Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 

Electronic Resources

UMissMe Bookmarklet

Want to go directly to a resource rather than using the Library's website? Use the UMissMe bookmarklet to reload the resource page using the Library's proxy server. 

The links on the library's website are configured so that you can have access to most of our electronic resources no matter where you are so long as you are a current student, employee, or adjunct teacher at the University of Mississippi. If you go directly to the website for a resource like JSTOR, the resource provider has no way of knowing that you are affiliated with UM. Thus, you are likely to be denied full access to materials for which we have a subscription unless you are in the library using one of the public computers.

To save yourself a trip to the library's website, we suggest trying the UMissMe bookmarklet. The bookmarklet will rewrite the link of the page you are on so that you can log in via the library's proxy server to show that you are a member of the UM community.

Installing the bookmarklet

UMissMe -- Drag the UMissMe link to your bookmarks toolbar or right-click on the link to add it to your favorites.
The bookmarklet will work with most browsers and platforms so long as your bookmarks or favorites allow the use of JavaScript.
Have an iPhone or iPad? See below for how to add the code into an existing or newly created bookmark if your browser doesn't support the drag and drop below.)

Using the bookmarklet

  • Once the page you are trying to access has loaded, open the UMissMe bookmarklet.
  • Provide your WebID and password at the prompt.
  • The page will reload and you should have access to material for which the UM Libraries have a subscription. You'll notice the link now contains the UM Libraries' proxy information. (ex. http://www.jstor.org → http://www.jstor.org.umiss.idm.oclc.org/

Note

The bookmarklet will only work on those pages containing content for which the UM Libraries have a subscription and that have been set up on our proxy server. Because we may have access to some material through sources other than the one you are using, check the Journal A-Z list if you receive an error message.

Using UMissMe with and Iphone/Ipad

Installing the Bookmarklet

  • Open your iPhone browser, and add a bookmark for this page.
  • Change the bookmark's name to "UMissMe" and save.
  • Copy the following addess: javascript:void(location.href=%22http://umiss.idm.oclc.org/login?url=%22+location.href);
  • Open your bookmarks and edit the UMissMe by replacing the url it with the copied address.
  • Save the bookmark.

Using the Bookmarklet

  • Once the page you are trying to access has loaded, click on the UMissMe bookmarklet to view subscribed content.
  • Provide your WebID and password at the prompt.
  • The page will reload and you should have access to material for which the UM Libraries have a subscription. You'll notice the link now contains the UM Libraries' proxy information.
    (ex. http://www.jstor.org → http://www.jstor.org.umiss.idm.oclc.org/)

Note

The bookmarklet will only work on those pages containing content for which the UM Libraries have a subscription and that have been set up on our proxy server. Because we may have access to some material through sources other than the one you are using, check the Journal A-Z list if you receive an error message.

 

Still Need Help?

The University of Mississippi Libraries Subject Librarians are here to assist you with your research needs.  Please see the Subject Liaison list to find the librarian for your area of study and how to contact them.

Subjects: *Topic Guides