Skip to main content

Health (Archives): Home

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections material identified in this subject guide dates from the nineteenth century to the present.  It deals with all varieties of health-related subjects including epidemics and mental illnesses, physicians and dentists.  The primary focus is on the state of Mississippi.  The subject guide is divided into four categories:

Manuscript Collections describes relevant manuscript material.

Primary Source Publications lists cataloged holdings with first-hand accounts or data.

Secondary Source Publications outlines histories and other disciplinary approaches to health subjects.

Media describes available recordings on the topic. 

Related Links:

Digital Collections

Aldrich Collection

Other Library Resources

For assistance with non-archives resources, check out the main library's subject guides for BiologyHealth & Exercise SciencePharmacy, and Psychology.

The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings.  Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.

Online tutorials describe the differences between primary and secondary resources as well as finding and using the Archives and Special Collections.

Other Resources

The University of Mississippi Medical Center Archives in Jackson, Mississippi has a number of invaluable collections on health topics.  Call (601) 815-9655. 

To search for health-related collections at other archives, check out the History of Medicine Finding Aids Consortium hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Librarian Contact

Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist and Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu