Search Guides
UM Common Reading Experience 2019: Evicted
Resource guide for the UM Common Read, Evicted, by Matthew Desmond
“An exhaustively researched, vividly realized and above all, unignorable book—after Evicted, it will no longer be possible to have a serious discussion about poverty without having a serious discussion about housing.”
—Jennifer Senior, New York Times
Library Databases
Use these databases to search for articles on themes from the book. Keyword suggestions:
- Cycle of Poverty
- Mortgage Interest Deduction
- Racism and Eviction
- Housing Discrimination
- Public Housing
- Landlord Tenant Laws
- Redlining
- (Drug Addiction or Opiate Epidemic) and Housing
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.
-
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
-
Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Users can access this resource as a guest or create a Social Explorer account.
CQ Researcher Reports
Award-winning reports from CQ Researcher, providing in-depth coverage on today's issues.
-
Domestic Poverty (2019)
-
Affordable Housing Shortage (2018)
-
Poverty and Homelessness (2017)
-
Housing Discrimination (2015)
-
Fighting Urban Poverty (2015)
- Gentrification (2015)
Resources Listed in Evicted
-
Evicted
by
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0553447459Publication Date: 2016-03-01Two print copies of the book are located in the J.D. Williams Library, 2nd floor stacks. Call Number: HD7287.96.U6 D47 2016
In the final chapter of Evicted, "About this Project," Matthew Desmond discusses the methods he used to collect the stories, information, and data used to write the book. In addition to his extensive fieldwork, he also designed and administered several surveys in partnership with the University of Wisconsin Survey Center and made the data available to the public.
-
The Eviction LabMatthew Desmond led a team of researchers and students at Princeton University dedicated to amassing the nation's first-ever database of eviction. To date, the Lab had collected 83 million records from 48 states and the District of Columbia. Listen to the radio interview below to learn more.
-
Milwaukee Area Renters Study (MARS) DataAn in-person survey of 1,086 households in Milwaukee designed to collect new data related to housing, poverty, and urban life. Desmond discusses this survey and its results on pages 329-331 in the book.
-
Milwaukee Eviction Court Study (MECS) DataAn in-person survey of tenants appearing in Milwaukee County Small Claims Court for an eviction hearing during a six-week period in 2011. Desmond discusses this study and its results on pages 331-332 in the book.
-
Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing StudyThe Fragile Families & Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents). Data includes interviews with parents, in-home assessments, and parents' work, education, and health histories at various points in each child's life. Desmond also mentions on page 331 that he analyzed data from this survey.
Local Resources
-
UM Law School Housing ClinicStudents assist individuals and families facing eviction or foreclosure and victims of illegal lockouts and predatory lending practices. They take responsibility for the management of their own cases, meet with clients, interview witnesses, draft motions and pleadings and appear in court.
-
MOVING IN: A GUIDE TO LANDLORD-TENANT LAWPrepared by the University of Mississippi Law School Pro Bono Initiative
-
Oxford Housing AuthorityOur mission is to provide low income families, seniors and persons with disabilities access to safe affordable housing within the city of Oxford.
-
Mississippi Center for Justice - HousingMississippi Center for Justice links to Affordable Housing and Public Housing
-
Doors of HopeThe purpose of Doors of Hope Transition Ministries includes, but is not limited to, guiding homeless families and at-risk homeless families in Lafayette County, Mississippi toward self-reliance and stability through a holistic individualized approach that includes life-skills training, mentoring, and supportive housing.
-
Discrimination in Mississippi HousingFrom the Mississippi Bar
-
Tenant Rights in MississippiCur-RENT Law for Tenants and Landlords from the Mississippi Bar
-
Housing Policy Alternatives for the Lafayette-Oxford, Mississippi CommunityHonors Thesis by Alice Norman, May 2018
Government Sources
-
U.S. Housing Market ConditionsContains all the national, regional, state, metropolitan, and local data and analysis in one location. You may search by geography to obtain all the reports available for a particular area.
-
Housing HelpHousing resources targeted to certain audience groups, available on USA.gov.
Housing & Urban Development
-
HUD.govThe Department of Housing and Urban Development is the Federal agency responsible for national policy and programs that address America's housing needs, that improve and develop the Nation's communities, and enforce fair housing laws. HUD's business is helping create a decent home and suitable living environment for all Americans, and it has given America's communities a strong national voice at the Cabinet level. HUD plays a major role in supporting homeownership by underwriting homeownership for lower- and moderate-income families through its mortgage insurance programs.
-
HUD Mississippi NewsHousing and Urban Development News in Mississippi
-
HUD Affordable HousingInformation from HUD.gov, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Historical Information on Fair Housing
-
Civil Rights Act of 1968Title VIII: Fair Housing starts on page 12.
-
Civil Rights Act of 1968: Background and Title-by-Title AnalysisDiscusses the background and analyzes titles of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 regarding Indian rights, civil rights criminal procedure, fair housing, and the use of firearms and explosives in public disorders.
-
Civil Rights Act of 1968: Brief Summary of Basic ProvisionsReviews background and summarizes titles of P.L. 90-284, the Civil Rights Act of 1968, regarding Indian rights, civil rights criminal procedure, fair housing, and the use of firearms and explosives in public disorders.
-
Congress and American Housing, 1892-1967Presents a comprehensive historical review of housing legislation passed by Congress, including legislation relating to public housing, Federal Housing Administration, urban renewal, and home ownership programs. Also lists special reports on housing and urban development issues published by Congress.