Criminal Justice and Legal Studies

Contains original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is part of CQ Collections. 

The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Access to the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is available free of charge, but access to some content requires that individuals create an account.

This archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
On campus users only

Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.

This is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

Criminal Justice Abstracts is the leading bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.

A collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.

Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

- Relevance: a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Includes congressional hearings, testimonies by policy experts, and House and Senate publications.

- Relevance: provides comprehensive coverage of law and law-related periodicals.

- Law journals and extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

- Relevance: a great way to find criminal justice statistics and to easily display them graphically.

Collection of polling data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.