland Security Essentials page is the starting point for students looking for reliable resources written by experts in homeland security research.
-
Criminal Justice on the WebThis guide includes websites from government agencies related to research in criminal justice
-
Topics in Criminal JusticeThese pages are intended to inspire student research by presenting selected academic resources on topics in Criminal Justice.
-
CJ 100 Library GuideA guide to assist beginning criminal justice researchers.
-
CJ 685 Library Guide: Ethics in Criminal JusticeA guide to assist upper-division students enrolled in CJ Ethics
Search Across Disciplines
Essential Databases
-
Homeland Security Digital Library - Relevance: the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
-
Political Science Complete - Relevance: articles on specific strategies for managing emergencies, terrorism, immigration and many other homeland security topics.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text - Relevance: the study of the development, structure, and functioning of human society; the study of social problems including terrorism and emergency situations.
Browse Criminal Justice Journals
-
BrowZine: UM Legal Studies Journals direct linkExplore peer-reviewed, online Law & Legal Studies journals in the libraries via BrowZine!
-
BrowZine: UM Criminal Justice Journals direct linkExplore peer-reviewed, online criminal justice journals in the libraries via BrowZine!
Government Websites
-
Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Mission: With honor and integrity, we will safeguard the American people, our homeland, and our values.
-
Department of Defense (DOD) Mission: The mission of the Department of Defense is to provide the military forces needed to deter war and to protect the security of our country. The department's headquarters is at the Pentagon.
-
Department of Justice (DOJ) Mission: To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.
-
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) Mission: Preempt threats and further US national security objectives by collecting intelligence that matters, producing objective all-source analysis, conducting effective covert action as directed by the President, and safeguarding the secrets that help keep our Nation safe.
-
INTERPOL Mission: to advance the law enforcement interests of the U.S. as the official representative to the International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL); to share criminal justice, humanitarian, and public safety information between our nation's law enforcement community and its foreign counterparts, and to facilitate transnational investigative efforts that enhance the safety and security of our nation.
