Library Guides: Data Management: Data Repositories

Types of Data Repositories

There are many repositories out there that can house your data in compliance with funding agency requirements. They generally take one of two forms: subject-specific repositories that contain data relating to one field or topic, and general repositories that will take data from any discipline. Listed below are some of the most well-known repositories, but this is far from an exhaustive list. Most are free, but some do charge a fee.

General Repositories

eGrove
eGrove is the University of Mississippi's institutional repository. A multitude of research outputs, including data, can be deposited and shared with the public here. There is no cost or storage limits. For information on eGrove and to discuss data deposits contact Michelle Emanuel.
Dataverse
Dataverse is a multidisciplinary data repository. You will need to create an account, but Harvard allows anyone whose institution does not have their own data repository to upload data through their instance of Dataverse.
figshare
A repository where "research outputs are available in citable, shareable and discoverable manner".
Open Context
Open Context reviews, edits, annotates, publishes and archives research data and digital documentation.

Subject Repositories

ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. The University of Mississippi is a member of ICPSR, but you will need to create your own account to access and store datasets.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.
Dryad
A curated resource that provide the data underlying scientific publications in evolutionary biology and ecology.
DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth)
The foundation of new innovative environmental science provides the preservation, access, use and reuse of multi-disciplinary science data.
Speech and Language Data Repository (SLDR/ORTOLANG)
Primary data, secondary data, tools and collections in speech linguistics.

Directories of Subject-Specific Repositories

Registry of Research Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded there.
Open Access Directory
This is a list of repositories and databases for open data.